1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Low 12v Rail Voltage (GPU-Z)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Vario, Jan 11, 2013.

  1. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,847 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    I have a Thermaltake 700w Bronze power supply and a XFX DD HD 7850 2GB GPU. While running Counterstrike GO and other 3d applications, my 12v in GPU-Z dips from 11.66 to 11.41. The highest it goes when idling in windows is 11.66.

    Is there anything I can do about this? :cry:

    Is there any kind of software setting that could be doing this or do I have a stinker of a PSU?

    I knew thermaltake PSUs weren't stellar but it was a good price. Could it be the 4+1 power phase of the mobo instead? Videocard is NOT overclocked.
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I would test with a multimeter before judging software readings of the PSU.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,847 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Whats the preferred method? Backprobing connector? GPU takes two 12 volt 6 pin plugs too.
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
  5. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,487 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,148
    NEVER trust software. My 12V line according to software is at 14V and 5V at 3.1V.
  6. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,847 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    900
    Should I only probe the PCI-E 6 pins or can I probe any 12v rail to test this?
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,828 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,905
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Are you having any problems? If not, do not be concerned.

    I'd check at the plug, but I am pretty sure you'll find it perfectly fine.
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    The guide I posted shows you how to test all of the connections. Read through it and do as the guide shows and you should get your answer.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,966
    according to software my 5C is at 6.7V :laugh:
    but dont worry. as cadaveca said, if you dont have problems, dont worry.
  10. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,436 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    495
    If the actual were below 11.5v, there'd be concerns, but as mentioned it's impossible to tell with mere software tests. My 12v measures anywhere from 11.93 to 12.13 depending what app is used. None are consistent from one to another.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page