1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Low Benchmark in 3DMark '05

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by MasterDuDe656, Apr 13, 2006.

  1. MasterDuDe656

    MasterDuDe656 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Ok, I just put a new rig together in the begining of this month and I want to make sure if I am soppose to be having this low of a benchmark score in '05 or if there is something I can do about it. My general score is 5925. Here is the hardware below...

    Asrock 775Dual-880 Pro

    Intel Pentium D 820 series 2.8Ghz@3.173

    1.5 Gb of PC3200 RAM (Supertalent)

    ATI X850 Pro AGP w/ 16 pipes unlocked

    Sound Blaster Audigy 4

    80Gb Maxtor HDD

    350 Watt Codegen PSU

    .... if anyone has any suggestions, or questions, please reply. Here is a link of my CPU-Z info if it helps any.

    http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=86259
     
  2. gerrynicol New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    758 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland, Falkirk
    sounds about ok, please for future reference use a diff font!!

    the 3dmark programs have become more GPU intensive over the past c ouple of years,
     
  3. MasterDuDe656

    MasterDuDe656 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Sorry about the font, I just thought it looked cool!:laugh: Anyway, I ended up working on it for quite some time, and messed around with ATI Tool, and some catalyst options, and just by disabling catalyst's AI, my score raised from 5925 to 6233! To bad I cant get it any higher though :-( Unless someone has any more idea's, or tips!
     

    Attached Files:

  4. intel igent

    intel igent New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    4,641 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    434
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    where can i find catalyst AI? thnx
     
  5. MasterDuDe656

    MasterDuDe656 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Catalyst A.I control can be found under the 3D section if you use the advanced options when you start catayst, im not sure in ATI Tool, but I used Radlinker to adjust my catalyst A.I settings. Hope that helped a little! :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2006
  6. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    5925-6233 is exactly what you should be getting. I get about 5600~ because my video card sucks.
    i disabled my catalyst AI, didnnt really get a score increase, but i can tell my games run at a more consistant frame rate.
     
  7. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,625 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,480
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yeah spot on, I am on just over 7100 with my rig and the 850 pro is a bit behind the xt clocked well in excess of xtpe speeds.
     
  8. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    wait 7330 in 05 with that card? most benchmarks ive seen for that card arent above 6000. can you post a screenshot for "more then your word" proof? 7000+ seems pretty high for your rig.
     
  9. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,625 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,480
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Be a pleasure, bare with me a few minutes, just ran the test with Cataylist Ai turned off and got it from 7100 lol How do I take screenshot?
     
  10. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    use the keyboard function "print screen" upper right on the keyboard, now ctrl-v in any image editing program.

    heres my score, all on default.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 15, 2006
  11. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,625 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,480
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Cant get print screen up will have to load photoshop as only got powerpoint on at moment and "Ctrl V" wont work with that, bear with me, incidentially was in a thread least week where 3 or 4 told me my scores were low and should be arond 7600!! I'll be back, if I have no luck with that I will post my score on futuremarks score board and post the link....watch this space. I see you have the 1600 so I would not expect yours to be anywhere near as quick.

    Cheers
     
  12. MasterDuDe656

    MasterDuDe656 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Oh, so you think I have most likely topped out my score in '05? Hmm... Ya, I had also changed some setting's in radlinker as well to get a higher score increase. I will post a s-s of it. Anyway, what if I flashed my card to the xt or xtpe version of the x850? Sorry about so many questions, im some what new to all this. :)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Rad.JPG
      Rad.JPG
      File size:
      43.9 KB
      Views:
      174
  13. MasterDuDe656

    MasterDuDe656 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Did you try to Ctrl-V in paint? that always works for me.
     
  14. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    http://www.guru3d.com/article/content/262/13/

    look at the 3dmark05 chart at the bottom, rates yours as being ~700 points gain on mine. theres no way you have a 1300-1600 point gain on mine with our rigs, thats twice the difference shown from the benchmark.

    The CPU in used for that benchmark is a 2.4ghz San Diago A64 +4000, so its a little better then what we got. Even if our scores dont match the ones shown in the benchmark the differences should still be comparable.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2006
  15. MasterDuDe656

    MasterDuDe656 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    are you talking to me, or tatty_one?
     
  16. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    im talkin to the guy who seems to have disapeared when asked to provide any form of proof hes getting 7k+ in 3dmark05 with a x850 xt.

    All he has to do is run the 3dmark05 test, press print screen, open paint, press ctrl-v, save as jpg, upload a post saying "sorry by 7333 i meant 6700...heres the screeny."

    (yes that would be tatty_one)
     
  17. MasterDuDe656

    MasterDuDe656 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    33 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    ahh, ok, got ya.
     
  18. Turrican

    Turrican New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Austria
    I've got my x850 xt to 660/640 with extrem tight mem-timings :cool:

    sorry forgot pic. pic is in my next post ;)
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2006
  19. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    And what is your 3dmark 05 score?
     
  20. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,625 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,480
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Ohhh sorry, did I disapeer? I thought I was playin footy wiv me kids and stopped off to have a MacDonalds on the way back, sorry didnt realise I was working to your tight timetable here.

    I have run the benchmark and saved the file because although I tried your suggestion and presses (in my case F8? - Print screen?) I t will not"Ctrl v" in paint, dont know why unless "print screen" is not the right key but none of the others resemble the right one. My benchmark score this time is actually 7193, that is probably down to the fact that I flashed my BIOS earlier today with the OCW Beta 5 in prep for a Voltmod and have not got around the "fine tweeks" I had on the ASROCK Bios V1.50.

    Grateful for any further suggestions in how to post the results or would I be able to e mail the saved file from 3D Mark 05 so someone could open it? The theory that an 850xt on speeds exceeding PE only hit 6000 in 3D Mark 05 is pretty ludicrous in any case, in contrast to you, I dont know anyone with an overclocked 850xt getting so low!
     
  21. Turrican

    Turrican New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Austria
    sorry, forgot to upload the pic :p

    I've got my x850 xt to 660/640 with extrem tight mem-timings :cool:

    7926 points
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,625 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,480
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Satchmo, LOL, just noticed Turricans 3D Mark score above, kinda makes your theory ummmmm......wrong? Although I cant get anywhere near that score!
     
  23. Turrican

    Turrican New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Austria

    it's voltmodded (gpu,vdd,vddq) :toast: with watercooling, :rockout:
    i'll try with 670/640 now. stay tuned :)
     
  24. Satchmo New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    406 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    how come you didnt bench with the two default cpu tests?
     
  25. Turrican

    Turrican New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    24 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Austria
    i haven't run them. i'll bench again with the 2 cpu test too. be back in a few minutes :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page