1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Low cost home PC

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Chewy, Aug 21, 2008.

  1. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    This PC will be used for flash games and playing Blu-Ray on Vista


    - AMD x3 8450 2.1Ghz <<< Update!

    - Corsair XMS2 TWIN2X2048-6400C4 2GB 2X1GB PC2-6400

    - Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H AMD 780G mATX AM2+ PCI-EX SATA RAID Video Sound GLAN 1394 HDMI Motherboard

    - Antec NSK3480 New Solution mATX Mid Tower Case 2X5.25 1X3.5 380W



    Im going to put one of my 7200.10 Seagate drives into it. According to this conclusion the motherboard is designed for a Phenom Dual/Triple Core cpu !? Im going to look into it more.

    http://www.sharkyextreme.com/hardware/motherboards/article.php/10703_3732211__7



    Edit: should I wait for the 4850e to become stock again? is it faster than the 5200+ ? I dont know... lol
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2008
  2. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Yeah, all of the 700 series chipsets are designed for the triple and quad core phenoms(both nvidia and AMD/ATI 700 series)
    I wouldn't use the onboard video though because the fact is that onboard video REALLY sucks. I would pick up at least a 7800GT for that thing. That way you won't get weird v-sync style stuff when you're watching blu-rays
    Outside of that you should be completely fine.
     
  3. Pinchy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2006
    Messages:
    5,109 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    The phenom X3 and X4's work best on the 780G because of their Hypertransport bus or something. Because it is clocked higher than a normal X2, it makes the graphics a lot faster.

    If you can get an X3/X4...otherwise stick to a 4850e for low power consumption ;).

    You dont need a dedicated gfx card unless they are gaming...the 780G should handle everything fine.
     
    Chewy says thanks.
  4. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Humm Im going to jave a break, trying to keep this around $400 Canadian :O thats why I thought onboard would be a good way.

    I just added a dvd burner and its at 435 taxed/shipped atm (I have free Ncix shipping).

    My eyes are tired so I will look at some more builds after.
     
  5. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,111 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,294
    Location:
    Kansas
    Anytime you see AM2+, it'll take a Phenom...............
     
  6. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Thats what Im going to prob go with, just that the total pc cost is now $470, worthwhile just I told him I could even build something for as low as $400 so thats what he wanted.

    Still need a wireless keyboard/mouse combo though. hopefully he opts to go with a logitech wave for an extra $70, since he will need one.
     
  7. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I personally go for the 8200 over the 780g, mostly for the 8200 can do 8ch uncompressed audio over hdmi, while the 780g can old do 2ch uncompressed, and 5.1channel compressed.
     
    Chewy says thanks.
  8. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    the 780G graphics are a litttle better I think? I could probably play Company of heroes on thier system when I go up to visit lol.

    thier on a budget/have lots of bills to pay elc. I doubt they will be getting a surround sound system anytime soon or prob not for a long long long time if ever, but thanks for the tip!
     
  9. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    no snap, my bad...for a second I was thinking you were making an HTPC...lol, any ways...go towards the 780g then.
     
  10. Chewy

    Chewy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,289 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    Halifax, Canada
    Somewhat, Its going to be hooked up to an lcd tv, not much space to install a surround sound system where it will be at because of the narrow living room.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page