1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

low fps split second

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by MUZAKKIR, May 10, 2012.

  1. MUZAKKIR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    143 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i got only 20fps in split second at 1280*1024 resolution

    my rig:intel dg41rq,e5400,zotac gts450,corsair cx500,2gb ddr2 800mhz,seagate 500gb hdd

    what do u guys think which component of my pc causes this low fps
    is my cpu bottlenecking my gpu?
     
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,941 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    There's some software causing hitches. Try to disable/uninstall your internet security software as a start. Then, look closely at what else is running in your system. Also, upgrade your video drivers, if they're not the latest.

    Use MSCONFIG to disable stuff.

    What games does this happen on?
     
  3. MUZAKKIR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    143 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    if i upgrade my cpu to quad core q6600 and add 4gb ddr2 800 then could i get 40+fps or not
     
  4. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,941 (3.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,532
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Wow, you make a lot of sense don't you? Try reading my post, understanding it and answering it appropriately. No wonder no on is bothering to help you.
     
  5. MUZAKKIR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    143 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i hv disabled background process and see only an increase of 1 fps
    now what will u say????
     
  6. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,310 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,491
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    I don't know how demanding "Split Second: Velocity" is, but that game should run on your pc well enough. Try to lower the graphics settings of the game, especially things like tessellation and Dept of Field eat hardware for breakfast so just put those things off. I do not think you will notice the difference between 16x and 2x Anti-aliasing at your screen resolution, so AA should be on 6x or less.

    Good luck
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. _Zod_ New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    172 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Minimum System Requirements for Split Second

    Disk Drive: DVD
    DirectX: 9.0c
    Hard Drive Space: 6.5 Gb free
    Operating System: Windows XP/Vista/7
    Processor: Intel Pentium 4 @ 3.0 GHz / AMD Athlon 64 4000+
    RAM: 2 Gb
    Video Card: nVidia GeForce 7800 / ATI Radeon X1800

    Well you exceed Minimum except for ram. If you are running Win 7 x64 you would benefit from more RAM for sure. I wouldn't spend any money on that rig outside a couple more gig of ram, it's time for a new platform.
     
  8. MUZAKKIR New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    143 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i think i hv to upgrade my cpu
     
  9. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,896 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,480
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Upgrade your memory, beyond that a new rig might be in order.
     
  10. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Um guys split second is locked to 30fps. Also on the highest settings even some high end rigs drop a frame here and there with this game due to a severe bout of consolitis. He also only has a GTS 450. Even at 1280x1024 it may not play the game at a constant 30fps on the highest settings, try lower settings or upgrade. Although to be honest, just for that game........it's really not worth it!!
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2012
    Chevalr1c says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page