1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

low mic in vista

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Nailezs, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    hey guys. sorry if this has been posted before, spent some time with search and went back to 08 but couldnt find a solution

    so, i have vista, and a mic. and of course, they dont work properly.

    my mic works, but it is always low, windows doesnt even really "hear" my voice when i try to set my mic up. it is working, as i can talk in vent, ts, steam, etc. but in vent and ts my pals have to turn me way up, and in steam i sound really low.

    i have uninstalled and reinstalled my sound card drivers, to no avail.
    in control panel>sound>recording>properties my mic volume is turned all the way up. and i can not find any sound card software where i can adjust anything

    am i missing something simple here? does anyone have a fix for this?

    thx
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,774 (12.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,686
    Mic boost all the way up?
     
  3. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    i've seen that mentioned in ohter places but have never found that setting. i assumed mic boost was the mic volume in the contorl panel.
     
  4. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    ok, i've done some checking, and i'm 100% positive that my computer does not have/support mic boost
     
  5. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    396 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    If you don't have the boost option your drivers are installed correctly.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    sigh, crappy vista sound support
     
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,830 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,086
    Location:
    Florida
    agreed no boost = driver error. whats the card?
     
  8. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    soundblaster x-fi xtreme audio. came with the MB. im using the latest drivers for it - should i try uninstalling them and using the windows drivers?
     
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,830 (4.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,086
    Location:
    Florida
    un install them. let windows install drivers. then try installing the creative drivers again (after a reboot when windows installs them) make sure you download the creative suite and not just the drivers.
     
  10. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    890 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    will do - i'll give that a try otnight when i get home.
     
  11. Hockster

    Hockster

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    396 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    My Asus boards that have X-Fi based sound cards actually use Via chips and need Via drivers. Check your driver disc for some, and/or download the latest ones. I had almost the exact same issue with the current card I'm using right now. I figured my "Creative" card didn't need Via drivers and wondered why the disc had them. But without the Via drivers absolutely nothing worked right and I didn't have the mic boost option either.
     
    Solaris17 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page