1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Low performance after setting the paging file

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Chapapa07, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    2 days ago I set the paging file to "system managed size" (yes I dissabled it months ago) in order to see if the paging file would give some fps. After setting it to "system managed size" , on battlefield 3 I get on average 19 fps and I used to gt 41 on high, at 1280x1024, I set the paging file again to " no paging file" but nothing happened. I also get very similar results in crysis 2 .

    Before 3d mark vantage gpu score was about 10400 and now is about 2600 ( it didnt even reached 3000), the cpu score is intact.

    My specs:

    Core 2 quad q8300 2.5
    GTX 550 ti oc
    4 gb ddr2 800
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Max resolution 1280x1024.

    No idea what is happening :(
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,477 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  3. D007

    D007

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,060 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    374
    Location:
    Pompano beach, Florida
    Idc what anyone tells me.. I tried it before and it caused me problems.. A lot of games and other programs seem to require the Pagefile..
    Could be there is something else that needs to happen after disabling the pagefile.
    Hopefully someone else can shed some light on that for you.
    Using an SSD though I don't mind it looking for my pagefile.
    Assuming it has faster access times on that.

    good read, ty. :)
  4. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    I am pretty sure that your page files as nothing to do with it as you tried it again with page files disable & it change nothing , disabling the page files will not change that much fs in games if any?

    Your problem might be on the driver side , did you change any drivers recently?

    Your PC might need to be dust out as the more heat it create the slower it will get , how is windows running , about the same as before or slower then before?

    I suspect Heat , drivers problem or hardware failing
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  5. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    Sasqui says thanks.
  6. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    That didnt helped since I already had follow those instructions, unfortunately.

    Well, this problem started right after I set the paging file and reboot my system, thats it maybe related to the paging file..

    I dusted out my pc 3 weeks ago and my gpu max temp is 63c.

    I did a clean installation with driver sweeper and updated my nvidia drivers 5 days ago, my pc worked just fine, yesterday I did another clean installation and rolled back to 295 drivers in order to see if the drivers were the problem but nothing happened.
  7. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    It's best to have it on a separate partition.... or better, a seperate physical drive. I do. Mine's on it's own partition...
    95Viper says thanks.
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,300 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,540
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Just a thought...

    Are you using only one drive in your setup?
    If not, you may have a paging on the another drive or drives.

    EDIT:

    That is what I do, too.
    Got a separate small raided setup for the paging file, temps, and other files I feel belong there.
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  9. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Yes, just one drive.


    I tried to restore the system to but it didn't solve anything.

    I dont know what to do, all my games are slideshows . :banghead:
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2012
  10. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I installed msi afterbunner in order to see if the problem is that every time I run a game, the gpu goes to 2d mode.

    I set Afterbunner to show me gpu usage and speed, I ran crysis 2 on extreme at 1280x1024 and it showed that gpu usage was 100 % and the speed was 950 ( the maximum).

    I ran out of ideas, guys plz help me.
  11. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,119 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,126
    Run a hijack this log and post it.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  12. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,795 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    I don't necessarily subscribe to the seperate drive/partition thing. But I do always make a set sized page file. So I use Custom and set the Initial Size and Maximum Size the same(In my case 4096)That way it's not going to be growing and shrinking as "Windows sees fit" but enough for anything it may need it for.

    Whenever I do mess with Page Files I always "delete" the old one by setting it to None, then rebooting, then make any changes so it makes a "fresh one"
  13. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
  14. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Btw, now every time I turn on my pc, it does boot 50 seconds later, meaning that in those 50 seconds there is cero cpu activity, so I think my hard drive disk maybe the problem.
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,477 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Can you add your system specs to your profile? After reading the subsequent posts, it does sound like something else is mucked up.

    Try WD diagnostics or Seatools to check your hard drive.
  16. Wrathier

    Wrathier

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    118 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sweden currently.
    Hi,

    You shouldnt play with your pagefile in Windows 7.

    However, if you do feel the need to do it for some reason, I can suggest that you take a look here:

    http://tweakhound.com/windows7/tweaking/7.html

    Good luck with it. (It is actually very interesting with some information regarding Superfetch as well).
  17. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,804 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    929
    I run my pagefile in a 3gb ram virtual drive. no issues, snappier too.



    reworded so peeps understand
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2012
  18. Wrathier

    Wrathier

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    118 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sweden currently.
    And that is where it is not true any longer. - It is not always "snappier" too. (And that I misunderstood, I thought it said something like: I do not have pagefile, I run it from mem. Sorry my bad).

    For example:

    Look at any tweaking site anywhere, and you'll receive many different opinions on how to deal with the pagefile, some sites will tell you to make it huge, others will tell you to completely disable it. The logic goes something like this: Windows is inefficient at using the pagefile, and if you have plenty of memory you should just disable it since RAM is a lot faster than your hard drive. By disabling it, you are forcing Windows to keep everything in much faster RAM all the time.

    The problem with this logic is that it only really affects a single scenario: switching to an open application that you haven't used in a while won't ever grind the hard drive when the pagefile is disabled. It's not going to actually make your PC faster, since Windows will never page the application you are currently working with anyway.

    The big problem with disabling your pagefile is that once you've exhausted the available RAM, your apps are going to start crashing, since there's no virtual memory for Windows to allocate—and worst case, your actual system will crash or become very unstable. When that application crashes, it's going down hard—there's no time to save your work or do anything else.

    In addition to applications crashing anytime you run up against the memory limit, you'll also come across a lot of applications that simply won't run properly if the pagefile is disabled. For instance, you really won't want to run a virtual machine on a box with no pagefile, and some defrag utilities will also fail.
    You'll also notice some other strange, indefinable behavior when your pagefile is disabled—in my experience, a lot of things just don't always work right.

    If you've got plenty of RAM in your PC, and your workload really isn't that huge, you may never run into application crashing errors with the pagefile disabled, but you're also taking away from memory that Windows could be using for read and write caching for your actual documents and other files. If your drive is spending a lot of time thrashing, you might want to consider increasing the amount of memory Windows uses for the filesystem cache, rather than disabling the pagefile.

    Windows 7 includes a file caching mechanism called SuperFetch that caches the most frequently accessed application files in RAM so your applications will open more quickly. It's one of the many reasons why Windows 7 feels so much more "snappy" than previous versions—and disabling the pagefile takes away RAM that Windows could be using for caching. Note: SuperFetch was actually introduced in Windows Vista.
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2012
  19. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    Thats a real strong symptom of a devise plugged into usually a USB port and the system having trouble with its state. I find the devise also normally is a USB drive.
  20. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,628 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    I had my PF disabled and media software acts up big time
  21. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Done !.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Sasqui says thanks.
  22. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,477 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,303
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
  23. Wrathier

    Wrathier

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2012
    Messages:
    118 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Sweden currently.
    Totally agree on that one.
  24. Chapapa07

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2012
    Messages:
    37 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    So, is everybody agree that I should buy a new hard drive?

    If so, Im going to make a thread about what HDD I should buy.
  25. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,795 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Yep that is not a good sign at all and explains your systems sudden "chugging"

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page