1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

M4A79XTD EVO very odd ram problem

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by OMGH4X!, Aug 13, 2010.

  1. OMGH4X!

    OMGH4X! New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I have been having problems with this 'board since i got it..

    at first it was just small things, like very occasionally i would get 'NO SIGNAL' msg from my monitor on boot and sometimes not detecting HDD/USB media..

    A few weeks ago i started getting BSOD's and after running some memtest86+ i was convinced it was the ram... i pulled out the offending stick and have been finerunning since then with 1gb installed.

    So today i got another 2gb kit in the mail.. here's where things get a bit weird..

    I removed the remaining 1gb from my mobo, opened up the new kit and chucked it in there, reset the CMOS jumpers, and.. it freezes dead at the green ASUS screen.

    So at this point i'm thinkin' it's gotta be the 'Board, right?

    I reboot a couple times and it finally gets into windows... runs stable for a few mins on prime95 then crashes

    I remembered reading that sometimes you can have memory errors caused by bent CPU pins, as the memory controller resides on the CPU itself.

    So with this in mind i took everything apart to have a look. The pins were fine but i did notice quite a bit of thermal gunk in places it shouldn't have been (namely; the side of the cpu and on the 'board around the socket) which i promptly removed with some tissue.

    Re-assembled, stuck the new kit in there again and it boots fine this time

    So.. i throw my other -previously troublesome- 2gb kit in there alongside the new (same model from corsair) so that i have 4gb installed. POST fine.. boots fine.. prime95 fine -touch wood- still running while i'm typing this

    I am so confused... it could be (A) something messed up with the mobo (B) due to aforementioned MX-2 (C) maybe the new kit i got just needed warming up (D) Any number of other things i guess..

    So yea.. my question is; Could cleaning the CPU and MB really have fixed the problem?
    Is that even possible? :S



    PS: ThankYou for reading :toast:
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,494 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,908
    Considering the memory controller is on the CPU, yes.
    OMGH4X! says thanks.
  3. OMGH4X!

    OMGH4X! New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Man i really hope it was just that the cpu needed cleaning... now that i think about it though, the BSOD's did start around about the time i put an aftermarket cpu cooler in there, so maybe..

    Has anyone else ever had thier ram come back to life after they clean the CPU? i've personally never heard of it before... which is why i was so damn confused
  4. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    no cant say i have but i'm runnig three sticks of ddr3 in dual channel mode.

    [​IMG]
  5. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    [​IMG]

    yep...dual mode.
    OMGH4X! says thanks.
  6. OMGH4X!

    OMGH4X! New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    yep...thanks for that .. [​IMG]

    Anyway........ I just realized my ram is now running in 2T wheras before it was 1T.

    I looked in asus mb user manual but it's .. less than specific about this issue.

    Is it OK for the ram to be running in 2T? currently, 9-9-9-24-34-2T same as the screenshot above actually..except mine says 666.7 for DRAM Frequency, 2000.05 Mhz for NB Frequency and 4096 for size..

    how much performance will i gain by switching to 1T?

    PS: all the ram settings in bios are at auto

    PPS: i guess i should have started a new thread .. title is kinda inaccurate now... as my system has been stable with 4g for a couple days at aforementoioned timings
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2010
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    higher timings are slower, so yes its 'safe' - hell its even more likely to be stable.

    Unlike the DDR1 days, 1T vs 2T hardly makes a difference to performance.


    667MHz in CPU-Z means 1333Mhz "DDR"
    OMGH4X! says thanks.
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    no, but i've had ram become more stable in different slots.

    example:

    1-2-3-4 didnt work but 2-3-4-1 did - despite all modules being 'identical' they behaved differently in different slots.
    OMGH4X! says thanks.
  9. OMGH4X!

    OMGH4X! New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    46 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well after a couple days running 24/7 stable with 4gb i just got a BSOD after exiting a game..... damnit..

    screen goes all distorted for like half a second then blue screen

    page_fault_in_nonpaged_area

    something like win32k.sys

    this means memory right?
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,746 (4.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,782
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Memory, or memory controller.

    And to illustrate what Mussels said about 1t vs 2t:

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    Mussels and OMGH4X! say thanks.
  11. NAVI_Z

    NAVI_Z New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    254 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    [​IMG]

    got this on same mem test.
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    hmmm i'ma run that test later for random comparison purposes
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    as promised

    [​IMG]
    NAVI_Z says thanks.
  14. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,288 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Get some electronics cleaner spray and clean the ram slots on the motherboard and cpu socket.
    Also, clean the base of the cpu and dimms.

    I use this:
    CRC CHEMICALS Electronics Cleaner
    Make sure, whatever you use, it is non-oily and leaves no residue.
    NAVI_Z says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page