1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mac Pro Users Gain Unprecedented Performance With NVIDIA Quadro K5000

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Sep 7, 2012.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,626 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    Mac professionals will benefit from dramatically improved graphics performance and productivity with today's announcement of the NVIDIA Quadro K5000 for Mac Pro systems.

    Based on NVIDIA Kepler architecture -- the world's fastest, most efficient GPU design -- the Quadro K5000 for Mac is the most powerful professional-class GPU ever for the Macintosh, delivering unprecedented visualization and computation capabilities for designers and digital content creators.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Key features of the NVIDIA Quadro K5000 GPU for Mac include:

    ● Cinema 4K display support (4096 x 2160 resolution), which enables content creators to process and view high resolution cinema content
    ● A new display engine that can drive up to four displays simultaneously
    ● 4 GB graphics memory that provides faster interactivity when using design and content creation applications
    ● Based on NVIDIA Kepler architecture, which enables the Quadro K5000 GPU for Mac to run key content creation applications up to 2x faster at lower power than the Fermi-based Quadro 4000 for Mac
    ● Support for up to two Quadro K5000 GPUs for Mac in a single Mac Pro
    ● Support for OpenGL, OpenCL and NVIDIA CUDA

    "The NVIDIA Quadro K5000 has great OpenGL and CUDA performance, so it's ideal to use as a shared GUI and image processing GPU in DaVinci Resolve 9," said Grant Petty, chief executive officer, Blackmagic Design. "Like many artists who use DaVinci Resolve, colorists seek the highest performance possible from their systems, and with just one of the new Kepler GPUs our users will be able to work with 4K imagery on their Mac Pros in real time."

    NVIDIA Quadro K5000 for Mac is ideal for professional applications such as video editing, color correction, compositing, design visualization and GPU-accelerated ray-traced 3D rendering. In addition, the Quadro K5000 for Mac retains its full performance and features when using Apple Boot Camp and running Microsoft Windows-based professional PC applications.

    "Quadro K5000 for Mac will have a transformational impact on the digital content creation workflow," said Greg Estes, media & entertainment industry executive at NVIDIA. "We're giving Mac Pro users the most powerful professional GPU ever for the Mac, with features and performance that will make a substantial difference in their workflows and allow them to create digital content at speeds never before possible."

    NVIDIA Quadro GPUs are designed, built and tested by NVIDIA to provide the superb reliability, compatibility and dependability that professionals require, and Quadro GPUs are certified and recommended by leading software application providers worldwide.

    Availability and Pricing
    The NVIDIA Quadro K5000 for Mac is planned to be available later this year from select Apple resellers and system integrators, and from authorized distribution partners, including PNY Technologies in the Americas and Europe, ELSA in Japan and Leadtek in Asia Pacific. Estimated pricing starts at $2,249.
     
  2. hardcore_gamer

    hardcore_gamer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    388 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    174
    Location:
    Fabry Perot cavity,AlGaAs-GaAs Heterojunction
    solid looking card.:D
     
  3. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Sorry, I had to breath some life into this news post.
     
    Chevalr1c and INSTG8R say thanks.
  4. Recus

    Recus

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    533 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
  5. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,312 (7.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    I thought they were gonna stop making the pro stations.
     
  6. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,774 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,071
  7. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,915 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,435
    No, they say they'll get a major update sooner or later. See this post here, last paragraph. I actually hope they'll stay, I always liked them.
     
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,312 (7.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,795
    The towers have ALWAYS been tanks. Love the towers.
     
  9. micksh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    It's "precedented" performance. When released, Windows users will be able to use K5000 on PCIe 3.0 and in SLI, which are not possible on Macs.
     
  10. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,661 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    So, this is non crippled kepler, so they can jack the price through the roof or rather, force you to buy this card?

    Nah, this won't end up back firing.
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    In this case, yes they can jack up the price because you have no choice if you want the absolute best. Nvidia will rip you off once, and then Mac will do it again. And you have no choice if you want a nice shiny Mac workstation.
     
  12. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,661 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    And that's why everyone just needs to d/l osx and build a hackintosh. Nothing makes me happier than apple panicking and raging (well, Ballmer throwing a chair across the room and raving like a lunatic is 1st :roll:).
     
  13. DEFEATEST

    DEFEATEST

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    372 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    You don't know how hard I laughed reading those.....
     
    mlee49 says thanks.
  14. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    819 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    "If a single Quadro K5000 isn’t enough power, the design of the video card supports two of the K5000 GPU’s in a single Mac Pro, sort of like SLI support for gamers."

    http://www.slashgear.com/nvidia-unveils-quadro-k5000-video-card-for-mac-pro-users-07246445/


    "They also designed it so a single Mac Pro can support two K5000 cards."

    http://www.gizmag.com/nvidia-quadro-k5000-mac-pro/24045/

    I would also like to point out that you are commenting on a computer that has yet to be announced. The specs and capabilities have not been announced. You have no idea whether it will support PCIe 3.0 or not at this point, unless you have inside knowledge. If that's the case, post it.
     
  15. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    819 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
  16. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,067 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Not really having a clue what the huge difference is between Workstation Card and a Desktop card other than the MASSIVE price difference. Comparing the K5000 to a GTX680 the specs have me confused.

    They both have 1536 Cuda Cores (even?) The GTX has better Memory bandwidth than the Quadro(2GB vs 4GB on the same 256bit bus?)
    Of course the actual clocks for the Quadro aren't given.

    But is it the same chip? GK104?

    Where does Quadro get all it's "power" from? Are they using the architecture differently than they do on the 680?

    I just always wondered where the "seperation" is on these cards that makes them so different.
     
  17. manofthem

    manofthem WCG-TPU Team All-Star!

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    6,545 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,219
    This thread is older but talks about it, and W1zz gives some words in the subject.
     
    Chevalr1c and INSTG8R say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 10 Million points folded for TPU
  18. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,067 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    551
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    That was exactly what I was after. I had my suspicions it had to be in the software seeing as the hardware was virtually the same. It just get's "dumbed down" as a consumer card thru the drivers.
     
  19. micksh New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I'm commenting on computers that are available now. Chances are there won't be any Mac Pro update this year so the things may stay the same for a while - No PCIe 3.0, no SLI.

    Sure, the card is designed with these features, but the features will work only when (or if) other computer hardware and OS support them. Just like previous Quadros supported SLI but not on Macs.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page