1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MacBook Pro Retina with Haswell-GT3 Silicon Confirmed

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Apple's MacBook Air refresh for 2013 saw it integrating Intel's 4th generation Core "Haswell" CPUs in an effort to improve performance and battery life. It was only a matter of time before the CPU architecture caught up with the rest of Apple's lineup. A validation of a 15-inch MacBook Pro on Geekbench database reveals that Apple is already testing the notebook with the very latest Intel chips.

    With Core "Haswell," Intel introduced a new grade of silicon codenamed "Haswell-GT3," which combines four CPU cores with up to 6 MB L3 cache, and a large integrated graphics core that features 40 execution units, as opposed to 20 found on regular "Haswell-GT2" and "Haswell-GT1" grades. The added pixel-crunching muscle makes the chip ready to singlehandedly take on Apple's Retina displays, without the need for discrete GPUs, such as the NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M that handled the first Retina-equipped MacBook Pro.

    [​IMG]

    The Geekbench validation scored by the press points out that a near-future 15-inch MacBook Pro could run Intel's Core i7-4950HQ quad-core processor, which is a "Haswell-GT3" part, featuring Intel Iris 5200 graphics, 6 MB L3 cache, and up to 2.40 GHz of CPU clock speed. A slightly older report that predates Apple's grand Spring unveil, pointed out that "Haswell" driven MacBook Pros with Retina display, could be introduced any time this summer. Apple is eyeing back-to-school sales.

    Source: MacRumors
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2013
    crazyeyesreaper and cadaveca say thanks.
  2. JoePesci New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    22 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Does this mean that the next MacBook Pro (!) will have no additional discreet GPU but only the integrated one?

    I think the current MacBook Pro is already thin enough. For once Apple could keep the thickness and increase the performance instead of keeping the performance and making the product even thinner, though I already can guess which route Apple will choose.
     
  3. mandis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Only the 15" MacBook Pros have had discreet graphics. All other models have always used Intel IGPs...
     
  4. NeoXF

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    I think you're thinking of MacBook Airs... on ther other hand, why the Hell am I commenting on a Apple-related post...
     
  5. randomhkkid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Graphics

    Actually the graphics in the retina are a 650m GDDR5 clocked higher than a gtx 660m
     
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,349
    The Iris IGP is actually pretty competent as far as IGP goes. Not for such a high resolution though, but they were never suitable for gaming anyway..
     
  7. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    Just set it to 1440x900 it scales perfectly on the monitor, so it will look like a native 1440x900, which is an alright res for gaming
     
    Easy Rhino and Frick say thanks.
  8. TheinsanegamerN

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2012
    Messages:
    228 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    "With Core "Haswell," Intel introduced a new grade of silicon codenamed "Haswell-GT3," which combines four CPU cores with up to 6 MB L3 cach"


    no, that is gt3e. gt3 is being used in the dual core i5 4258 and 4288u processors.
     
  9. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,347 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    No,

    GT3e includes the 128MB L4 cache whereas GT3 does not. GT3e is only available with quad cores, but GT3 is available on both dual and quad cores. The "e" has nothing to do with the number of CPU cores. The original article is correct.
     
  10. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,251 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    No it wont. I tried that just because people were insisting with the same stupid ideea, and the image was pure crap, washed out and pixelated.
    Pls stop posting those urban legends misinformation. Anything not native on LCD, looks blurry and washed out.
     
    cheesy999 says thanks.
  11. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    I will therefore say it should look the same, the idea of using resolutions that scale perfectly works perfectly well on other devices

    If 4 pixels display one pixel, it looks identical, it's only when displays do silly scaling and interpolation that this breaks down, the rendering the the retina display screen is different

    sorry I simply assumed the retina display would work as a normal display does, where it appears it does all sorts of aliasing and pixel doubling, instead of running a true 2880x1800 res :eek:
     
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2013
    Prima.Vera says thanks.
  12. Prima.Vera

    Prima.Vera

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,251 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Sorry I was a little tired.
    The thing is I have tried this with one of my friends on a 4K TV vs a HD TV. Both the same size, but when we switched the 4K TV to a HD channel the image was way worst than the native HD next to it. Actually it almost looked like an upscaled standard TV signal. And to test even more, the store clerk put a demo game on both on the same time on 1080p and there I have the confirmation that having 1080p displayed on a 4K monitor looks more more worst than if having it at native 1080p.
    Surprisingly the 4K monitor was looking better, actually extremely good, only on static pictures (very sharp clarity) and 4K movies. Anything lower than that the 1080p monitor next to it was 2x time more better.
     
  13. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    This is the problem, most tv's interpolate, while quarter res should scale perfectly, the only realistic way to make it work is to have it pixel double in software

    Look at PSP on Vita for example, since (assuming filtering is set to off) it just sends off double vertical and horizontal pixels it actually works there
     
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    best notebook on the market.
     
  15. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    975
    Location:
    Miami
    ^ this... assuming no weird effects you will have exactly, to the pixel, detail of the lower rez due to the perfect ratio.

    Anyways im getting an older retina tomorrow due to this news so I will test and let yall know.
     
  16. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    that makes me jealous :shadedshu :cry::) :pimp:
     
  17. lauri_hoefs New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Korpi
    As an rMBP user who occasionally plays some games too, I'd like to inform you, that indeed, yes it f***ing will. 1440x900 scaled on the rMBPs 15" 2880x1800 display looks identical to the picture of a 15" 1440x900 native screen. The scaling is exactly one pixel to four, without any resampling, and because the pixel density of the rMBP screen is quite high, it's almost impossible to actually see that a single point consists of four actual pixels. I've seen this IRL, and I challenge you to actually make a side-by-side comparison too, before you go and accuse someone of spreading misinformation.

    I'm sorry to say this, but washed out and blurry image suggests, that you are doing something wrong, most likely using an incorrect resolution. PEBKAC
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page