1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mafia II - PhysX Video and Kane & Lynch 2 Multiplayer Preview

Discussion in 'Games' started by r9, May 27, 2010.

  1. r9

    r9

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    284
  2. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Interesting the physx video is running on IBM and ATi hardware :p
  3. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Xbox 360 PhysX... wouldn't that be software driven PhysX?

    o_O
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    That's the main reason why we think NVIDIA is totally full of bullshit. Like Core i7 with 6GB of RAM and HD5850 or better couldn't do all this. Right, you need GeForce, the rest can be a Celeron 700MHz and 1GB of RAM and it will still work. Just because GeForce is the main graphic card. NVIDIA, go wank my willy, you imbeciles. I mean their own promotion videos are contradicting everything they say about PhysX. I mean wtf are you thinking...
    Mussels says thanks.
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You made my day with that remark.

    :rockout:

    I saw a BC2 video on YouTube that had a powered by nVIDIA graphics remark on it and it was actually being played on the 360 - you could see the buttons in game.

    nVIDIA are f'ing dumb!
  6. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Havok seems to be a great engine, must be running that?
  7. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    If so, nVIDIA are even dumber than I thought.
  8. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Havok is whats used in GTA IV, and I like the results of running into object with Niko, can get amusing. It's also used in motorstorm which had good ryshics, I havent tried Starcraft II beta, but its in that and Diablo 3 I guess. And also used in The Force Unleashed and Wolfenstien, it's getting pretty popular, especially since it doesnt require hardware.
  9. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Don't get me wrong man, I know Havok is great in all but my point is - if nVIDIA are watermarking videos saying it's PhysX when it actually isn't they really are c*nts. Still, no proof in that video, just your speculation.
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  10. TVman

    TVman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    well the video is obviously wrongly named coz it is supposed to be the pc version trailer not the shitbox360 trailer
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,007 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,401
    oh its physX... its just not HARDWARE physx. theres a reason i made a thread about this issue some time ago.

    Less than 10 actual games use hardware PhysX, most just use it in a software only capacity - and to my knowledge, none of them (Except Unreal 3) use it for anything other than fancy effects.
    You know, it never affects gameplay or makes the FPS faster, it just triples the amount of debris to ludicrous levels when you shoot a wall. You can shoot the wall and have a mountain of debris come off - but it fades away fast, and the wall never gets thinner or punched right through... the OTHER engines of the games do that, regardless of whether hardware PhysX is on or off.
    1Kurgan1 and r9 say thanks.
  12. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,479 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Yeah I looked at that thread - nVIDIA and PhysX are a joke to me. I haven't bought anything nVIDIA since my nForce2 based mobo and it'll stay that way.
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Yes, but consoles run full PhysX without even hearing about NVIDIA (X360 specifically which is running an ATI chip).
    And then NVIDIA is saying on the other end that it just can't be done without GeForce and CUDA. Go fool someone else NVIDIA...
  14. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    It could easily be done through software and that nvidia has given it multicore support which the pc lacks.
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,007 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,401
    they run software. zero hardware acceleration, just like the majority of PC titles.

    as Drpepper says above, all it takes is some multithreading and they can do it all in software anyway.
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,454 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    875
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    It does? Pretty much all systems use at least dual core, more and more are quad cores and lately 6 cores are getting more and more popular with latest Phenom X6. So that's hardly an excuse.
    I really wonder how powerful is PowerPC chip in X360 compared to C2D at 3GHz.

    @Mussels
    But they intentionally don't want to do that while such videos from consoles are direct spitting in their own bowl...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page