1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Make a Server?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by freaksavior, Dec 20, 2008.

  1. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    895
    Ok, so i have an old amd socket A machine with a 1.8ghz single core proc and 1gb ram, radeon 9200.

    I am thinking about getting a small (40-80gb) hdd and putting a server os on it and trying to use it as a server.

    I would probably hook up a 250gb extrenal drive and a printer.

    Should i? would it be worth it considering the hardware it has?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,330 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I'd stay away from a server OS (unless you're talking like Windows Home Server but it still isn't necessary). Just install XP Home, share the external drive and the printer on the network. That's all it takes. XD
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    What will it be serving?
  4. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    895
    I was thinking server 03 or windows home server. I want it to basically be a print server and a server for my external drive.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,330 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Server 2003 ain't worth the $400+ USD it costs for those needs. Home Server might struggle on the hardware being Vista-based.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    895
    would rather have a server os. I am also going to be TRYING to connect my mac to it.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,330 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    I currently have 3 copies of Server 2003 im looking to get rid of on the cheap, 2 Enterprise, 1 Standard. Shoot me a PM if your interested in them.
  9. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    I have 3 servers. 2 actual servers, one pure file server.

    Server 2000 machine is running on a P3 700Mhz
    Server 2003 machine is running on a Socket A Duron 1.4Ghz, 256Mb RAM and integrated graphics (64mb)
    Fileserver is running NASLite and is running on a 939 Athlon 64 3000 (OVERKILL)

    Server 2000 is nothing more than a backup for my dad's work.
    Server 2003 runs a dedicated CSS server (when it's up) as well as a smaller (250Gb) HDD I backup to.
    NASLite is a 1.5Tb file server for everything else.
    freaksavior says thanks.
  10. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    895
    Well i would probably go windows home server
    so your saying the specs i listed would be ok.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Definately. A server OS uses no where near the same system specs as a desktop, and because it has a lot of stuff stripped out it still feels "nippy" on a low-powered PC.
    freaksavior says thanks.
  12. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i run WHS on rig 1+1 in my sig
  13. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    895
    Awesome :)

    Now the next question.. where am i gonna put it lol. I didn't even think about that.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    can run WHS headless.
  15. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Mine are all run headless in my garage :)
  16. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    895
    yeah.. but putting a printer and a hdd in there...

    honestly thought maybe my own room.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Once it's all set up it can run headless mate, even with a printer or other peripherals.
  18. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    895
    I got server 03 installed on it. And i set it up as a printer server..

    now i just need to configure it.
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2008
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    895
    So far, what i have done has been useless. I Installed server 2003 on the machine and setup the print server. But OS X leopard WILL NOT SEE WINDOWS! this is driving me insane! i have never had this much trouble in networkng before.

    Anybody know how to make it to wear os x will see server 2003 and let me print?

    just tried to connect from windows pc's... they work fine.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Tau

    Tau New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    821 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    92
    Run it headless (no mouse/kb/monitor) and just remote in to work on it. My rack was headless for along time, though now i have a little 15" lcd/kb/mouse on a kvm in there. Mind you i almost never use it....
  21. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,055 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    895
    im going to once i get it configured and working. but it wont work with mac still. ugh
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,330 (6.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,358
    Location:
    IA, USA
  23. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    I've got a server, mainly for files. But I also use it to run dedicated servers for some online gaming fun. :p, at the moment, I've just got vista ultimate on it until I come around to installing my copy of Server 08 on it.

    Also, freaksavior, how did you acquire your Server 2003? Is it a 'trial'? :p Only, if you're a student, you can get a free copy of Server 2008 from the microsoft website. That's how I got my copy of Server 2008.
  24. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    explian ...
  25. kylew

    kylew New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    604 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Liverpool
    That to me? I'm guessing you mean explain? :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page