1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Make XP look like Vista with the aero stuff?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by amd64skater, Aug 5, 2007.

  1. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    611 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    Is their anyway to make Xp look like Vista with the aero windows flipping stuff without getting vista itsself?
  2. bigboi86

    bigboi86 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,450 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    techPowerUp!
    I think you have to use windowblinds or a similar program. They eat up system resources though.
  3. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Im using style XP atm.
    I have no aero, or sidebar or any of that stuff...

    What I do have is a nice vista style start bar and a bitchin bootscreen ;)
    I bet if you digged around you could find an aero theme for it.
    The best part about it is that this thing doesnt seem to eat resources.

    IN FACT - Its using 2Mb at the moment because im only running the Style XP service rather than the process and all the other gear that allows you to modify the interface, that stuff isnt necessary. Its quite a nice and easy to use program.
  4. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    there may be stuff out there for that, themes icons etc,
    but stuff that can be used with standard xp themes,
    aero cursors,
    segoe ui font
    cleartype control panel,

    what im using thats not like vista is
    luna element theme, (neede uxtheme?) my xp was prepatched,
    super turbo tango patcher (linux icon pack)

    its not quite vista but i like it,
    [​IMG]
  5. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Mine looks very similar.
    Different tops on the windows though, and an expanded startbar.

    [​IMG]
  6. bassmasta Guest

    you know, alot of people complain about aero's resource use, but when you use a 3d or full-screen app, it turns off, so if you can play games in vista, desktop perforemance can't be such a major issue
  7. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Yeah but it adds up I guess.
    If your multitasking thats an extra 60(?) mb of ram that has to be in active use.
    Not to mention all the extra stuff running within vista itself for prefetching.

    It really requires at least 2gb to get by without any worries.
    Though I dont blame Aero, I think that its size isnt the problem.
    The system should evolve to fit the needs of such a beautiful interface, and in time Aero will no longer be a resource hog at all. One day we wont have to worry about minimising the amount of processes and services that start on bootup :) everything will work at decent performance and maximum availability without the need for tuning (i hope).
  8. Corrosion

    Corrosion New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    821 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Maplewood, Mn
  9. v-zero Guest

    Nooooooooooo, why would you do this to your system? Bloat it like that.... Mine looks like Windows 2000, and it runs snappy and happy lol.
  10. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,085
    A pretty cool program is Desk Projection. It displays an image in the background of windows and programs (such as Office) to make it look transparent. If you have the same wallpaper as that image then it looks really cool. It eats heaps of resources though. If you use that together with ZMatrix you get something quite cool but also VERY demanding (it almost didn't work with my A64 @ 2.2Ghz).
  11. zCexVe

    zCexVe

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    417 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Los Angeles,CA
    Aston shell and talisman desktop is cool but not like vista.They have their own beautiful things.Aston shelll isnt a memory hog either.We can use yahoo widgets for the gadgets.
  12. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    ill have a look at that, zmatrix is cool,
    powermenu powertoy adds a couple options to the right click for programs, transparency and priority being most useful
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page