1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Making the switch to Vista, 32-bit or 64-bit?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by newtekie1, Jan 24, 2008.

?

Which version of Vista has better software and driver support?

  1. 32bit

    10 vote(s)
    27.8%
  2. 64bit

    18 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. They are both about the same, so install the 64bit because 64bit is the future man!

    8 vote(s)
    22.2%
  1. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,038 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,101
    I got a free legal copy of Vista Business Edition. But I was wondering if I should install the 32-bit version or the 64-bit version?

    Mainly I am looking for whichever one has better software and driver support at the moment. I am worried the the 64-bit of Vista will be like the 64-bit version of XP.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I think the 64 bit drivers have gotten a lot better for most hardware.
    I was thinking of getting a 64 copy and switching myself.
     
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,962 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,768
    switch to XP32 :)
     
  4. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    The only thing i had a prob when i had to reinstall vista after gettin me lappy back from repairs a few months ago was itunes not working dl drivers and it runs fun now the same as every other programme. Definitly go 64 bit you wont be dissapointed.
     
  5. Mandown

    Mandown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    303 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I would go 64-bit. I haven't really seen anything that wont work right except for maybe graphic drivers but thats all I've seen that could be wrong. I doubt you'll have many problem except for the common windows Installation issues.
     
  6. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Why don't you dual boot and use both t'see which one you prefer. That's if the key(s) allow you!
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    Xp 32 or vista 64. Those are the two options. Got 4GB ram? vista it is.
     
  8. das müffin mann

    das müffin mann New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,759 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    335
    Location:
    Appleton, WI
    vista 64 supports more ram thats what i would go for
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,038 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,101
    I already use XP32, I want something different, I like change. I can't afford new hardware right now, so I need a software change. Plus I really need to start learning Vista for my job, I am getting more and more Vista related tech support questions, and I find them hard to answer because I don't use the OS on a regular basis.

    I find that when I dual-boot I tend to just boot into whatever the first option is on the boot menu most of the time, neglecting the second OS completely.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Mandown

    Mandown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    303 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    I noticed more with 64-bit than just the 4gb ram thing, i saw that is was faster. program switching was quicker, and windows all together ran smoother. from all the techies at best buy, circuit city, hell even my college said theres around a 10% better performance over the 32-bit.
     
  11. rampage

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,050 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    69
    Location:
    Port Fairy, Victoria, Australia
    im using vista X64 and i havent looked back, there were some teething probs and u may find a problem with a app or two switching from Xp X86 but im sure you could find anything u need in X64
     
  12. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    I have installed 32 and 64 bit many of times and I prefer the 64 bit. Basically just for the memory access and program switching. But when it comes to performance(3dmark & other benches) I get almost the same results, varying higher and lower telling me that there isnt much difference. A 32bit app is gonna run at 32bit regardless of the 64bit OS, so its not gonna be any faster just because its 64bit.

    I have heard of issues with TV tuners and various other hardware with 64 bit, infact MaximumPC podcast was just talkin about that on last fridays podcast. But I havnt had those issues with my tuner experiences.

    I would say go 64 bit because when new apps come out to use it, then you have it.

    FYI, i also dual boot a 32 bit XP.
     
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,263 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,600
    Location:
    Florida
    im running 64 bit ultimate and everything runs fine iv had no program issues whatsoever...and did i mention its crazy fast?
     
  14. Mandown

    Mandown New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    303 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    lol love the avatar solaris:laugh:
     
  15. Matt18 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    115 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I would definately dual boot. I just left my existing copy of XP32 and got a new HD and installed vista 32 on it. 1 week later I switched to vista 64bit ultimate. No regrets what so ever. Other than I could stream video via media center to my 360 w/ the 32bit, but for some reason the xbox locks up when i try to play it on the 64bit. Can't figure it out...

    Either way I noticed a significant improvement w/ vista, it just seems to me to respond faster.
     
  16. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    Vista uses the adressing of memory much better, which allows programs to be stored better and respond quicker. Vista is a memory hog for that reason, it will use what you have, on my gaming rig I do alot of other apps too. After leaving it on for a few days without a restart my computer will be using a good 1.4 or more gigs of ram, and some of that might be mem leak but the applications load and run very quick and smoothly. After a restart the programs lag for a second or two until they get loaded into memory. I am a big fan, I think Vista has done a pretty good job
     
  17. sturge33 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Vista 64

    I went with 64-bit for the extra ram. So far the only thing I can't run is Dscaler or any other TV tuner app. I'm stuck using Media Center but at least the tuner works. I don't use it that often so it's no big deal. I would suggest checking to see if 64-bit drivers are available for your hardware before making the switch though. Most likely they are but you never know.
     
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    i'm of the same opinion. The people who rant about hwo vista uses more memory so its gotta be crap, is a dumb idea. Vista uses more ram because we have more ram to use! using ram more means less page file used, so its a GOOD thing.
     
  19. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    its good talking to people who dont shit on vista left and right. Even when i listen to PC people in the industry(MaximumPC and other podcasts) they still bash vista to this day. There comes a time where there gonna have to deal with it and get used to the fact that you need more than 512mbs ram.
     
  20. asb2106

    asb2106 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,940 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    kTOwN WI!!
    I ran my TV tuner software in compatibility mode and it worked fine, then I used Media Center for awhile and I have no reason to even use the TV tuner software anymore, Vista MC is awesome and really easy!
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,379 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    at the local lan events, lots of people are copying my system.

    There are now 4 users with the same system as me (motherboard/ram identical, various core 2 duo/quad CPU's, 8800's)

    Even with the same overclocks, those on XP loaded up to 30 seconds slower in games - now that most of them have switched to vista 64, the differences between systems are 5-10s, and i believe hard drive related.

    Vista is a great OS, as long as you meet the following requirements:
    #1: 2GB or more of ram. DDR2 is so cheap these days, you cant argue against this.
    #2: decent speed hard drive. 250GB or above, simply because its hard to find a slow 250GB drive :)
    #3: you arent an irrational fanboy who thinks less memory used is faster. memory is faster than hard drives, so using the memory instead of the drive is a damn good thing.


    as a side note, 4GB of ram is sexy in vista. Superfetch really shines with 4/8GB of ram, so i reccomend vista x64. If you have a modern system (AM2/core 2) then your hardwares going to be new enough to have driver support.
     
  22. Dangle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Reno
    Vista 64 support is WAAAAAAAAAY better than XP 64
     
  23. grunt_408

    grunt_408

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    2,027 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    488
    Location:
    Australia
    Damn I just ordered 32 bit Vista for a customer only coz I didnt want it to have any issues with drivers ect.
     
  24. thoughtdisorder

    thoughtdisorder New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,818 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    269
    Location:
    Just South of Mars
    Best of luck, and may the Force be with you..........:D
     
  25. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    Vista is awesome. People who bash it and swear to stick with XP until the end are the people that probably enjoy cereal from a black and white box, Hyundais, answering machines with a cassette tape, and probably still play Police Quest.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page