1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mandriva Gnome 64 questions

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by Fox34, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    I'm downloading a Mandriva 64 bit Gnome torrent, wondering if anybody use's it. If you guys have used it or use it wondering if you get any problems, what to look for/optimize, what to download for it, and how its like overall.
     
  2. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Wow, so I got it installed, you cant even change the resolution from anything higher than 800x600, Its prob not supporting my video cards but suse does, so I guess I will stick with that instead:cool:
     
  3. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    You'll have to make sure that X.org (the GUI server) knows what resolutions your monitor is capable of. You'll need to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
    Code:
    #sudo nano /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    w "Screen"
    Then, find the section, before EndSection, with "Depth 24" in it (presuming you want 24 bit colour), and add a Modes line, as so:
    Code:
         SubSection "Display"
             Viewport     0 0
             Depth     24
             Modes     "1600x1200" "1280x1024"
         EndSubsection
    Where the resolutions are those that your monitor can use. Save it with
    Ctrl+O, return.
    Log out to gdm, restart the X server with
    Ctrl+Alt+Backspace
    Log in and see whether its worked/you can select that resolution.
     
    Fox34 says thanks.
  4. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Well no more mandriva...I've been trying to get a Linux install for 3 days.:banghead::banghead::banghead: Ive never had this many problems, So my suse disks for 10.2 installed, but will not boot into the graphic interface it stays at the text based. My 10.3 cd Is missing something like always, so now I'm downloading Knoppix 5.1, any other suggestions of Linux distros that actually work?

    EDIT: Ok the Knoppix worked and booted! But it was in German......AHHH. Well then I noticed the name of my torrent. Knoppix blahblah DE.iso. *DE* So I got the English one, its live, then I'm pretty darn sure I can install it right from the live boot.
     
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2007
  5. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Well, Ive been trying to install a flavor of linux for 4 days straight....before Its taken a few hours. So I used the knoppix, it sucks cause it ONLY live, mandriva looked bad and I did not try to fix the res as I lost the disk, I got suse 10.2 to install but when I go to start the x window system, with Startx, it says "fatal error, no screens found". So then I used Fedora core 6, 6 freaking cds later, and when you start ITS x window system, my screen goes into standby and I get no video. Linux sucks I swear to god can some one help me I love linux and want it back. The suse is still installed I just need to fix the fatal error.
     
  6. spud107

    spud107

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,194 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    131
    Location:
    scotland
    i used mandriva kde for a bit, only for music really, installed ok on this system, i didnt use the live version to install.
     
  7. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,345 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida

    if its booting but your getting nothing but text i had this prob w/ suse once type

    startx

    or startgui
     
  8. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    when I do that command it says "Fatal error, no screen found"
     
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,345 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,656
    Location:
    Florida
    you need to compile or un the drivers
     
  10. Atech New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    284 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    When you booted the live CD, did you have a GUI then? Is it only when you reboot that you get that error?

    If so, then do
    X -configure.

    If that works, then do
    sudo cp /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.back
    sudo cp ~/xorg.new /etc/X11/xorg.conf

    If you don't get a GUI with your live CD, you could either need to
    1) Search how to set up your xorg.conf or
    2) Install 3rd party drivers (rarely necessary just to get X.org to come up)
    3) Switch to another distro that works ;)
     
  11. Fox34

    Fox34 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,049 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Venice
    Ok I have about 6 different distros throughout 15 disks, Im getting so irritated Ive got the PC for downloading and burning then my pc on the floor. Suse 10.3 had an error, and no it wasnt live it was an install, but the gui worked on the install screen but yea after I go to boot the x window system.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page