1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Master Boot Record recovery

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by FrankieG, Aug 7, 2007.

  1. FrankieG New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ok, a while back I installed linux onto a harddrive. Then I was going to re-install XP on it. But, when I uninstalled Linux it took the masterboot record with it. So now everytime I try to use that hardrive the PC doesn't boot up.
    I tryd connecting it as a slave but for some reason my PC still doesn't start up when I have that drive as a slave. Even though I have a Master drive that I can boot windows on just fine.
     
  2. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
  3. driver66

    driver66

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,052 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    113
    Location:
    indiana
    What are the specs on the disk?
     
  4. FrankieG New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    @kwchang007
    I read it and it sounds pretty straight forward.

    Is there no way I can boot on my current drive and have the other as a slave. Even though the MBR is not present? Or do I need to remove my current drive and set this screwed up drive as my primary and then follow said instructions?
     
  5. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Try said instructions, maybe the mbr is tied to partitions.
     
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,265 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I have the same problem. I was about to post this question but saw this thread.

    Can you atleast format ur broken HDD?
     
  7. FrankieG New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    30 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ok, I followed the guide and reset the MBR. But I still can't boot up the PC with that drive attached as a slave...
     
  8. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    But you can as a master? Try saving the data, then reformatting the disk with the one you want to be your master as a master. This is really weird, lol.
     
  9. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,289 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    972
    1./ Get a NEW IDE cable. This has happened to me once with a perfectly looking IDE cable. Replacing the cable fixed all problems. If not, then;

    2./ Remove the problem HDD

    3./ Put another drive in the machine and install OS (Pref. Win 2000/XP/2003)

    4./ Once all is working fine, put the problem drive into the machine ON A SEPARATE IDE channel, separate cable

    5./ Use a recovery tool to get your files back. Try ccleaners sister product, http://recuva.com/. If that is not enough, you will need to go for one of the hard-core utilities

    Good luck!
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2007
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,265 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Will low level format fix this problem?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page