1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Maximum PC Builds First Nehalem System

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Sorry, dude: i miss understood you :(

    As for the hole pattern, since in the LGA775 its so much bigger then the actual socket, it would stand to reason that it would be compatible with the Nehalem socket, despite it being quite a bit bigger: my guess is the Motherboard makers will have the final say about this.
     
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  2. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    wont work on 775
     
  3. FatForester New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    971 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    I for one am glad to see Intel doing away with IDE on their X58 board. IDE's death has been long overdue.
     
  4. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (5.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    and floppy too!

    intel needs to look at other board makers boards and get some design cues. intel boards are black but thats about the only good thing. everything else is just odd.
     
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Yea nothing I have is IDE anymore. I do still use a floppy drive to flash my bios tho.
     
  6. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    im on a ide hd right now on Vista Ultimate X64:p
     
  7. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    That doesn't work with some motherboards because the BIOS has 2 MB or more. In a Rampage Formula, for example, the BIOS is 2 MB.
     
  8. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    there are flopy's of 2mb
     
  9. HTC

    HTC

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,242 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Yes, but the floppy drives are 1.44, i believe.

    It would be risky, IMO, to try and flash a Motherboard BIOS with a 2.88 MB floppy disk, being read in a 1.44 MB floppy drive.
     
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have a really old floppy I got off of my Pentium 1 system lol i dont think it reads 2mb ones.
     
  11. Scrizz

    Scrizz

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,969 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    411
    Location:
    Florida, US
    I use my flash drive for flashing lol
    :eek:
     
  12. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    lol, intel had done away with ps/2 ports some time. :slap:

    I been a subscriber for two year, and to tell you the truth, I hate it. After about 6 months, the articles like repeat itself w/ minor changes (because technology changes). There are times where some articles are good, but most of the time is pretty lame. I am also subscribed to CPU, which is a damn good mag, for it has "people of the industry" (ie: Rahul Sood of Voodoo, Anand Lal Shimpi of www.anandtech.com/, etc.) writing articles. There is a lot of love for linux, and always awesome technical documents in layman terms.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2008
  13. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,178 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    nice heat sinck from msi
     
  14. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    IMO, everything is layed out much more sensibly than with standard motherboards.
    The SATA ports wont be covered by a large graphics card, the RAM slots are positioned in an easily accessible place (having to squeeze between the power cable and disk drive bays is annoying), the NB is in an OK spot (nothing like a big hot NB right next to your graphics card to raise temps...) and everything fits together nicely.
    I'm not too exited about Nehalem though, because I dont have money or time to buy and set up a Nehalem system; a Laptop Nehalem would be interesting though...
     
  15. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Imagine trying to get the ram out with a large cooler on though,especially in a atx case with the psu above it.

    Goodbye ide,its about time.
     
  16. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    It's actually easier. I've had a board with the ram slots placed there. I prefer it, actually.
     
  17. Quake

    Quake

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    First you said that the die is smaller

    Then you said you cant be sure in that

    and then you said that it is bigger,so what is after all? :)
     
  18. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    die is 45nm
    IHS is biger
    socket number LGA1366
    happy?
     
  19. Error 404

    Error 404

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    No.
    How many transistors?
    :p
     
  20. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    750 million
     
  21. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Why don't I see a power rating in your info???

    lol
     
  22. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    do research
     
  23. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    Well your no fun ; P
     
  24. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    The whole chip, and the die are 2 entirely different things.
     
  25. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Unless this gives a 100% increase in frames per second I will wait a while before I change my core 2.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page