1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Maximus Formuls to Rampage mod!!!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by mandelore, Mar 18, 2008.

  1. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Hi all. I just came across this thread on extremesystems:

    http://www.xtremesystems.org/forums/showthread.php?t=179580

    basically the rampage is an identical board, just with a much better bios. A simple flash and you have a Maximus Rampage :D

    the bios is in beta stage tho for the rampage, but it looks very promising, with people getting better overclocking results and extra memory setting access in bios

    im gonna keep an eye out for results and maybe do the mod
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I thought rampage was a X48 :confused:
     
  3. Dr. Spankenstein

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,920 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    It is, and the other thing is that this is a "one-way flash". Meaning-no flash backs. Or at least that's what I though I read.
     
  4. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    X48 IS x38. just a diff name, and screened for higher fsbs, but hell, theres no difference at all :laugh:
     
  5. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    OMG!!! ive got a maximus republic of gamers on order too:laugh:
     
  6. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    So far its looking good from what I have read, initial early beta bios and peeps are getting higher fsb's, lower vcore needed and access to hidden memory settings. they are workin on a way to flash back if it goes wrong

    edit: aparantly there is an engineering afudos that WILL flash back to maximus bios :) wewt!
     
  7. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    This mod is looking awsome so far {halfway through reading} But dam should i attempt this on a board thats brand new and not even in my hands yet?? LOL. anyone got a used maximus for sale cheap??
     
  8. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    off to my fiancees, but im doing the mod when i get back, as its now 100% recoverable :)
     
  9. Duxx Guest

    Please inform us how it goes :)
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,203 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,597
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    What can be achieved flashing a Maximus to Rampage? Better OC's ? Well, despite using the Rampage BIOS, you still end up with the X38 which reportedly doesn't OC as well as the X48? FSB 1600 is official for the Maximus Formula/Formula SE/Extreme anyway, it's printed on the box. Still, apart from all this, what can we gain by the mod?
     
  11. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    It does overclock better if you read through theres a definate preformance boost with extra memory settings its looking really good and even better now its reversable back to a maximus!! cpu's seem to run at slightly less voltage also that always helps with overclocking and heat.

    Great Find Mandelore keep Us informed on your progress maybe some screenies good luck!!
     
  12. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,206 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    not so this flash you can flash back & forth using a esversion of AFUDOS [below] along with the syntax :
    to change to Rampage== AFUDOS /iRF0219.rom /pbnc /n
    to change back === AFUDOS /iMF0907.rom /pbnc /n
    work with just the Afudos the 'loader is not needed
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,206 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    did it last weekend some improvement with the e6600 & flashed back .... going to drop in a Quad this week and try again
     
  14. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Theres a guy on there with a 505mhz fsb stable on a E8400 such a high fsb seems to suggest it does OC very good usefull for quad 45nm chip owners to get that 4ghz with high fsb.
     
  15. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,206 (0.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Many new memory related timings:

    DRAM CMD Skew on Channel A
    DRAM CMD Skew on Channel B
    DRAM CLK Skew on Channel A
    DRAM CLK Skew on Channel B

    Write to Precharge Delay (tWTPD)
    Read to Precharge Delay (tRTPD)
    Precharge to Precharge Delay (tPTPD)
    All Precharge to Activate Delay (tAPTAD)
    All Precharge to Refresh Delay (tAPTRD)

    More precise performance level adjust:
    Common performance level
    Pull-In of CHA PH1
    Pull-In of CHA PH2
    Pull-In of CHB PH1
    Pull-In of CHB PH2


    less volts all the way around cpu /mem/nb/ ect
     
  16. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Success :)

    I am now the proud owner of a Rampage formula ;)

    Wewt! So far looking at the bios id say its alot better. Got new options for my cpu also, since on the maximus my cpu was wasnt included in the "level up" option, but now it is!

    The crazy level up option automatically oc's to 3.5GHz @ 2.224v

    [​IMG]

    Heres a quick shot of the memory options and a cpuz screeny from windows with the crazy level up setting on.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    going to try see if its effected my oc
     
  17. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    lol i just pm'ed u too GREAT STUFF :toast: Congratulations keep us posted with oc's and screenies.
     
  18. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    [​IMG]
    ;)
     
    rangerone766 says thanks.
  19. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    Asus Rampage Formula i really like the sound of that!!:D
    Even if it isnt a x48 the improvements are a real great bonus for FREE!!
     
  20. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,203 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,597
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Sorta like the HD2900 Pro to XT mod. All free. :laugh: but it was just a matter of the BIOS there. That was a real h4x ... This is too, would be interesting to see if it goes the same with the Striker II Formula and the Striker II Extreme (that implements the NForce 790i).
     
  21. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    well, is the 780i and 790i electrically the same? like the x38/x48? just binned differently?
     
  22. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    30,203 (10.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,597
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    790i has a DDR3 memory controller.
     
  23. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    guess there wont be a mod then
     
  24. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    sweet, im getting better bandwidths from everest, need to figure out all this new bios setup lol

    so far very pleased
     
  25. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,086 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    i did the mod, i got to 3.75 on my Q6600 at 1.48 v. with the maximus bios i cant get it.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page