1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Maxing out games with ease(Intel e3300)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by u2konline, Jul 23, 2010.

  1. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I got rid of my gateway quad+gts250( plan to build this time for a amd six core rig ) and i am using my secondary rig which i built a few weeks ago, the Intel e3300 which i bought in a combo deal from newegg and my 9800gt with xp.
    The intel e3300 is a freaking beast.
    You can also read the reviews:
    Intel Celeron E3300 Wolfdale 2.5GHz 1MB L2 Cache L...

    I did try to OC, just a bit, and i couldn't login back into windows, so um OC is not a good idea. Not sure why i couldn't OC a bit, maybe because of the Mb i have?

    Here is the way my setup is:
    [​IMG]

    I have my NCP max out but aa which is at aax2 , and the same with nvidia tray tools fully max but aa which is also at aax2. Anything higher than aax8 and it kills performance lol

    NFS shift 1280x1024 all settings max, with full AAX8. - avg around a solid 30-50 frames.
    Far cry 2 1280x1024 all max(ultra / high ) with full aax8 - 50-80 frames
    Jericho 1280x1024 almost max, meaning all high , aax4, no blur ( which i think is a silly feature for this game ) 44-79fps. If i turn off AA, i get a freaking 100+ all the time lol.
    Medal of honor beta - all max out with full aa which is at 16Q something, 1280x1024 35-60.
    Hellgate London all max out with full aa 1280x1024 50-200fps
    nfs carbon 1280x1024 max full aa - 60 frames all the time.
    Split Second - 1280x1024 max - 50-60fps.
    Check out my video:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W7ZlRBuTx5w

    Stays with fraps at 35 all the time, so yea without fraps 50-60 all the time.

    TR Underworld fully max out 1280x1024 60 frames all the time.

    All with my 9800gt. I do plan on getting a his ice 5670 1gb gddr5 card, might be a tad bit faster over a 9800gt i believe. Anyways, this cpu is a beast.
     
  2. Sir_Real

    Sir_Real New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Lincoln England
    When i saw the title i was hoping to see what that cheap as chips celeron can really do !

    Just had quick google & seems the e3300 will hit 4ghz no probs & isnt far behind the e5200 in benchmarks.

    Ive been runing my e5300 at 4.02ghz for about a year now.
     
  3. CounterZeus

    CounterZeus

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    224 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    Location:
    Belgium
    isn't split second capped at a 30fps? or did they remove the cap?
     
  4. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Capped at 30, i notice that, but still went of went to 50 or 60 i should of said.

    ECS G41T-M(2.0) LGA 775 Intel G41 Micro ATX Intel ...
    This is the mb i came with it, i can't oc at all lol
     
  5. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Just some helpful advice, don't get the 5670, it would be a downgrade from the 9800gt.
     
  6. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,261 (2.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,746
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    +1 ^^^ I would save and get a 5770 or 5830. The 5670 isn't a bad card. I just don't think you would be satisfied coming from a 9800gt.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    I think the 9800GT is better than the HD5670 :p To have a true upgrade you should get a HD5770 atleast lol :D
     
  8. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106

    Your motherboard is definately holding you back, its probably the entire reason you cant overclock.


    Also, try Metro 2033 its a fun game that I'd love to see your results on. I bet you couldn't even get to High settings w/no AA or AF.

    You could also try Fallout 3 with max settings or GTA4. Those would be interesting for sure.
     
  9. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    I was reading reviews at newegg and some say they were able to OC more, could be my PSU.
    Thermaltake TR2 W0070RUC 430W ATX12V V2.2 Intel Co...

    Its all good tho, 2.5ghz seems to be doing the job just fine, no problems in game performance whatsoever, but i wanted to go up to 2.8ghz on it tho, but no big deal. I plan to get all out with building my AMD six core system soon, i will make sure i get a decent mb for it.

    http://www.gamestop.com/Catalog/ProductDetails.aspx?product_id=76052

    Um yea when the price drops to 19.99 i will buy it :laugh:

    Fallout 3 i am sure i can max out, but GTA 4 i already tried playing on my Intel e3300, take a look:

    http://www.overclock.net/9891783-post1.html

    Pictures are gone, but um i can't max it out, due to limits for my 512mb on the card. But i tried playing it full max, but i notice well i refused to do that because some settings are completely pointless to enable on the game and those settings have no visually impact on the game, just decrease performance issues.

    I ran GTA IV just fine tho , recording on windows 7 is a issue tho, but the game plays just fine with the settings which i was using.
     
  10. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    If I recall Im sure you were saying the same crap about every card you have owned way back to an 8400gs, your posts are just attention seeking, wait a go you can almost max some games at 1280x1024, great. Thanks for the info, I am sorry to be blunt but I really dont see what the point is in posting the same stuff every time you sidegrade a card. You have wasted at least a few hundred $ in the 2 years cause you insist on buying low end over priced hardware :confused:
     
    phanbuey says thanks.
  11. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    249
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    5670 is nowhere near as fast as 9800gt. It's only about 2/3rds the speed.
     
  12. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    http://www.gpureview.com/show_cards.php?card1=623&card2=575

    Seems like the 5670 is way faster over the 9800gt and i have the green edition.
    http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/10/07/23/9md.png

    The specs from gpureview shows that the 5670 has more bandwidth and have ggdr5 memory and way higher memory clock and core, so i am not sure why the 5670 would be less powerful over the 9800gt.

    Um in this case its about the Intel e3300, not because of what card i am using.
    I was just sharing that the intel celeron e3300 is a really good cpu thats all.
    you didn't have to post in the thread you know :laugh:

    And just so you know, after i build my AMD six core system, i plan to post about that too, just to tell everyone what i have.
     
  13. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Just because a card has more memory bandwidth it doesnt mean its faster overall. That is just one aspect to the performance, the GPU in the 9800 GT is a fair bit faster than the 5670.

    I agree with the person above, I searched your past posts and you seem to be seeking some sort of attention, every small side-ways upgrades or even downgrades you seem desperate to announce it.

    As you can see, the relative performance accross all resolutions show that the 9800GT is faster:)

    [​IMG]

    In all honest you had a quad core and a GTS 250 initially, it made no sense to do this downgrade even if its only temporarily.
     
  14. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Whats wrong with telling people what you bought?

    I like having more than one card in the house anyway, so most likely i will end up with about 3 cards for each rig. :)

    I am using the money i got back and build a complete computer. This time, AMD six core, etc. The Quad i had was great, but not something i really wanted. Well i wanted to keep the Gateway Case :(
     
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Dent, c'mon leave him alone. Be nice. But u2k, please don't bother with a 5670 I really think you would be disappointed coming from a 9800GT.
     
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    if u want a major upgrade go for a 5770 or a 5830.
     
  17. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,610 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    uk2online, you should REALLY CONSIDER! a 5750 or even 5770.

    yes they requier an external PCI-E power connector (etleast i think they do) but look at
    Price
    Performance
    Power consumption
    there fairly cheap cards with very nice performance and great power consumption. pairing anything lower then the 5750 with an amd x6 for gaming would be just worthless.....

    i know you may not like the extra power lead, but this is a trend that needs to be broken. there is no good reason not to buy a card just becouse it needs a little bit more power then the PCI-E slot can provide (75watts).


    the 5670 is certainly not worth buying.

    (not aimed at your current build. your current system is just fine :p) just some friendly advice for your next pc :D
     
  18. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Memory bandwidth completely does nothing for FPS u2k.

    You can raise the memory clock to increase the memory band-width on any card and I know for a fact your only going to get a 2-4% increase in FPS :shadedshu

    All that counts with all these video cards are

    Architecture
    Support
    And Down to it: Clocks (comparing same model manufacture cards)


    Hd 5670 is a downgrade from a 9800gt, it isnt faster regardless of the memory bandwith/type/clock :roll:

    The 9800gt has the stronger more powerful GPU in the first place, and "ENOUGH" Memory bandwidth to make sure the card performs well.

    Over-clock the beast and get even 30% faster then the HD 5670 :)

    But I strongly suggest you dont even spend the money on the 5670 even if its dx11 yet it really cant max the dx11 games anyways so its piontless :roll::roll:
     
  19. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    You do just love the attention and I am surprised cause people seem to bite at your threads, the e3300 is a low range cpu and nothing more, you talking it up and aying how good it is is just the same as you bigging your 8400gs up, give it up already! buy your shit from bestbuy and spend 2-300$ a year for your low end rig, fact is you cant run todays games at max settings like you say you can, stop being an adolescent and step up, spend your money on something that is actually worth the £/perf
     
  20. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    For my machine 3 years ago with COD4 I was pushing around 40 FPS at 1280x1024 in multiplayer. I would probably swap the Mobo and CPU out after doing a total system build with a X6 and a 5890 2MB. For a 5770, Sapphire, XFX or Powercolor PCS+
     
  22. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,610 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    U2Konline,


    have you thort about upgrading your screen to somthing with a higher resolution? somthing along the lines of 1080p?

    i this will give you a much better gaming expiriance, it will look a lot better.
     
  23. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,019 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,638
    reason LCDs got so big is due to fact they rely on a separate circuit for each pixel vs a Beam array, and CRTs still look better than LCDs at every resolution. btw Id Pickup a 1920x1200 monitor over a 1920x1080, U2K could use a 1680x1050 and be just fine
     
  24. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,963 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Also i think alot of people here already should know that i like to buy more than one video card. So most likely, my future setups and upgrades is most likely going to go like this:

    I have the perfect Dual Core System [IMO]. Intel Celeron e3300 2.5ghz/XP SP3/9800GT, 2GB of ram, even tho i plan to go 4GB. This Cpu seems to be able to run any game i throw it at , at max settings or near max at 1280x1024 perfectly fine. So this is my dual core system to keep.

    What i plan to upgrade for it: HIS ICE 1GB 5670 GDDR5, and a http://us.msi.com/index.php?func=proddesc&maincat_no=130&prod_no=1954.

    Those will be my 3 official cards for my Dual core. My 5670 is going to be my main card for my dual, the other 2 for backups.

    As for my main gaming computer, what i have in mind:

    AMD Phenom II X6 1055T Thuban 2.8GHz
    PNY GTX 460 OC edition 1GB or the Galaxy 1GB GTX 460 Super OC edition
    And a decent 500 w psu of course.
    etc.
     
  25. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,610 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    525
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    i never said he had to get an LCD :p there are CRTS still for sale with high resolutions.

    thats a fairly decent setup .. x6 with a gtx460.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page