1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

MAXXMEM Benchmark Results Thread

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Chicken Patty, Jun 8, 2010.

  1. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,358 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    850
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Not trying to be difficult, just peed that first gen i7s are so slow in the ram dept.... I'm frantically trying to tweak up settings to give a better run. Hard to do with 16gbs ram on top of it....
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Keep at it man, I'm without power now. :(. Just posting on my phone.
  3. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Great thread.

    I swapped my gskill X58 chipset ram to my msi Z68 MB with 2500k and look forward to posting my results.


    Also I wanted to add that I think this list would be more complete with ram voltage settings.
  4. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,764 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I did not believe your results were that bad, especially with 16GB.

    This is the best I could do with 6GB: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2083565&postcount=141

    I am wondering what luck you have had with tightening the timings, if any?
  5. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Any ideas how to get this added to the older scores?
  6. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    I would just start for the present if possible. I don't remember my voltage settings from my best submissions of the past.
  7. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Thing with that is that we have to rely on people not lying. Is there any software that will detect the voltage for the RAM with any system?
  8. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,568 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Yes, OCCT monitoring page shows actual voltage, as in mine is set in Bios at 1.66V but you can see from the attached that it's taking 1.65V, and with OCCT you get the 3 readings which should give pretty accurate info............

    Downloadable here.........

    http://www.ocbase.com/perestroika_en/index.php?Download

    Attached Files:

  9. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Should voltage reading be mandatory or optional? I don't want to make it to hard on people neither because then they will get lazy and never post. :(

    What do you guys think?
  10. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,568 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,439
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Personally I don't see why, it's a memory bench, if someone wants to put more volts into their memory and tweak then it's all good, adding voltage is no different than tightening timings in my book..... but thats just my opinion,.
  11. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    I wouldn't mind adding voltage information. To me it seems like voltage information is very important for trying different settings with different voltages.
  12. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Lets get a bit more feedback hopefully, see what others have to say, if not I'll edit the list to add the voltage. Sucks I didn't think of this before, seems like I thought about everything but this. :laugh:
  13. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I dont see the point as not all mem are the same and oc the same at the same volts
  14. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344

    Memory is not all the same but memory sets do include voltage information on the description of the product. I find voltage settings very useful to help determine the quality of the ram. Lower voltage with faster speeds and tighter timings is nice for power quality and lower temperature. CPU-Z includes voltage for CPU it would be nice if it could also include voltage for memory. That would be a nice feature. I find it helpful.


    Knowing the voltage settings from a booted up OS environment would be very handy to me.
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    cpu-z does have a mem tab

    Untitled2.jpg
  16. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,764 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    I believe voltage could be added as an option.

    You could add other things as well; subtimings, heatspreaders, fan (yes or no) or other cooling, IC manufacturer/model, etc.

    Eventually you need to draw the line somewhere...
  17. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Yeah. To me voltage is key in all electronic devices. I'd like it if possible.
  18. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,124 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Unless OCCT has some magic reader, no Asus board will show vDimm unless you pull up TurboV.
  19. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Okay guys, edited the format and the spreadsheet for the voltage addition. Here is the revised format which can also be found in the OP. :toast: Thanks guys! :respect:

    User Name-
    Intel/AMD-
    RAM-
    RAM Voltage (Optional)-
    CPU-
    BOARD-
    OPERATING SYSTEM-
    RAM TIMINGS-
    RAM SPEED-
    MEM COPY (MB/sec)-
    MEM READ (MB/sec)-
    MEM WRITE (MB/sec)-
    MEM LATENCY (ns)-
  20. Woomack

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Messages:
    57 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    Little update:

    Intel/AMD - AMD
    RAM - 4GB ( 2x2GB ) Corsair Dominator GT 2000C8 ( PSC )
    RAM Voltage - 1.67V
    CPU- FX -8120
    BOARD - ASUS Crosshair V Formula
    OPERATING SYSTEM - Win 7 64bit
    RAM TIMINGS - 9-12-10-28 2T
    RAM SPEED - 2654
    MEM COPY (MB/sec) - 20083
    MEM READ (MB/sec) - 15091
    MEM WRITE (MB/sec) - 12879
    MEM LATENCY (ns) -48.1

    20gb.jpg
    SonDa5 and Chicken Patty say thanks.
  21. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    That's some insane RAM speeds! Updated.
  22. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,529 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,042
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Check out my numbers on my new sandy!

    User Name- brandonwh64
    Intel/AMD- Intel
    RAM- Gskill Ripjaw 2x4GB 1600Mhz 8-8-8-24
    RAM Voltage (Optional)- 1.545V (Wont go to 1.5V lowest is 1.545V?)
    CPU- I7 2600K @ 4.3GHZ
    BOARD- ASRock Pro3-M Z68
    OPERATING SYSTEM- Windows 7 Home X64
    RAM TIMINGS- 8-8-8-24 1T
    RAM SPEED- 1600mhz
    MEM COPY (MB/sec)- 21960
    MEM READ (MB/sec)- 20864
    MEM WRITE (MB/sec)- 20837
    MEM LATENCY (ns)- 49.3

    [​IMG]
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Nice #'s!! :rockout: Updated.
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    [​IMG]

    User Name- JrRacinFan
    Intel/AMD- AMD
    RAM- Mushkin Ripjaws
    RAM Voltage - 1.65
    CPU- Unlocked x2 555
    BOARD- Asus M5A97 Evo
    OPERATING SYSTEM- Windows 7 Ultimate X64
    RAM TIMINGS- 7-9-7-24 1T
    RAM SPEED- 1800mhz
    MEM COPY (MB/sec)- 13862
    MEM READ (MB/sec)- 11437
    MEM WRITE (MB/sec)- 9067
    MEM LATENCY (ns)- 52.5
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2011
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Updated. Thanks! :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page