1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

McAfee Home And Office Beta Testing Program

Discussion in 'News' started by HellasVagabond, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    McAfee a world leader in Anti-Virus related programs has just opened its newest AV suite to the public for beta testing.
    "McAfee’s Home and Home Office Beta Program allows you to try our latest software before we release it to the public. You’ll have the opportunity to provide feedback directly to McAfee’s product development teams. Learn more about McAfee’s Home and Home Office Beta Rewards program (US Residents)."

    Source: Mcafee Home And Office Beta
  2. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Anti-virus........ beta.

    Is that like beta-testing a condom?

    Here, try this! It might work this time!
  3. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    McAfee, Norton, Panda, ESET are a few of the AV companies that beta test their AV suites, i know cause i do it all the time.
    I dont see whats the problem with that...New options, new probes, new strings they can all produce bugs, thats why these tests exist.
  4. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    But for protection? :laugh:

    Purposefully throw virus's at it? :eek:
  5. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    They aint checking if their AVs are good when it comes to cleaning viruses Dippy, they are testing them to find out BUGS in systems like Vista and generally 64 bit systems which are rather new, find bugs from new options bugs with the liveupdate and stuff like that. I for once wouldnt like to buy an AV and have problems with it.
  6. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    how's the new mcafee look?
  7. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Appearence wise not much different than the last one....Other than that it runs smooth so far....Not that i have any viruses or trojans to feed it with :p
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Thanks Hellas. Im gonna give this a go. I currently use Avast for my antivirus (no firewall as my DSL router has a hardware firewall) and I like it. I used to use McAfee long ago (5.0 and 6.0) and I loved it.
  9. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    MacAffee is horrible and should die.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page