1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Medieval II Total War PC RESTART

Discussion in 'Games' started by binladenpl, Apr 8, 2008.

  1. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    When i start a battle in Medieval II Total War the computer will restart after few seconds. I picked a smaller map which will need less resurces and it played few seconds longer. The game is really laggy for the few seconds its played even on the lowest settings. How ever when i press autodetect settings it gives me the "High" option which has better graphics and it runs the same way like i would put it on low.

    Other games seem to run good without problems.
    I dont know whats the problem here.

    -Temps are fine. 40C CPU, 45C GPU
    -Tried reseting ram and took a slower one out and still problem pressists.

    What can i try to get that game going?
    Edit/Delete Message
  2. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    is it patched?
  3. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    1.3 newest version
  4. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
  5. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,383 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,321
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    I think it's your video card, for a RTS Medieval 2 is pretty demanding, in fact very demanding and at any kind of detail level requires some oomph, all i can suggest is either try reducing your resolution or detail level and see how that goes, overclocking that CPU might help a little also.

    Ohhh recommended ram is also 2gb I beleive.
  6. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    both your memory and your gfx demand that you reduce graphical detail....maybe is time for an upgrade....
  7. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,223 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    also avoid having too much staff running at the background...
  8. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    the game requires a 1.5ghz P4 or equivilant, and 512mb of ram, video is 128mb DX9C

    problem is the game guys, im an avid ME2 player, played it on a 7200GS. Also the game isn't multi-threaded so it doesnt use dual core either, its the Rome TW engine
  9. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    settings are on lowest, i cant get it lower then it is right now.

    allso i clocked my processor 5mhz up :) any one know any article/post on clocking amd 3000+ into stable position i have zelman cooling keeping it below 40C mostly
  10. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    exacly and i have 2.20ghz right now
  11. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    taken from the site i refranced, i go there and post in the Medieval 2 tech support section, these guys are good. Just tell em candle sent ya, these guys love total war
  12. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    If i cant do nothing about it except buy new hardware can some one suggest me a different strategy game. Like age of empires or like this game. what a waste of cash and those wrongly posted requirements what a shame!
  13. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    just go to that site dude. But if you insist there isnt really any games like TW out there, so id suggest Rome Total War
  14. binladenpl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    118 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page