1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mem timings after restart

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Taz100420, Jan 26, 2007.

  1. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    my mem timings go to this after restart:
    restart.JPG
    is this ok or should I clear CMOS again?
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2007
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,382 (5.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,320
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    How come you are only running them at 116Mhz...surely thats not right, are they PC3200? You can try bringing all but the CAS latency down, thats good, try one at a time by one each and test stability for each one with either memtest of run the SiSoft Sandra Memory Benchmarking test after each drop to save time and then run Memtest afterwards.

    If you can get down to 2-3-3-6 that would be good, they may go lower or not but you wont know until you have tried. There is also voltage to take into consideration, as you tighten timings some sticks require a little extra voltage, what is the stock BIOS voltage now?
  3. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    when I put them in, the timings were 2-2-2-5, then I did the timings at 2.5-3-3-6 and divider at 1:1 then rebooted and they went to 2-5-5-15 and a divider at 5:4. the bios has them at 2.7v, about 2.8v good? but I overclock my proc better at these timings but I lose mem performance right?
    and yes PC3200
  4. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    and Im O/C'ed at 4144Mhz at 144Mhz mem
  5. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    hold up - is your memory @ 144mhz or 116.1mhz?

    I'm confused. I know this is a 533fsb board, and ddr400...but I must be misunderstanding something?
  6. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    I know its very confusing
    when I restart my computer at 140Mhz fsb set in the BIOS, CPU-Z says its at 116.1Mhz mem freq and timings of 2-5-5-15 and divider of 5:4 and when I O/C further with my utility here at 180 fsb it goes up to 144Mhz mem freq.
  7. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    that makes sense: 140fsb = 116mhz memory @ 5/4 ratio

    I know little about the 533 boards...what fsb does it use for stock speed anyway?
  8. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    but what about those timings? stock is 2-2-2-5.....
  9. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    133 fsb
  10. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    do your OCing in the bios, not windows.

    set the mem timings to stock in the bios @ 140fsb, reboot.

    tighten one setting down a notch, reboot.
    tighten next setting down a notch, reboot.
    etc. to find the best timings that are stable.
  11. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    133? damn, what is the multi on that chip?
  12. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    ok will get back in a bit
  13. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio

    23X
  14. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    well it seems that I cant change the timings from BIOS, cheap board lol
    but all it says for Memory is the freq and it has a drop menu with 2.50, 3.00, 4.00
    and the freq below it say 333, 400, 533

    and when I set it to 4.00 and reboot it says: OC fail, please correct OC and reboot
  15. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    weird. I don't know what those settings mean.
    oh well.
    So now you get to bench it at 4144ghz with the fsb/mem @ 5/4

    then see what max stable OC you can get at 1:1 and bench that

    and then see what is best for...whatever you need!
    You might get better overall system performance with a lower fsb @ 1:1, but I really don't know for sure - so it's up to you to test it out!

    :toast:
  16. TUngsten

    TUngsten

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,044 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    CT, USA
    say - can you bump up the mem volts?
  17. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    though BIOS it says DIMM Voltage *drop menu* +.1,+.2,+.3,
    +.4,+.5,+.6 and I think stock is 2.7v, should I leave it where it is?
  18. Taz100420

    Taz100420

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,925 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Fremont, Ohio
    Does anyone else have 2X512MB Kingston Hyper-X memory that can help me?
    With my old Blitz one-sided Value RAM seemed to get better performance on the net and applications but not on benches or games. Im kinda disappointed with this performance:shadedshu

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page