1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Memory bus speed exceeds memory rated speed after oc

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by toohot, Mar 28, 2011.

1. toohot New Member

Thanks Received:
    Hi All.Sorry but I am new to overclocking ,so I decided to give it a go.Well I now you should not use Easy Tune 6(ET6)But I was worried about using the bios to overclock.Well used the easy method.I used sis sandra for test and in the report it stated Memory bus speed exceeds memory rated speed?I have attached all captured jpgs with all system info,I hope.
    What I would Like to now,can I do something about memmory rated speed.and any other improvements.I have clocked it to 2.94 ghz(5% oc) and I am happy with that for starters.temps are abit high at full loads using prime 95 /Real temp.may need re sitting/cream.Room temp is 22c
    Case temp is 18c.Check out attach.everything works and is stable.Your help would be appriciated.

system specs....
    I7 920/gskill ripjaws F3-12800Cl6T-6GBTD. DDR3-1600 PC3-12800 CL6-7-6-18. 1.6v
    noctua nh-U12p performance cooler.gigabyte ga-x58a-ud5.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 28, 2011
  2. Nailezs

Thanks Received:
    what type of cooling are you using?

EDIT: n/m, i see it. temps do look a bit high for such a mild oc though. what type of thermal compound are you using?

also, the only way you should be overclocking is thru the bios. if you're not comfortable doing that, maybe you should do a bit more studying on the subject of Oc'ing. browse the forums, use the seach function, etc. there are loads of thread about OC'ing your chip on this forum.
  3. toohot New Member

Thanks Received:
    My computer chasis i coolmaster cm690,front 120mm,rear 120mm ,left side 120 mm fans.
    cpu cooler Noctua NH-U12P SE2 performance(push/pull) with original noctua nt-h1 thermal compound.