1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Memory Settings In Bios (too many options)

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by cocacolaman, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. cocacolaman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    • OCZ part number:-OCZ2N800SR4GK
    • Module size and kit size:-4 GB 2x2GB
    • CPU model and rated speed:-AMD AM2 X2 6400+
    • Overclocked CPU speed:-200 Freq
    • Divider and FSB used:-16X
    • Motherboard and revision:-ECS KN3 SLI2 v.1
    • Motherboard Bios rev:-6.00 PG
    • Video card:-GeForece 7600
    • Power supply:-OCZ 700W
    • Operating System:-XP 64
    • CPU and System Cooling:-Zalman
    • CPU and System temps:-normal
    • Purchased at/on:-Newegg less than year
    • Country:-USA
    • Memory voltage:-2.1


    There are just way too many setting in the memory right now not reading the optimum settings as is the CPU basically i think i'm under clocking them.


    There's way more than just the cas, trcd, trp, tras in the bios

    any help on what the settings should be??





    Now the that's the CPU but the memory is a big problem.

    It always defaults to DDR2 400 not DDR2 800

    and here's exactly what it says right now with nothing changed.

    [​IMG]

    and here's what's further down on that screen with more options.

    what's the TRW TRTP etc???

    [​IMG]


    I have more pics of the bios options in this folder:

    http://s165.photobucket.com/albums/u72/cocacolaman_2007/Upgrade PC/

    also here's a direct link to download the manual might help to see

    all the settings in the bios.

    thanks

    http://www.ecs.com.tw/ECSWebSite/Do...ual&DetailDesc=&CategoryID=1&MenuID=6&LanID=9


    I think I understand the CPU better now. I figured out how to change the voltage
    and timings and understand that the 6400 can be overclocked but I am really
    looking for stability. I am currently over clocking it to 3.3 GHZ instead of
    the 3.2 GHZ which isn't anything, but it should be stable.

    The main problem seems to be the memory. I was able to finally get it to
    recognize it as DDR 2 800 instead of DDR2 400 but the timings are off.
    Every time I try to change them manually I get error and won't boot.

    I do have the voltage set to 2.1 v.






    Currently have DDRII Timing Item set to auto cause once i
    go in try to manually set the CAS, TRCD, TRP, and TRAS
    it will not boot just get errors.

    I need to know for the memory what the are the correct
    settings for the following so I can get the memory to perform
    correctly. Right now CPUZ reports the follwoing:

    CAS at 6 when it should be 4 or 5
    TRCD at 6 when it should be at 4
    TRP at 6 when it should be at 4
    TRAS at 18 when it should be at 15




    The following are the options when I take if off of auto.

    what are the proper settings for the follwoing:

    TWTR Command Delay ? default set at 3 bus clocks
    TRFCO for Dimmo ? default set at 75ns
    TRFC1 for Dimm1 ? default set at 75ns
    TRFC2 for Dimm2 ? default set at 75ns
    TRFC3 FOr Dimm3 ? default set at 75ns
    TWR?
    TRTP?
    TRC?
    TCL?
    TRCD?
    TRRD?
    TRP?
    TRAS?
    1t/2t ? default set to 2t
    TRTW ? default set to auto
    Async Latency ? default Set to Auto
  2. cocacolaman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here's what I'm getting right now in CPUZ

    [​IMG]
  3. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,857 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
  4. cocacolaman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok I got memset but doesn't help. Tried changing the settings in it and all it did was freeze the computuer. Had to reboot in safe mode and remove memset. It will read everything just don't use it to change things. I looked at that link but that did not help in the least.
  5. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,857 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    k, sorry - the guy gives some good advice, try posting in the thread with a screenshot. try changing 1 setting at a time. and yes don't choose apply and save - just apply. Expect it to crash a lot. Start by lowering your performance setting by 1. slowly lower your tRas then slowly lower your tRfc - i got some good timings from my mem. i'll post a pic in a minute of my timings
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2008
  6. cocacolaman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Here's what i got currently will try what you said.

    [​IMG]
  7. silkstone

    silkstone

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,857 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    You got a AMD system - soz, don;t know much about the mem timings - post in the thread with a screenshot mullered or JrRacingFan will have some good advice.
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Try one setting at a time and run this program to see if it passes
    http://hcidesign.com/memtest/

    Then after you get as low as you can go test for 12 hours or so and see if you can pass. If so your gold.



    This is as low as I can go and pass my test.
    [​IMG]



    Oh and you see my speed? It's math of x 2 then you get = speed 900 x 2= 1800Mhz
  9. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,789 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    662
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Set your dram freq. to 500 and timings to 5-5-5-15 @2.2 volts and see what you get!!
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Try 3-3-3-10 and see if it will run at 2.2v or 2.3v

    I've ran DDR2 like that way to many times:)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page