1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Memory size controlled by CPU?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by lordjohn, Oct 2, 2012.

  1. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    from first gen i processors, intel states max memory size on the website for each processor, is that meaning max memory size is controlled by cpu not mainboard?

    I have a x58 with i7 960, now have 6x4gb, mainboard can go up to 48gb, but i7 can go only 24gb, if so, why board manufacture make such 48gb for?

    other from intel, I have a 990fxa with 8120, since amd does not say any max memory size, does it mean I can put 4x8gb on it to get 32gb according to the mainboard?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    The memory controller is on the CPU thus the CPU determines maximum addressable memory.
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
  3. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    amd and intel both have MC on cpu?

    thanks
    but if amd also have the MC on cpu why amd does not states max memory size, and why x58 board can hold up to 48gb since there is no 1366 cpu can go for 48gb
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,275 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Maybe? I've read a lot of people say if the board supports it, you're good to go.

    I found this too.
    [​IMG]
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
  5. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,559 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,496
    Location:
    IA, USA
    There is a hardware limit to what CPUs will support because even though a processor may have x86-64, it does not necessarily have the capacity to address 64-bits worth of memory. It might only be 40-bits (1.1 TB), for example.

    Besides that strict limit, I think most mainboard/CPU manufacturers only give a tenative amount for "maxmium memory." That is, they take the largest module size available to them (today, that is 8 GiB), test it, and then advertise it as such. If you exceed the amount due to advancements in memory density, it may work but is officially unsupported for legal purposes. They can't stand behind a claim they can't test when they launch the product.
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,943 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,066
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No ,what it mewans is that they do not support that configuration. Could be like PCIe 3.0 on X79..some CPUs support it, others, not so much.

    Of cours,e we can overclock no problem, and technically, adding more memory might create a situation that requires a significant voltage boost to stay stable.
     
  8. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks

    I think I will buy 4x8gb and try, if not working on my x58, I can use them for my 990fxa, I think 8120+990fxa can take 4x8gb, right?
     
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,418 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,460
    970/990 support 32 GB of ram
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
  10. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thanks

    990fx can go for 32gb, does 8120 go for 32gb?

    like x58 can go for 48gb, but 960 can only go for 24gb(on ask.intel)
     
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,418 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,460
    i guess you didnt have your question answered, Yes it can, its board dependent actually
     
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,258 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    789
    Location:
    Rochester area
    generally the less DIMM slots in use the better
     
  13. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Thanks

    Thanks everyone for help. I will wait a bit for ram to drop more, and go get 4x8gb to try on x58, if it works, go get another 2x8gb, and it will be 48gb, if the first try failed, i can use the 4x8gb on my 990fxa.
    Thank you very much.
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,418 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,460
    x58 platform is a triple channel configuration, youd need 3/6/9/12
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,933 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,027
    There are probably 1366 Xeon CPUs that work with that board that support 48GB.
     
    lordjohn says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    cool

    That maybe the answer, I never think of that, thanks
     
  17. lordjohn

    lordjohn

    Joined:
    May 19, 2012
    Messages:
    161 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    thanks

    x58 works with both dual channel and triple channel
     
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,552 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No, it depends on the CPU installed, and later, the number of DIMM slots there are. Zambezi IMC supports 32 GB. Future Vishera IMC could support 64 GB. Trinity IMC already supports 64 GB.

    As for LGA1366 platforms, I think Bloomfield IMC supports up to 24 GB, and Gulftown IMC up to 48 GB.
     
  19. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,275 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I've read cases where the 920 will run 6 sticks of 1333 and will sometimes do 48Gb. It's not supported but there are reported cases that it works.
     
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,418 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,460
    you have proof of that cuz 890fx boards only supported 16 gb.
     
  21. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    324 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    unles ur going to use ramdisk,or ramcache i have no clue why u want so much memory instaled!!
    i think 16gb i waaay more then enough!!!
    what ur rich or something ??u dont know how to spend ur money??
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,418 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,460
    ya know dude ease off:slap:
     
  23. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,275 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,083
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The other day I was using 14Gb out of 16Gb. :shadedshu
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  24. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,552 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Because for people whose rigs run 24x7, there's no such thing as too much RAM. Eventually, Windows caches everything it reads from the disk onto the memory (memory caching), until an application needs its space. So with say 48 GB of memory, you're practically running Windows, a couple of your favourite applications, and one or two big games completely off your RAM.
     
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,604 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    I want more RAM.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page