1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Memory stick capacity only showing as 1GB when it used to be 8GB

Discussion in 'Storage' started by crazy pyro, Apr 29, 2009.

  1. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I had to reformat my Corsair Flash Voyager in order to install ubuntu on my netbook and now it's only showing up as having 1GB of storage rather than the 8GB it used to have.
    Anyone know of any ways to sort it out?
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,226 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    Stick it in a Windows machine and see what it says under Disk Management.
     
    crazy pyro says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    It said it was FAT32, I checked it in a windows machine before I responded to the thread, I'll have another go to see if I can find what's wrong with it.
    Edit: Just checked back in windows, it says it's got a total of 944mb space and it's using the FAT32 file system, however when I checked in Ubuntu it said it was 8.1gb so I'm kinda confused now.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2009
  4. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Tried using the DISKPART (in cmd) and use the command "clean"

    then reformat ?
     
    crazy pyro says thanks.
  5. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    In windows? I've not tried that so I'll give it a try later.
     
  6. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    oh make sure you do select disk before clean, else it could go horribly wrong lol

    although you knowing how to work linux would probably already know this
     
    crazy pyro says thanks.
  7. crazy pyro

    crazy pyro New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,662 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Nah, I wouldn't. I put linux on to play around with, It's my third attempt with linux (first attempt the wireless on the lappy didn't like it and it wouldn't boot, second attempt my HDD blew up 2 days after and this time this happens). I'd guessed to have to select a disk first, I'll do it on the spare lappy in-case I screw up, that one doesn't have anything important on.
     
  8. jamesrt2004 New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    193 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    ahh I see well mini guide would be

    cmd....

    Diskpart (takes a couple seconds to load)

    list disk

    select disk #

    clean

    Create partition primary

    Select partition 1

    Active

    Exit


    then I go to the device properties (my computer/right click format... )and format it.. It should use all available space on the usb stick (when using the diskpart to create partition) so yeah give that a shot.
     
    crazy pyro says thanks.
  9. Arandur New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ireland
    Thanks for this post, just had the same issue and this info sorted it out for me.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page