1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Memory upgrade

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Knoxx29, Mar 11, 2014.

  1. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi guys,
    I want to upgrade my Ram and I need advice from someone expert...
    Which are the best Ram I could use for a game rig?
     
  2. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    For your rig or someone else's? If it's for your 3770, any 1600Mhz memory should do fine and the 16GB you have now seems to be adequate to me.
     
  3. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    It's not for my 3770 it's for my new 3770k and I want to upgrade to 32GB:respect:


    Forgot to modify me system specs:banghead:
     
  4. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I don't think it's going to improve your gaming experience to upgrade your memory as it is now.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  5. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,665 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,272
    Looking at your setup, IMO that new maximus V is a bit of a waste of money. I used to have a P8Z68 Pro and i pushed a 2500k to 4.9Ghz, Im sure the P67 could have done the exact same thing. People were overclocking on the P67 with good results before the Z68

    going from a 3770 to 3770k is another waste of money - at least consider a 4770k to make it more worthwhile - otherwise the rest of your upgrades are fine.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  6. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Thanks a lot for your advice!!!!
    Now here it's my point:
    I already got my last piece ( motherboard )for my complete upgrade
    I'm upgrading

    Motherboard
    CPU
    GPU
    Ram
    SSD - for boot system
    My motherboard I got it in England because here where I live ( Germany ) I couldn't find it,

    Next point:
    For the moment I don't want to go for haswell socket, I want to keep my 1155 socket at least for the next
    Two years..

    Next and last point:
    I prefer 1155 instead Haswell because just for the reason that I can get better overclock with
    A 1155, haswell it's better for server stations....
     
  7. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,487 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    How much are you willing to spend on ram???
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Does it matter? Any memory upgrade will yield practically no improvement for gaming in his case. It's simply a waste of money.

    Also I don't see it making much sense to stick with 1155 if your going to replace just about everything. Haswell is just as capable as IVB is. If I were you, I wouldn't touch the CPU, Motherboard, or ram and stick with a better video card which will yield the best results for your gaming experience, otherwise your kind of throwing money away imho.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  9. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,861 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,140
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    For what purpose? RAMDisk for one whole game? I know this is an enthusiast site, but 32GB of RAM for gaming seems like a bad use for money. If you want to blow money on something, buy a 780ti.
     
    Vario and Aquinus say thanks.
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,264 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,077
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    This! As I said, if your gaming the best thing you could use is a faster GPU. The rest of your rig is plenty capable as it is now and will be for the time frame that the OP wants to keep this machine.

    Edit: Just to elaborate a bit more for the OP, memory faster than DDR3-1600 CL9 on CPU (excluding APUs,) won't run a whole lot faster regardless of how much faster or tighter the timings are and more than 8GB (currently) doesn't yield much of a boost in performance for games either. So I wouldn't focus on upgrading memory if you want the best improvement. This is the same deal with going from a 3770 to a 3770k. While the benefit can be greater, it's not nearly as much as upgrading your GPU. Whenever you upgrade for performance for a particular application, you upgrade your bottleneck and games usually are hung up on the GPU. Even more so at higher resolutions, but I digress.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2014
    Knoxx29 and RCoon say thanks.
  11. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    I got already everything, because that was a present from my girlfriend and she got it for me!!!

    CPU - 3770k
    Motherboard - Asus V Formula
    GPU - EVGA GeForce GTX 770 Superclocked ACX Cooler, 4GB


    The only thing I I will pay my self it's the ram, so I will go for 16GB
     
  12. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    414
    Location:
    Louisiana
    If you are saying you will be staying with 16GB of RAM, that is wise. You will see no benefit going from 16 to 32, really. Even though this is an enthusiast site, 16GB is still excess for most of us.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  13. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,487 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,593
    Your right that he would see little if any benifit, however if he wants to spend the money than who am I to say he shouldn't. So my question still stands.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    As I said before that wasn't my money, my girlfriend ordered for me, so that's a present, than about the Ram maybe I keep those that I have or maybe i will spend 140/150€ in some G.Skill
     
  15. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    How to say no when your girlfriend gifts you something like this

    View attachment 55399 View attachment 55400 View attachment 55401
     
  16. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi all....
    I have a question,
    If I want to have 32gb in my rig but I want to buy first 16gb and 1 month later the other 16gb could I have any issues when I install the 16gb that I bought 1 month later?
    Thanks
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,861 (7.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,140
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Nope.
    As long as they are the same latency, voltage and frequency.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  18. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,068 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    291
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    If you make sure you've got 4 slots, and use 8GB RAM sticks, all should be good. Optimally you should choose the same memory for both 16GB's.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,651 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,042
    No problem at all. It is best if you buy all matching RAM though.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  20. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes I have 4 slots, at the moment 2 are busy and 2 free!!!
     
  21. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes they we be the same kit, just that in the computer's shop they had one kit, the other one come in a few weeks...
     
  22. rtwjunkie

    rtwjunkie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    414
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Like others have said, it is best to buy all the matching RAM at once. However, you CAN get lucky and have no problems. In my Frankenrig below in my sig, I intitially had 8GB of Mushkin RAM for a year laying about, and then 3 months ago I purchased another 8GB set od Mushkins. So, even though from different production cycles, etc, I decided to take my chances. It all worked out perfectly, but that doesn't always mean it will. Just be aware of that. But the odds are in your favor if they are same size, timing and latency.
     
    Knoxx29 says thanks.
  23. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    Hope I have luck, it's just 2 weeks difference between the installed kit and the new one
     
  24. Knoxx29

    Knoxx29

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Messages:
    456 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Germany
    I have one more question!!!
    In my motherboard bios I have to options,
    First - to increase memory frequency
    To 2133 without do anything extra to the ram and it works!

    Second one - to enable XMP and ram work at 2133 too!

    So both way work, which one should I use?
     
  25. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,894 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    Just what i was thinking some times they update ram versions and even go single sided.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page