1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Messy sob PSU wires!

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by new_rez, Feb 25, 2007.

  1. new_rez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    446 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Any idea what I can do with this mess?

    All suggestions welcome.

    Edit: and the IDE cable is tied with string lol
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    i normally try and get most of the wires down the back of the mobo on the other side of the case so theres minamil witing showing
     
  3. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,652 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Cable ties... try and run cables the same way...im very very lazy lately when it comes to my computer but ill recomend cable ties...running those power cables behind things, clumping cables together...if no side window not a real biggy.
     
  4. new_rez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    446 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I tried putting the cables behind the mobo but there isnt enough space :(

    I was thinking about putting that ribbon stuff around the wires and then using cable ties
     
  5. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,652 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Yes something that can clamp your cables together...making sure that you dont have each individual cable everywere group them......also if you ever end up getting a new psu...get a modular cable one like me..helps ALOT
     
  6. Protius New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,411 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Wonderful Ohio
    zip ties all the way
     
  7. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    turn your harddrives around

    and bundle wires together. that will be the least effort with the most gains in overall affect. as far as the nest at the top, just make everything narrow as possible for as long as possible away from the psu itself. then bundle them next to the cd drives if you can.

    imo, sometimes the ribbon ide cables can be hidden better than round ones, but only for the top cd drives, cuz they can be folded down and put almost flush with the case. good luck!
     
  8. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    look, i killed this. goddamnit.
     
  9. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    One thing I havn't seen much in these forums is the use of 'risers'. Motherboard risers are available and can give you an extra half inch or more to hide cables behind mobo, Just make sure no wires get punctured by a pin sticking out the back of mobo.
     
  10. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    zip tie it into a nice bundle.
     
  11. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    surely the i/o plate and pci slots wont line up anymore?
     
  12. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Good point, but that's when I get out the "tin snips", anything can be modded to work.
    I had to cut a hole in the back of my Gateway case to exhaust the X1900XTX. Worked like a charm!!( And Gateway tech support said it couldn't be done and would not work!!):laugh:
     
  13. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Cable management is a long tedious job to do it right, you have to think about each and every single wire, where its going, how u can hide it, how much slack u can take up, etc. I recommend getting some cable ties, doing each wire at a time then bunching them. Its the quickest way. If you want to do it in as much detail as I do, it'll take about 6 hours.. but thats because I'm rediculously meticulous.
     
  14. new_rez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    446 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, sorry in advance to bring up an old(ish) thread.

    I've taken the advice about cable ties, these things are great! I love them, they're bloody fantastic etc etc.

    So my case is now a LOT better inside. Those stupid facing HDD enclosures have been removed as they were sort of blocking the intake fans on the front. Now there is a much better flow of air coming in. Tomorrow it will be even better as I have ordered 2 of these http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=FG-004-DE&groupid=701&catid=57&subcat=819 to replace the dieing Thermaltake ones.
    My PC will sound like a small Jet plane but i'm not fussed. Games and music will drown out the noise.

    Oh and I found I can hide most of the cables behind the motherboard panel.

    SO anyways, this is the best that can be done and i'm very pleased with it (Took a few hours)

    Harry

    ps: The wierd glowing is UV cathodes. I'm a UV addict. I have 2 proper industrial sized one to light up my room. UV is soo cool.

    and sorry for the bad quality pics.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. anticlutch

    anticlutch

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    Excellent job !
     
  16. new_rez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    446 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks mate!

    I was wondering, with that massive amount of wasted space if there is anything I can stick in to increase cooling or something?
    Maybe stick an 80mm to 120mm adapter on an existing fan to aid airflow?
    Im not going for water cooling as i've just bought the Thermalright Ultra-90 (The ultra-120 or scythe infinity wont fit! 10mm to long :( ) and I don't know what else I could call with it (GC has the massive HIS cooler and mobo has that passive heatsink system)
     
  17. anticlutch

    anticlutch

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    995 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    SoCal
    I doubt you'll need any other form of cooling (assuming all of those case fans are functional)
    lol
     
  18. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    ...you should change the PSU, its not something that you can compromise on.
     
  19. new_rez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    446 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I haven't got the money. When I do i'm going to buy the Hiper Type-R 580w Modular PSU.
    http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=CA-005-HP

    I did look at this PSU before i bought it and it has enough power on the rails for what im doing. I know its not incredible and that it is letting my rig down but it suits me fine atm. It stays fairly cool and I haven't had a single problem with it (apart from it being ugly).
    PSU are fairly expensive here in the UK and im not prepared to pay throught the nose for one.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page