1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Metro 2033 crashing

Discussion in 'Games' started by stinger608, Apr 30, 2011.

  1. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Okay I just installed an XFX HD5870 running the new Catalyst 11.4 drivers. Yes I uninstalled the old drivers using Driver Sweeper in safe mode as the administrator. :laugh:

    I am running dual 23" monitors that are the same res so I don't think that has anything to do with it. I disabled the second monitor as well. At any rate, when I fire up Metro 2033 from the Steam console it will get to the manufacture splash screen and then it crashes and gives me a Windows error code. Can't remember what it says at this moment, however if that is needed I can fire it up to see real quick.

    Just wondering if anyone else has had this issue. I was originally running the game on dual HD4870's in crossfire and it was working fine.

    One question though, is it possibly because the 5870 is trying to run the game in DX11 where as the 4870's were running it in DX10?

    Thanks in advance
    Stinger

    Edit: Oh yea, and PowerPlay is disabled. It will run AvP (new version) in DX11, runs all the other games just fine as well.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    754
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Windows error code? as in a BSOD?
  3. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    No, just a splash screen type of error. Not really a "windows error code" I guess. It is one of those Windows 7 pop up errors LOL
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Went ahead and attempted to fire it up and then took a screen shot of what it shows.

    [​IMG]

    Now when I attempt to start the game, it states "last attempt was unsuccessful, would you like to start in safe mode."
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    754
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    My guess is your new card isnt playing nice with the settings config of the old card. Safe bet would be to back up ur saves and completely reinstall, but you could try just deleting the config and restarting.
  6. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :rockout:Yep, I uninstalled the game, and reinstalling to see if that is what the problem is.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,677 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,551
    'i used ti have this problem, don't remember 100% why..

    Did you try going to your Steam directory? Steam\steamapps\common\metro 2033\ install and try those in that folder?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    i get the same issues its 2x Screens causing it at least for me

    I simple disable 1 monitor, start the game renable the monitor and it runs fine, just seems the first start up screws up with dual screens.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I didn't try that as a matter of fact. Damn, I probably should have. Well, it is still downloading now, and will give that a shot if it still messes up.

    Well that is what I kind of thought too man, so I disabled the second monitor and I still got the same error:banghead:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    ouch... um let me think on it a bit
    stinger608 says thanks.
  11. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    :laugh:Hell, I can see the smoke coming out or your ears already:roll:
    J/K man, I appreciate the help and ideas man.

    Damn, the download speeds are frigging slow today. Just about done though, and going to give another try. First I am going to disable the second monitor before attempting to start the game and see if that helps.

    I think that Metro is dual monitor capable; isn't it?


    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Funtoss

    Funtoss New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    587 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    New Zealand
    did you update the game to the latest patch/update?
  13. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    487 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I was getting the same in Call of Duty BO and i found out if i set the Anti-Aliasing in CCC to use aplication settings with no Morphological Filtering and filter set to standard, i got rid of the problem.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  14. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Ah, I never thought about that man!!!!!! Thanks, I will check that out bro!:toast::toast::toast:
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Well I got the game reinstalled, and checked the settings that Cookiemonster suggested, and it is still doing the exact same thing! :banghead::banghead::banghead:

    Damn, this sucks!!!!!! I don't exactly get why every other game runs just fine other than Metro 2033. I have to wonder if it isn't something to do with some recent Windows frigging update.

    Anyone else having this issue?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Download and install the latest physx package from nvidia.
    stinger608 and cadaveca say thanks.
  17. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    How does that work with the AMD/ATI video card?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,126 (4.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,742
    Location:
    04578
    the game uses Physx regardless,

    both CPU and or GPU, so upgrading to the newest physx package also updates the cpu physx software as well. or so i would guess, i just know some games freak out if physx is out of date or sometimes if its to new lol
    stinger608 says thanks.
  19. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,677 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,551
    So did you go into your Steam\steamapps\common\metro 2033\ install folder and install the d3dinstall, directx, physx, and vcredist_x86 that are there?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Just curious if you ever got this fixed, Stinger. Hope you're happily playing ATM.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,838
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. cookiemonster

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    Messages:
    487 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Hi stinger608, sorry that didn't work for you but these are my settings in CCC.

    Attached Files:

    stinger608 says thanks.
  23. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    754
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    ^^ Thats what i was saying, the great tekie just knew where the folder was :toast:
  24. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    I see that NT1 got to you before I did lol. I'm thinking specifically of the DX update.

    Back in the day, UT3 would crash every time on XP, but installing the latest update cured it solid. So yeah, try that as a priority.

    If you want the runtime, instead of the stub, which downloads the runtime every time, go here: www.microsoft.com/downloads/en/details.aspx?FamilyID=3b170b25-abab-4bc3-ae91-50ceb6d8fa8d

    Also, if that doesn't fix it, try to edit the configuration file to run it in DX9. I bet that would work.

    I've not had any issues playing Metro 2033.
  25. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,950 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,332
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Na, had PhysX installed so that was not the issue.

    Trying that now Tekie! Man, I hope your right with this.

    Edit: Still didn't work:banghead::banghead::banghead: Man this is getting frustrating.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page