1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

metro 2033 on an overclocked GTX 670 2GB

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by john.sa, Sep 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I got the metro 2033 demo.

    I am wondering if i enable MSAA 4x and disable Tessllation and DOF and play on very high settings on 1920*1200 or use AAA and enable DOF and Tessellation in order to improve the performance in Very high?

    Because i tested it. if i enable 4x MSAA and disable DOF or DOF and Tesslation, the gameplay is very fluid.

    so which one of those is noticeable if i disable them?

    is Advanced DOF noticeable or tessellation to be disabled??
  2. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,788 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    417
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    The DOF is the "framerate killer" You should be able to use any other settings you like. You can even turn on the PhysX if you are so inclined ;)
  3. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    805 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    I would:

    -turn physics on
    -turn DOF off
    -turn 4x MSAA off
    -turn tesselation on

    then go to Nvidia CP

    -turn FXAA on
    -turn Adaptive V-Sync on

    FXAA improves the AA without killing your framerate, and Adaptive V-sync helps remove some annoying stutters. DOF is a framerate killer, the same with the 4x MSAA.
    NHKS and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  4. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Metro 2033 is one of the most demanding games out without a crossfire setup you will be lucky to have playable framerates at max detail even on as great a card as a 670. Also what is your current OC compared to stock clocks?
  5. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    actually i get good performance with maxed out settings with 4x MSAA without Tessellation and DOF.

    my gtx 670 is oced to 1100mhz core and +600 memory.

    so what do u recommend me to reduce the jaggies without the performance hit of MSAA 4x?

    just enable FXAA in CP?
  6. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,063 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    754
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Not true.. enough said
    Chevalr1c and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  7. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    with 2 gtx 560s this game gets abot 40fps at very high with physics on and 64x csaa set through the driver with most other new games get 100fps+, i think u should be able to run it
  8. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,685 (4.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,570
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Actually the gtx 670 is faster than a 7970 if overclocked.....

    u dont have to have 60fps to play a game.

    im fine with 30fps and above.
  10. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Why not try each setting individually and find out?
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,578 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Set it to AA, turn on Tessellation and disable DOF. Enable FXAA in CP for Metro.

    I got a solid 60FPS with my 680 maxed settings, DOF off, Tesselation on, AAA on at 1920 x 1200.

    Just play around with the settings like Erocker said. Find whats best for you. Performance to quality ratio.

    yeah, then you overclock the 7970 and it shits on the 670s face. Kepler GPUs 670/680 do not scale clock for clock as well as the 7950/7970. You overclock the 670/80 10% and get 5fps increase you do the same to the 7950/70 you get 10fps increase.

    The AMD cards actually run Metro 2033 a bit then Nvidia cards believe it or not.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2012
  12. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nah man. i still think that GTX 670 is the fastest single GPU in the market regardless.

    stuff the ATI/AMD man. they suck.

    And yes I do get between 60fps and 100fps while playing Metro maxed out with AAA and DOF off.

    for AA i enable FXAA and Multisample in CP.

    my lowest framerate so far is 28 to 29fps and its only at rare places like the first level where u look straight at that very bright light coming through the windows.

    I am measuring my performance to see which settings i best to enable and disable.

    and yes, in normal circumstances which is most of the time, i get between 60fps and 100fps :).
  13. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    I concur.

    With the right driver settings, AAA (nVidia may have given it a different name) performs better than 4xMSAA especially if the AAA settings in the CP are set on "performance". No need to set AA high with modern games, IMHO. The last time I noticed significant amounts of jagged edges feels like millenia ago (probably because modern games are being rendered at way higher resolutions than those of the old days).
    DOF should definitely be turned off, it is an framerate killer on all cards while in the same time it makes little sense to use it. Most parts of the game consist of pretty small, dark spaces so there is no visible effect while playing).
    PhysX? I cannot make any recommendations here (lack experience with the tech), but I lean towards agreeing with KingPing because your card should be capable of handling it.
    Tesselation should be working well enough, altough if you decide to disable it I recommend switching from D3D 11 to D3D 10. That is because features other than Tess and DOF don't differ in generation 11 compared to 10, while there is some speed improvement. When benching my new HD 6670 with Heaven 2.1 I saw an improvement of 5-10 fps when going from D3D 11 withoput tess. to D3D 10 without tess. (and a small improvement in openGL with moderate tess. compared to D3D 11 with the same settings, but that is off topic). I don't know whether it matters that much in Metro though, because I did not try my new card with it yet. With the right settings, performance (w/ my new card) should be as smooth as with my HD 4850 though as long as the drivers are sufficiently matured.

    See my remarks directly above this qoute of yours. Max detail settings are no problem with the card mentioned in the first post. Max quality settings? Likely not. Max detail? Hell yes.
    DOF and Tess. are not there to increase detail level. ;)

    People whining about lack of performance should put that same effort in attemps to adjust game and driver settings.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i just tested again.

    I think the best peformance and image quality is when I disable DOF and instead use AAA plus enabling FXAA and Multisample on Nvidia CP.

    But actually enabling FXAA and Multisample on CP would affect the game image quality?

    Right now everything in the game is enabled except DOF and MSAA. i use AAA instead of 4x MSAA and the performance is perfect.

    but im wondering , why i get some suttering during action when my fps is 60 or 50?

    anyone knows???

    but yeah, DOF and MSAA are real frame rate killers. just disable DOF and use AAA and the fps is 50 or above 60 most of the time.
  15. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    The frame dips could be CPU related or so, I get them too sometimes although they are rare with my stealthy playstyle ("Trolley Combat" is the only level in which the game is showing serious stutter during the first few seconds of the action). BTW, where in the demo did you notice any visible stutter (by visible I mean visible ingame, not by looking at an fps counter)? The demo should not contain any, except perhaps during the mutant attack when Artyom and some NPCs are gathered around that vehicle (during the prologue). Yet that should be of the barely noticeable, unhindering kind.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    :shadedshu
  17. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Chevalr1c: yes. i get some stuttering at the end of the first level when mutants are attacking and stuff.

    is this normal???? my fps is between 50 and 60 at that spot during the action.
  18. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Yes, that is a pretty intense scene but you just confirmed that you have been looking way to much at a fps counter. No way that you experience 50 fps as stutter if there is no counter at the corner of the screen. Your gameplay experience should be fine and it is normal to get some drops in that level.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. EiSFX

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    566 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    I'm betting that if you don't keep your eyes locked on that FPS counter and just turn it off and play normally you won't even notice any drops cuz 50 FPS and it a very smooth play rate and like i said wouldn't even be noticeable if you had the FPS counter off
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  20. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    but i am sad because i cant enable DOF and MSAA :(.

    i can enable them but the gameplay wont be as fluid anymore.

    stuff the people who added those options for the game man.

    why did they do that?
  21. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Its a sad day for me. i bought the GTX 670 for over $700 and expecting it to MAX out everything and anything.

    but i cant enable MSAA and DOF. this is ridiculous.

    I want to be able to at least enable MSAA 4x man.....

    please somebody give me a hint to maintain my performance that i have now and at the same time enable the MSAA 4x.
  22. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,495 (13.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,910
    Don't know, but they did.

    Not possible.

    As you can see, you got what you paid for:
    [​IMG]
  23. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,578 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You must have no read any reviews on that card, if you think you could completely max out Metro 2033

    Are you kidding me?

    [​IMG]

    You might be blind if you think the 670 is the fastest single GPU.

    Regardless, just turn off DOF and set Anti Aliasing to AAA. DOF does nothing for the game, but bog it down about 30FPS.
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2012
  24. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,870 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    606
    Location:
    Rochester area
    he payed 700 dollars(us?) for it lol get got ripped off bad ... card retails for 400
    metro is demanding on high settings it takes a pair of 680's in sli to see 60FPS on high settings +aa
    metro isnt that well optimized if you take the dark lighting away it looks like shit they use a lot of fancy lighting tricks to make it look good but in reality most of the assets are fairly low res
  25. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,578 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    He lives in New Zealand. Not from the states.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page