1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

metro 2033 on an overclocked GTX 670 2GB

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by john.sa, Sep 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    how come MSAA is so heavy though???

    is there any way to replace it with a lighter one from Nvidia CP?
     
  2. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,062 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,341
    Location:
    Rochester area
    580USD if he payed 700 new zealand dollars still a rip off
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,215 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Its a type of anti aliasing. YOu either run it or you don't. If performance is bad, don't run with it on.
     
  4. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,062 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,341
    Location:
    Rochester area
    because AA is essentially rendering the scene 4 times each pass a little smoother
    and yes there is plenty of ways to work around that MSAA is very very slow and its quite old-tech
    http://mrhaandi.blogspot.com/p/injectsmaa.html
    you can use that
    or http://www.mediafire.com/?om7bzxc7488wrj3
    fx aa is a little better looking but its slower its also less compatible with certain titles
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,215 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Or he can just use FXAA instead. or use AAA or just not use any Anti Aliasing at all and just play the damn game.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2012
    NHKS and INSTG8R say thanks.
  6. KingPing

    KingPing

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    831 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    276
    Location:
    Argentina (South America)
    I already told you, disable 4xMSAA, go to Nvidia CP and enable FXAA and Adaptive V-sync, it will give you the same overall quality and higher FPS. DOF is barely noticeable in game but kills your FPS, disable it.
     
    NHKS and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  7. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    should i try injectSMAA instead?

    do i need to enable anything in Nvidia CP to use InjectSMAA or not?
     
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,062 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,341
    Location:
    Rochester area
    nope just make sure any in-game/FORCED aa is set to OFF
     
  9. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks. I will try when i get home :).

    Should i turn the AA settings OFF in Nvidia CP as well?
     
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,062 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,341
    Location:
    Rochester area
    yes any AA overrides should be OFF
     
    NHKS says thanks.
  11. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    im going home in 2 hours and try.

    so from ur experience, does it really improve the jaggy lines in every games while maintaining reasonable performance>?
     
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4,062 (2.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,341
    Location:
    Rochester area
    depends on the game I use smaa+x2 MSAA in battle field 3
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,215 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Seriously John, try this shit out yourself rather then asking the same questions over and over again that we have been telling you repeatedly.
     
    [XC] Oj101 and Chevalr1c say thanks.
  14. john.sa New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    84 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    MxPhenom 216: lol. stuff u man. i dont need people like u . why u are angry? because u have a gtx 680 and i have a 670?

    u just realized that u wasted ur money on a worthless 680?

    dont open my mouth in here.
     
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2012
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,215 (6.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,385
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Dude, you have already lost all credibility and respect from most people when you said AMD stuff sucks earlier in this thread. Also im not the one financing a mid-high end video card for 700 bucks.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  16. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,308 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,488
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    John.sa, do not say "stuff you" to people who repeatedly advised you, while you in the same time keep complaining about not being able to run Metro with DOF and other hardly or non- visible effects, as well as a dip in framerates that you wouldn't even notice if you just played the game without FPS counter in a corner of the screen.
    I think I am reconsidering to help you with anything in the forseeable future.
     
    NHKS, MxPhenom 216 and erocker say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,967 (12.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,391
    ...and on that note. It looks as if the answer to the OP's questions have been answered multiple times. No reason to continue this thread the way it is going.
     
    cdawall, Mussels, [XC] Oj101 and 3 others say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page