1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Metro 2033

Discussion in 'Games' started by HookeyStreet, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Why is it that i can set DX10 in this game with my 4870 and Windows 7?, i thought Windows 7 was only DX9 and DX11 capable.
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,651 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,042
    Nope! It's DirectX 10 compatible.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  3. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,551 (6.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,492
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I hope I don't get paralyzed with fear like I didn in S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Clear Sky. :( What was creepy about it?


    Update PhysX here. Even on ATI/AMD cards, you still need PhysX if the game requires it (and it does or it wouldn't produce that error).
     
    Mussels says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,894 (4.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,673
    Location:
    US
    Game plays near perfect so far. Wish i could turn down the shadows just a little bit though as there is some places i get little slow downs but thats it.

    Got it on 1920x1080 Very High AAA + 4AF but missed ( if one ) a custom button


    BTW is AAA higher than MSAA ?
     
    Marineborn says thanks.
  5. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    rebootingh did the job, it started up just fine asrock, no need to update the physx drivers, whats funny is the physx drivers that came with the game are newer then the ones on the website, lol, but its working now
     
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,511
    physX has this wonderful thing where the game version and installed versions have to match - for an example, your game might need physX 1.5 (made up number), so you install that with the game. you then look in the folder and find out you have 1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 1.5a and so on...

    makes for great compatibility issues when every game uses its own unique version of PhysX >.<
     
  7. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    lol well it worked until i put it in dx11 then it asked me to restart the game no itll just keep crashing constantly, like itll sit my my taskbar itll try to open the screen with flash black a couple times close back down into my taskbar! UGH!
     
  8. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,511
    thats because your cat eyes arent DX11, duh
     
  9. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    lol@mussels, shut up , nah apaprently i just had to restart my whole computer now it works. instead of the game. lol
     
  10. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    wtf i just wanna play, but this game is like NOOOOO! if you use a ati card your gonna have to work to play it. FUCK! not its making my display driver stop responding....YA KNOW WHAT! lol
     
  11. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    WOW!!!!!!!!!!
    This is unreal!
    Visuals are stunning!
    Reminds me of STALKER!
    Even have stalkers in the game haha!

    I like!!!!!!!!!!

    I am running it on 1680x1050 on High settings.
    I do get FPS drops every now and then which is bothering me...
    Why can't you manually change them??
    I have NO AA on?? I can't move the slider????

    I thought my GPU would be enough for this on High!!
     
  12. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    808
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Do you guys think it will run max settings on my system at 1920x1080p?
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,651 (13.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,042
    I'm running two overclocked 5850's to achieve about 45fps (with new 10.3a drivers) I don't think a single 5870 will do it. Some features will have to be turned down.
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  14. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    808
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Ok no worries, I thought I wouldn't be able too. Have you noticed any improvements in those 10.3a drivers, just wondering cause I just bought the game on steam, about to install it, surprisingly its only a 4.2gig game, unless steam isn't showing the right amount:eek: oh biggy!
     
  15. dinjo_jo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    162 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Any Chances of me running the game at 1440X900 with C2D 2.4 ghz , 2GB DDR RAM , GTS 250 1GB DDR3
     
  16. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,207 (11.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,511
    running, yes. on max settings? not a chance.
     
  17. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    yeah ill second him on that im running 2 5850
    's overclockjed and im acheiving a little lower with the 10.2 cats about 42-47 with dx11 max all aa and very high settings
     
    Lionheart says thanks.
  18. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
     
  19. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    just took some pics
     

    Attached Files:

    shevanel says thanks.
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,175 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    there is many movies in youtube
     
  21. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,048 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    808
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    I have just had a 2hr play through and so far Im really enjoying it, I do get slow downs and weird jittering sometimes which is annoying but what can you do and I have not seen graphic detail like this before, it looks amazing(eat shit crysis) :toast:
     
  22. TVman

    TVman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    dude that was posted mad long ago:rolleyes:

    anyway i got the game the visuals are stunning in even medium settings but it runs like crap on my PC AND it is mad hard :( (have to wait for trainers)
     
  23. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    ah that sux man, yeah the game is a beast, its hella hard i keep trying to take over this camp where bourbon gets captures and keep getting wrecked lol
     
  24. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    DX10 put a bit more of a hit on my system, compared to DX9 - still maintaining above 45-50FPS on average. I had to lower AA from MSAAx4 to keep running at 1920x1200 and keep everything smooth (had very slight stuttering) . . . boo hoo :p

    The additional effects, though, of DX10 are nice - the volumetric smoke, for example, is quite heavy in this game. Pretty cool to fire your weapon, and watch the weapon smoke disperse from firing.

    I'll again state that I don't think this title is anywhere near as un-optimized as many thought it would be.



    I can give you a couple of pointers, if need be :p
     
  25. Easo

    Easo

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    824 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    78
    Location:
    Latvia
    Game is heavy graphical wise, but yes, IMHO Crysis HAS FALLEN as the best looking game...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page