1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Metro 2033

Discussion in 'Games' started by HookeyStreet, Mar 14, 2010.

  1. Marineborn

    Marineborn New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,144 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    has anyone have the weird score crosshairs graphical glitch, like the lines with like blink and dissapear and reaapear, there i no other glitches int he game but that ones extremly annoying when trying to snipe people
     
  2. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,662 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,011
    Location:
    US
    Thats the default \ backup one. The one you want is in C:\Users\Account Name\AppData\Local\4A Games\Metro 2033

    How ever if you look in the default one there is OTHER options maybe some can be combined with Very High settings.

    Another idea would to be to load the game up with low options copy the user.cfg file and then load the game up with very high settings and see if there is options you can use from the low settings that you could add tot he very High settings.

    As it's annoying as hell as i bet my system be perfectly ok if the shadows were a little lower.

    Don't know the only command close to it i have found is r_dbg_disable_occq 1 which don't seem to work or not at least by looking at the video options.
     
  3. pr0n Inspector

    pr0n Inspector

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,334 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Game is finished. Nice, but could be better. In my view, it has little replay value.
     
  4. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    By the time someone figures out how to set the graphics manually I will also be finished the game :p
    Problem with games like this is I never play them again!
    ALways knowing whaw is going to happen sucks!
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,885 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,173
    agreed. it also messes with me watching TV shows (mostly american stuff where it 'resets' after every episode) - and the opposite is true as well, you cant make something that relies on sudden twists and plot changes have any replay/re-watch value, since those tricks only work the first time (such as in the FEAR games)
     
  6. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,662 (4.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,011
    Location:
    US
    Yeah but with FEAR i ended up playing it though twice. As i played it carefully 1st time around as FEAR gave you that option to play it like your life the ment some thing were as most just ran though it were i did not till the second time around which i noticed different things happening though out that game with either way i played. And if your getting though a game that fast it should be on a hardest setting as a friend said to me once he was bored now hi finished a game i just told him he should play shit on hardest possible settings games last better that way:).

    This is why Bioware are so good at what they do. I have 3 games here waiting to be played ( Metro \ Bioshock and now AvP with steam having a sale :p.


    All because of Dragon Age and the options and second time though and still have the x pac to play though. And will play it on the hardest possible settings as thets the real way to play.
     
  7. raptori

    raptori

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    650 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Did anyone notice difference between using external sound card and onboard sound card in this game??
     
  8. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Yea FEAR was great!
    I enjoyed it!
    I took my sweet ass time with it!
    I remember a scene where you see a shadow of a person walking across a corner!!
    That got to me the most!! was brilliant!!!

    Metro is fantastic! But I will never play it again :p

    Only RPG games. Like Gothic 3 I played several times!
     
  9. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,260 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Hey how do I change gas masks or whatever I have to do when my mask gets cracked? Also can I tweak indivulal settings. I want some where between Very High and High. Very High is to much lag and High gives to much performance with crappy detail.
     
  10. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha

    Find a new mask on the ground (or a corpse), and hold the "use" button, like you would if you were picking up a new weapon or grabbing goodies.


    I've actually had to adjust where I aim (compared toa typical FPS) when it's time for a new mask - if you tend to aim for the head, you'll damage your opponents gasmask beyond use. Comes in handy, though, as when you're on the surface, one or two shots to the face tends to knonkc their gasmask off, and they suffocate rather quickly.
     
    AphexDreamer says thanks.
  11. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,260 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    Thanks now I just need to figure out how to tweak it.
     
  12. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    This game is currently downloading while I'm at work. Will taste it tonight and see how it runs on my 5850 Crossfire. I would imagine 1080p maxed will give me 30-40 FPS so I will set it at 900p which would prob give me ~40+FPS. I will take photos and videos on the days to come
     
  13. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    I opened a new thread but I will ask again here. Re quick my crossfire is running 10.3a and my Metro2033 is getting EXTREMELY hot 91c. I have everything stock. Any suggestions?
     
  14. TVman

    TVman New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    313 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    this game seems to be a port FROM the pc to xbox360 :laugh:
     
  15. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,107 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    874
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Is it just this game or any other ones. Are you using manual fan control and at what speed?:toast:
     
  16. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Just this game :-( all fans sre set to automatic. Is it becaus I have physix enabled? I am going to bed really tired do not want headache before I sleep

    Thanks for the help I will check back in he AM
     
  17. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,107 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    874
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Ok no worries, not sure about the advanced physics enabled, I have it enabled and i have no issues so far but I like to have my fan on manual, I rather control it myself, depending on the weather here, I ussualy have it on 40% speed most of the time depending on the game and weather.:toast:

    I'll see if i can dig up anything while your sleepin, night night lol:laugh::laugh::laugh:
     
  18. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    I just aquired the game.... and installed in on my puter niow, I played it for about 30 minutes but Iam in too much pain to day to do anymore, sucks.. I hate this, guys never take your health for granted. I hope to try to play it again in a few days
     
  19. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,345 (1.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    397
    Ouch, does this engine share any similarities to the one used in Cryostasis game?

    As soon as I hit the main menu, I had a feeling performance was going to be pretty low.
    The default video configuration is something like 1680 resolution, with high overall visuals, 1x AF and no MSAA, yet I was pulling low 20s with my 2d clocks on.

    I bumped it up to DX 10, 1920x1200, 4 AA, 16x AF, etc. and even at max 3d clocks, I'm peaking at best around 18-20fps.

    It feels so much like Cryostasis did on ATi cards; you have this game built around Physx, and even with the option off, it runs horrendous.

    I'm currently under Win7, going to try it on Vista with DX10, then the DX9 variants before switching the executable name.

    But boy does it sure tank hard.

    EDIT:

    DX10 seems to actually run a bit higher than DX9. I mainly gained back frames from using "High" which consequently means no AA as well. But gaining back forty+++ frames I suppose is worth it.


    Still hunting around for a cfg settings tweak, or maybe I'll just shelf this until I put in a DX11 card.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2010
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,885 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,173
    newconroer: crossfire may not work yet.

    try using this tool
     
  21. DTV DRAGON

    DTV DRAGON New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2008
    Messages:
    877 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    canada
    hey guys i was wondering how you tell how many fps you get when you play this game or others?Is there some sort of program you run in background?
     
  22. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,260 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    963
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    FRAPS http://www.fraps.com/
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,885 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,173
    FRAPS is my guess
     
  24. wolf2009 Guest

    come again ?

    you recorded with FRAPS or AVIVO ? or just encoded with Avivo ?
     
  25. alexsubri

    alexsubri

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Okay guys/gals, so here's my culprit...

    Last night around 3 AM (EST time, of course :)) I wanted to try this bad boy out. So, as I was ready to launch, stupid nVidia wouldn't let me play my game. (Physix.dll could not load blah blah blah) So, I did some quick research and found out how to fix this issue. IF ANYBODY HAS THIS ISSUE, LETME KNOW I WILL TELL YOU HOW TO FIX IT

    Okay, so I load the game up, maxed out everything at 1080p. I go to the first chapter. I noticed my graphics card was pushing itself alot because I hear a little jet engine inside my case. I went to close the program and little did I find out that the game was running at 91c. I was like WTF?!! So, I went to bed. The next morning after work, I gave it one more try, but I toook the advice to set my manual fans between 40-60%. I tried it again and played it for about an hour. Here and there you can hear the jet engine again, but I have some faith in my XFX and I know it could use a little beating :nutkick:

    Afterwards, I check the temp and it was around ~81c. I found out that setting my manual fans made it run a lot more smoother.

    I did notice however, that my game is getting kick ass FPS!!

    Idle scenes 90-110 FPS
    Battle scense 40-60 FPS

    No lie, I have enclosed a 2 second clip to show how amazing this game looks for those who are wondering.

    Without further ado, my last question is this:


    To those with Crossfire 5850 --Does this game make your card reach around 75-85c? Also, does it make your card push it's buttons?

    Thanks guys!!
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page