1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Metro: Last Light - Screenshots

Discussion in 'Games' started by natr0n, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I have not come across any armor and I am well past the chapter where you climb the tractor to get to the top of the building (that is the route I took anyway). Am I missing something?
     
  2. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    There are a few chances to buy armour, that is in the station taken over by communists (when you go into a cart in order to get to the frontline) and in Polis (in the room you have to wait in after your arrival). It is expensive though (at least in Polis, 100 Mil ammo. I don't know what the guys in "Armoury" ask) so I doubt it is worth it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I am on the hardest non-ranger difficulty, and it would certainly help from constantly getting one-shotted.

    Unfortunately I am past both of those points.
     
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    You will not reach Polis until after Black Station, so there is one more chance (although after Polis the armour won't do you much good because it is either a matter of explosive creatures or a matter of watching your step, while you will need the Mil. ammo in D-6 so rather save it). Oneshot kills of Artyom are well avoidable if you take it easy (even on Rangermode Hardcore). Use shotguns etc only in case hell breaks loose and get to the radio transmitter you mentioned via another way than the digging machine if you can't avoid being seen while climbing up. Good luck.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Wow these shots look amazing! I wonder what the "recommended" system requirements are for full HD glory!
     
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,014 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,567
    Unless you have a 690 or two 680/670 running in SLI you can't even run the FIRST Metro in "Full HD glory". Nevermind this bitch.
     
  7. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Without DOF and Tesselation the game becomes a lot more playable. If your setup plays other games at HD resolutions it will play Metro 2033 too (although without Tess/DOF most likely).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,014 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,567
    Thats not in full glory is it? FULL GLORY IS EVERYTHING TO THE MAX FACE MELTING WIN!
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  9. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    lol
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    my 7950 maxes this game out, minus AA, everything else on. Rarely drops below 40 FPS. LL will likely use the same graphics system, tweaked a little bit.
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,014 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,567
    7950 doesnt run it "Rarely drops below 40 FPS" with DOF and 4xAA.

    [​IMG]
     
  12. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    3870x2 has AA turned of, forced by the driver as far as I comprehend it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,014 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,567
    Thats not maxed out.

    Thats like saying my Pentium 2 with a IGP runs Metro 2033 maxed out if I have the computer off and I stair at the game box with 3D glasses on while tripping acid. THATS NOT MAXED OUT.

    If you turn anything off it doesnt count as maxed out.
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  14. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    "Maxed out" were not my words. :slap:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I take that back, it has AA but lacks DOF. Also, at a 40% overclock, my card would be closer to 40 on that chart.

    I value your opinion on what you consider to be maxed out. That being said, your opinion is incorrect.
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,014 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,567
    I know. He said a 7950 runs it maxed out if you turn settings off.

    Its not an opinion. Its a fact. You cannot run the game at its maximum setting and maintain a decent 40+ frame rate in HD. If you turn any settings to not maximum guess what......THE GAMES NOT MAXED OUT. Thats fact.
     
    yogurt_21 says thanks.
  17. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    When AA halves your frame rates for very little gain (at 1920 x 1200), I tend to leave it out of what I consider maxed out.

    I think it was DOF that was making my game crash.
     
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,014 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,567
    Screw it. I'm a World War 2 fighter pilot then. I mean I never flew a Spitfire but I watched one on TV once. So I "consider" myself a World War 2 fighter pilot by your standards.
     
    yogurt_21 and digibucc say thanks.
  19. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    How very cute.

    I guess since I am not running 2560x1440 on 3 monitors I am not maxed out. Or what about forcing 8x AA? I could probably go into the ini file and really max things out, meaning all other maxes are obsolete.

    I wonder if I can consider that my 7.1 surround is maxed out, but since you are running 5.1, you cant max out until you upgrade that.
     
  20. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,014 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,567

    1. 1920 x 1080 is HD. Anything above that is gravy. You cannot even do that.
    2. Setting it to 8xAA if it goes to that is Maxed out. Can't do that? Not maxed out. Driver forcing doesn't count as that wasn't intended by the game makers.
    3. Sound isn't graphics. We were talking graphics but yeah. If it goes to 7.1 and you are only running 5.1 you ain't maxed out.
    4. I never said I could run it maxed out. I said YOU couldn't. You said you COULD.

    FACT: The TPU member 3870x2 cannot run Metro 2033 MAXED OUT on a 7950 in HD and maintain 40+ FPS.

    And yes I am cute.
     
  21. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,207 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Oh stop it guys :laugh:

    I play it on normal settings, no AA and @ 1280x1024 and the game is fun.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    1. To me AA is gravy.
    2. Did the God of Maxing Out lay out this rule in his commandments?

    FACT: The TPU member TheMailMan78 is jealous of 3870x2 and his ability to max out games.
     
  23. mystikl New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2009
    Messages:
    100 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    What it will actually look like ingame:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,014 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,567
    No I am not. I'm a World War 2 fighter pilot.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  25. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    friggin awesome, cannot wait :)

    and reading over the last few posts - it seems pretty simple. no matter how little of an effect you think it has, if you turn any single setting down, you are not maxed.
    it's logically a very simple idea, i don't understand the confusion.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page