1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

microphone jack not working

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by kurosagi01, Nov 20, 2009.

  1. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    So i finally decide to buy a headset, and i plugged the headphone jack into the audio jack which works,but when it comes to microphone jack it don't work.
    it doesn't show that its a headset on windows 7 audio device, so i thought i'll try my case sound jacks..but i have 2 connectors on the case 1 is AC_97 and another is HD_Audio and i don't know which one i plug into i only have one F_audio connector on my motherboard,is that even the right socket to get my case audio jack to work?
    Someone help me please
     
  2. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    14 views and no-one can help me? :(
     
  3. Charper2013

    Charper2013 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,388 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Location:
    Macon, Georgia
    Use the one one the mobo?
     
  4. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    that don't work either i don't know why it detects it but there is no inputing sound showing on the bar thing saying it detect noises.
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,319 (6.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,834
    sorry to say the obvious, but try both ends. depending on my past mobos, sometimes both work but most times I used HD.

    also if you are using realtek you could try reassigning another jack to mic status and see if you can get it to work.
     
    kurosagi01 says thanks.
  6. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,836 (4.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,643
    did you right click on the audio icon and choose recording settings? maybe your mic is muted...
     
    kurosagi01 says thanks.
  7. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,876 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    690
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    I do not like windows audio configuration at all, it can be very confusing.

    Things I can think of:
    1. Make sure it isn't muted (not an insult) and the slider bar is all the way up.
    2. Make sure the mic is turned on on the headset (sometimes they have them)
    3. Try all audio jacks
    4. Try the windows "audio recorder" to test, therefore you can make sure atleast windows is getting audio.
    5. Try screaming into the mic upon recording. This may sound crazy, but it will let you know if it is just really, really low, in which case you should hit the "boost microphone gain" on the audio options.
    6. check mic on other device.
    7. Make sure, if for instance you have realtek drivers on your mobo, that the third-party Realtek sound manager is all set and ready to go.

    Also, when you do get this working, you have to go to your "audio input" and disable everything but "mic" otherwise your game music will go through the mic.

    Hope this helps!
     
    kurosagi01 says thanks.
  8. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    i got the microsoft drivers,i'm downloading the realtek drivers now and damn website is slow i'll see what happens from there.
     
  9. MK4512

    MK4512 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    222 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Plug in HD_AUDIO, AC_95 is older, just there for compatibility. Also, WIN7 dl's drivers automatically. Try uninstalling the realteck drivers and reboot. Windows should install for ya. On my windows 7 realteck driver DL doesnt work. (Yes I DL'd from my Mobo's site)
     
    kurosagi01 says thanks.
  10. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,275 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    472
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    okay i got it sorted now :) thanks guys
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page