1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Fixes Critical RDP Security Hole, Asks Users to Patch or Risk Attacks

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,198 (11.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,569
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Among its usual chunk of updates for Windows, Office, and other products covered by Microsoft Update, Redmond released a key security update for the Remote Desktop Protocol (2671387), and asked all users to apply it as soon as possible. It asked system administrators to give the patch "special priority," given the severity of the security hole. The security hole with RDP spans across all versions of Windows, across all machine architectures. The security hole allows hackers to gain access to RDP hosts and clients. Microsoft gives it 30 days before hackers can develop malware that can exploit the security hole. Find out more about the security hole, and its patch here.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Microsoft
  2. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,538 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Nice to know considering I use RDP every day
  3. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,425 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I'm not using it but then again i install latest updates as soon as they become available.
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,310 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,339
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Microsoft needs to figure out how to install updates without requiring a restart. I had to restart my server to install this and another updates. :(
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,817 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    664
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Well I don't use RDP, have it disabled, but to be safe I will still install this update.
  6. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    If you update code related to services then those services will need to be restarted to utilize the new code. Or apparently in this case to be secured. Don't really see any way around that, though I'm no software developer.
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,391 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    632
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Actually, that is the solution :)

    If Windows Update could automatically stop>update>start services, then many full system restarts wouldn't be necessary.

    I know some people who've done this manually to minimize downtime and/or have a remarkable up time.
  8. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    oh yeah, just ad a crazy morning,. having to restart 4 servers here, and when you do that you have the phone ringing non stop ... lots of fun

    we really need a restart less windows server... like the linux server.... this is driving me crazy considering that each windows server have like 6 vm runing on each ..... its a pain!
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Got it. Windows always updates for me automatically! And I also have this turned off. No need for it.
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,937 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,334
    I knew anything related to remote registry/desktop is a major threat. These services should only be used if youre behind a hardware firewall/proxy/intranet/ethernet.
  11. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Indeed, if it is possible with Linux then why not with Windows? Only if the kernel will get modified by the updates/new drivers, a restart should be necessary.

    Silly Windows...
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    558 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141

    That's why you restart them after hours, if at all possible. Last thing I want is the owner coming to me saying his email isn't working while I wait 30 minutes for our SBS 08 server to restart. :shadedshu


    As with others I don't understand why no restarting is required in Linux while it is required in Windows?
  13. ERazer

    ERazer New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    have to remote connect to our office server to patch RDP, irony :laugh:
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,649 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,830
    Yeah, I had to RDP into my servers to apply the patch as well.:roll:
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page