1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Offers Free Support for Vista SP1 Installs

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Mar 25, 2008.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    All Windows Vista users encountering problems when they upgrade to Service Pack 1 will be given free support, Microsoft informed today.
    Microsoft blogger Brandon Le Blanc said. There are three options available under the free support plan: e-mail support, which will be answered within one business day; online chat, which has a current waiting time of around 40 minutes; and call, available only for users who have a software-assurance agreement, professional contract, TechNet subscription, or MSDN subscription, or for those who come under the Microsoft Partner Program. The free support is available for all users till March 19, 2009. Please proceed here.

    Source: CNET News
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2008
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,978 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    .... and for non US users?

    "all vista users" my ass.

    edit: doesnt look like the email method asks for a location anyway.

    why yes, i need support installing SP1 onto... mac OSX...
    [​IMG]
  3. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    free? do we have to pay for support?
  4. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I'll change the text, because as you said it does not ask for location anyways? Strange it was written for US members only in the source of the news.
  5. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    I take it they won't be denying the people who installed the standalone version after they didn't find it under Windows Update?
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,978 (11.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,389
    nah they dont ask how you installed it anyway, SP1 is SP1 regardless of where it came from.
    Hell, you could ask them why its not under windows update - thats an install problem.
  7. GJSNeptune

    GJSNeptune New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,571 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    Ohio
    It isn't supposed to show up if it detects issues, like a bad device driver or something, and it won't show up until it thinks issues have been resolved. Many people who are having problems installed the standalone version because the update didn't show up under Windows Update.

    The standalone is over 400MB, whereas the update (I've read) was like 60MB.
  8. Water Drop New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Messages:
    176 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Not far from NYC
    Haven't had a problem with SP1 at all in Vista Ultimate x64. Been using SP1 since before it's "official release" and you would be crazy not to upgrade to SP1 if you have Vista. Everyday performance is improved and stability/reliability is pretty much at 100% now.
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Well that is nice of them. Of course, Im waiting for SP3 for Xp 64 bit myself.
  10. Triprift

    Triprift

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,185 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    Location:
    Adelaide Australia
    So are us Aussies gonna get free support? Sounds like from readin a few post we aint bah.
  11. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I've had no problems with Vista SP1 which I loaded as standalone, but then I am usually using my system for graphic work or coding.

    I don't really care about transfer time to other devices as I just start it up and go get a beer. When you still remember 300 baud modems, well ... :roll:
  12. ShadowXP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    126 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Larvik, Norway
    Regardless if Lil'Squishy gives free support for Non-US people or not, getting help for installation-problems is NOT hard. There's many here at Techpowerup that has solved problems like this (some of us even work with doing that kind of stuff for a living), and there's a lot of help to be found in something as simple as Google :toast:

    Of course, this doesn't make trouble any less aggrevating :banghead:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page