1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Releases Internet Explorer 10 Consumer Preview for Windows 7

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 15, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,410 (11.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,615
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Microsoft released Internet Explorer 10 Consumer Preview for Windows 7, the only other operating system to support it, apart from Windows 8 and Windows RT, with which it made its stable debut last month, earning Mozilla's cake. Posted as "Pre-Release," the browser provides most functionality as its Windows 8 stable version. Most of its performance enhancements, including the ability to flip through pages in articles by swiping across a touchscreen, are available.

    [​IMG]

    DOWNLOAD: Internet Explorer 10 Consumer Preview for Windows 7
    95Viper says thanks.
  2. hhumas

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    551 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Islamabad
    downloading ...............
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,511 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,158
    Wait, wasn't the story some time ago that IE 10 would not be released for Windows 7? Good to see that wasn't true. :)
  4. dieterd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    120 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I think that I am typical IE user - I dont know if I have 8. or 9. right now and actually dont give a F about it. and ofcourse I could not even care about 10. - only thing I understand from this post is "cake" :D, so why do they even bother to make this in news? cuz users do not undarstand, but haters could not understand
  5. semantics

    semantics

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    107 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    native spellcheck for once? cool, one of the things i prefer in the browser is that i don't need to use any plug-ins to use it how i like.
  6. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    IE10 is better then IE9 and 9 was pretty decent. I still prefer chrome because of its better multi-threading.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,203 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    yeah i remember that too... someone at Ms might have a moment of clarity.
  8. tacosRcool

    tacosRcool

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    860 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    I thought it wouldn't come to windows 7
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    whats the honest benefit of having a webbowser use unnecessary resources?
  10. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    Those resources being used are no longer lonely.
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    Touche:toast::laugh:
  12. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    Don't quiet see how its unnecessary...having each browser tab run as its own process improves performance. Besides you talk about resources like we're still back in the DDR1 days. Today machines come with 6-8gb of DDR3 standard, quad core or better CPUs. Resources shouldn't be an issue.
    1c3d0g says thanks.
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    Oh gee i didnt know that:rolleyes:


    Yes I know but for such a low level task such as a web browser why use it.

    (Btw I built an AMD PHII X2 unlocked to X4 with 8 GB GSkill system last year for my brother)
  14. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA

    Better question is...why not.....you got all that HP...use it...:rockout:
  15. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    What if your browser is the LEAST important thing you are required to have open but interferes with other processes because of its volume? Use all that horsepower... cut me the break
  16. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    If a browser interferes with something else on your machine...your doing something wrong LOL
  17. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    So it's my fault chrome will continue to consume resources and build cache on an idle but dynamic page? That's -MY- fault when other browsers do not have that issue?

    ::EDIT:: Explain why a browser should not be as low impact on your system as possible, or for that matter why ANY program should be written without regard to efficiency?
    eidairaman1 and 95Viper say thanks.
  18. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    I dont have that issue, try running the latest dev version. I have IE10, Chrome 25 and firefox 16 all installed on my machine. IE for sites that dont like chrome, firefox for logmein, and chrome for everything else. I have the system in my sig and a A8 with 8gb of ram at work, and i'm building an FX-8350 based system with 16gb of ram......resources should not be an issue. We can go back and forth all night........if your not going to use your machine to its fullest extent why did you even build it? You might as well be running a PC that only meets the bare mini for whatever OS you choose to run.
  19. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,336 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,559
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Darn, my IE10 did not render a web page correctly... all Binge's fault, again.:D

    So far, I am sorta impressed with IE10. Seems to be as quick as the others.
    Still messing with it off and on, as Opera is my main browser at this time.

    Hard to change when you get use to something.
    Binge says thanks.
  20. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Ok... so for 4 hours a night I do the following.

    720P windowed mode gaming, recording, encoding, and streaming of that game.
    Browser window opened to view stream (checking to make sure it works).
    Browser window dedicated to chats.
    Browser window opened for channel admin management.
    Tab open to manage a hangout for moderators to chat during the live-stream.

    If I could have the same functionality out of my browsers with half the resources I could have a larger memory buffer for encoding.

    Seems like I actually using my system and I am actively concerned with my resources.
  21. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Because having each browser tab running in a separate process means that if one of the tab processes goes rogue it can be terminated without affecting any other processes running. It is much more secure.

    IE has some problems, but running the tabs as separate processes is not one of them.
  22. matar

    matar

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2011
    Messages:
    63 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    IE9 FTW and now it's IE10 FTW I never use any thing but IE. This is good news and soon we will get DX11.1 on windows 7 :)
  23. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I installed IE10 at work on my Win7 machine. Seems fine.
    I have auto-updates set here on my home system and I got IE10 automatically with Win8 (I guess).
    Wasn't even aware it did that. Browser works fine for me.
  24. Konceptz

    Konceptz

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Richmond,VA
    What CPU and ram? What's your storage system like? Raid?
  25. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    i5 3570 @ 4.8GHz and 8GB of DDR3 1866 (9.9.9.24.T1)

    ...Really? I'm not writing ANYTHING a single HDD couldn't handle in the situation listed above. It's all live encoding and streaming.

    Again, why would I want the LEAST important but necessary part of my routine to consume many resources?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page