1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Responds About Windows Vista Sp1

Discussion in 'News' started by HellasVagabond, Jul 19, 2007.

  1. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Microsoft today made an official announcement regarding the upcoming Windows Vista Sp1. Main reason was a typo mistake in a email send out by the Windows Driver Kit team who stated that their beta software version would be released the same time as the Windows Vista Sp1 Beta.

    Source: NetworkWorld
     
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2007
  2. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    bah ...
     
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I am not sure why a service pack for Vista is even news. Everyone who has ever used a MS product knows there will be service packs and updates.

    I am happy with Vista. Works fine on my system.
     
  4. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    Well an Service pack aint news...The WHEN its gonna get released is :)
     
  5. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I suppose you right. I guess that I am so used to working around any bugs that affect what I do that I take it all for granted.

    The interesting thing is that other than disabling the goofy UAC and driver sign checks in Vista, I have not had to work around anything. It never crashes on me and the installation was easier than XP ever was for me (and as an IT person I have loaded XP a jillion times on machines). I did not have to use seperate disk to install RAID (F6 thingie) which amazed me. Networking has been painless and even my new NAS was a breeze to install and Vista has no problems with it.

    Just my observations....
     
  6. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    More device coverage....

    isn't vista bloated enough without the drivers?

    My father had this idea, m$ checks/detects your hardware, goes on its site, and downloads them for you!

    That way, you have the drivers you need and not the 2gb of drivers your never gonna use!
     
  7. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    But how would you be able to connect to the internet to download the needed drivers if you don't have generic drivers for your NIC card in the first place? Or generic display drivers for your video card and monitor so you can see what your downloading... :p

    The list goes on and on... Unfortunately, with the variety of system configurations in the PC market, MS has to aim for the lowest common denominator set of drivers, hence the 2+ GBs of unneeded drivers after installation :(
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    95 > 98> 98SE>ME>2000>XP>Vista

    Looks like windows 95 is the best because it's less bloated and uses way less memory than the other windows out there.
     
  9. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    I know your system doesn't NEED to have drivers, and I think you can run your moniter @ 640x480 while it downloads them for you.

    Perhaps the only drivers it has are for networking.

    My father sez that in the win95 era, cds & floppies came w/ every device, even mouse! & you would install drivers from that instead of using M$'s, perhaps if we don't want ANY drivers we can go that route, or setup/install windows, put in the networking/motherboard CD in, and you will have your networking drivers and then you download the drivers off of M$s site, this STILL saving you 2 gb.

    I'm going to M$ about this idea.

    The problem w/ 95 @ the time, little usb support.

    Now ATi drivers have more code than 95 did! (appx 40 mb)
     
  10. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    I disagree with that! 98SE is way better than ME :)

    Oh, and just try using your two gigs in Windows 95 and see what happens. I know my motherboard's manual clearly states that it cannot be used in Windows 9x (weird, huh?).

    And RussianBoy, the reason Microsoft does the many drivers deal is that it is very easy on the end users. Not all PC owners have the knowledge or patience for that. Besides, I think the end goal is better Plug and Play. As opposed to getting that damn "Windows has found new Hardware" screen wha-tu-do?.
     
  11. HellasVagabond New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    162
    Location:
    Athens , GREECE
    True but in windows 95 we didnt have support for graphics or audio like we do in xp and vista....Not to mention that windows 95 were filled with security holes.
     
  12. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Well I like my idea

    I'm feeling constructive.
     
  13. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    When I'm at work and I install soomething and windows say's found hardware...installing hardware...hardware ready to use. It makes me a little happy inside because I didn't have to do a damn thing.

    And who cares if windows vista is 10-20 gigs? You can get a 500 gig hard drive for 100 USD 500 GIGS!!!!!!!
     
  14. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    When in doubt, VLite is the answer!!!
     
  15. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,764 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,137
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    It sure sounds like a good idea, but I just gave you two examples... what about RAID controller drivers, SATA drivers, USB Mouse and Keyboard drivers? CD/DVD drivers? Chipset drivers... ad nauseam....

    Would you like to have to install drivers from different disks every time you install windows? That'll take 30 mins, and that's even without starting the OS installation :p

    And what if you lost your keyboard driver disc, or your motherboard driver disc? Having to keep track of disks for each piece of hardware would be a pain in the ass :D

    I prefer having to waste 2 GBs, as DaMulta said, with bigger HDDs getting cheaper by the hour, what's a meager 2 GBs to save you so much hassle? :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. russianboy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,800 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Perhaps it has drivers for the devices you listed.
    Surly you have your motherboard drivers! That should cover the networking, etc.
     
  17. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    RB, your idea has merit but there is also the issue that not everyone has broadband. I would not care to DL Ati CCC from my home connection (40MB would take me hours and then would probably fail), and that is only one driver.

    Also, you do need drivers. For Windows to even install it need to load a subset of generic drivers so it can use the peripherals it needs to install itself.

    If Windows installed a generic set and then I had to find a BB connection to DL the latest drivers and make a CD (or whatever) to take home before I could even really use the computer, it would be rather irritating.

    I too agree that 2GB of drivers is no big deal, and is worth it for the convenience.
     
  18. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Its all about the money. ::nods::



    I was hoping for a service pack release this year. Ive yet to partition my hdd off and make a spot for vista. Id imagine 15 to 20gb partition should be enough though.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page