1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Security Essentials 2.0 Released

Discussion in 'General Software' started by theonedub, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    Mussels, KieX, trickson and 2 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,781 (3.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,238
    How is everyone liking this?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,131 (3.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,658
    I don't think the option was there before, but you can now limit how much CPU resources are used when you run a scan. Finally MSE will not be screwing up my Folding Clients! :D
    Frick says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    I used to use that, but since it wants me to install the wga tool, I skipped it, because i always have had problems with wga!
    I already had to email MS & purchase 2 new XP Proff. COA's!
    Booooooooo microsoft!!! :shadedshu
  5. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Gonna try it on main rig and maybe old download rig. Got AVG 9.0 full until 2018 but maybe its too much for only surfing the web and playing onlinee games on my main rig. BTW if i have the 9.0 version with the correct key of avg can i use it by downloading the 10 or im stuck with the key usable with 9.0 only ??
  6. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    I can recommend you Avira Personal!
    Lite and EXTREAMLY FAST!!!
    Even on my yersterday System!
    It offers autorun block and checks websites in the background while surfing!
    The detection rate of new and unknown malware is extreamly high!
    It even offers antospyware!
    MohawkAngel says thanks.
  7. MohawkAngel

    MohawkAngel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,864 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Ok i will try !
  8. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,522 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    This makes no sense at all. You can have WGA troubles, but there are ways to fix that, or crack it. If your license indeed was invalid you should get a new key, if you can provide MS with "proof of purchase" ie reciets, boxes, discs etc.. If you can prove that you bought the product you should not have to buy it again because WGA failed.

    Ohh, will try this out when I get home. :D
  9. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,660 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,768
    Location:
    Chicago
    I prefer MSE because no one knows Windows (and thus how to develop good software for it) better than MS themselves.
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,344 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,564
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Thanks, theonedub.:toast:

    I use MSE on the netbook and think it is very decent and, of course, free.:)

    You know, I have never had any problem (knocking on wood) with windows wga.
    There was one time when I first started to register and activate a copy of XP and, the key did not work.. just called the 800 number, went through the prompts, talked to a rep and he gave me a new code right there. Nice of him, too, because the key I had was OEM from HP(He, even, knew it; but, gave it to me any way.)

    Any way, thanks again, theonedub.:)
    theonedub says thanks.
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    This is a MUST have if you are running windows 7 . I love it . Been keeping me safe for some time now . Better than all them bloated AV crap out there .
  12. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    Well we all know, that the best antiVirus is brain.exe !!!
    Its free for download, but I wonder, how manny of u will ever finde it! :rolleyes:
  13. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    No need to BUY AV it is free with MS . I'm a PC and Windows 7 was MY IDEA !
    No matter what any one tells you AVG was and is also " Free " but you really have to PAY for it to get the security you want . MS just puts it in there FOR FREE no buying up yearly copies or BLOATED software taking up your time and resources ! NO I love the Microsoft Security Essentials .
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  14. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Seems like you didnt found it. :rolleyes:
    MAYBEE ill tell u 1 day.
  15. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    You still don't get it . :confused:
    No REASON Microsoft Security Essentials DOES IT ALL . Why do I need to install some third party software when I have the REAL DEAL coming from the OS maker ?
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2010
  16. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    U really dont get it, do u!? :roll: :roll: :roll:
    Funny! :roll:
    Maybe u should just goole it!
    BRAIN.EXE

    trust me, it took me days to find out! :D
  17. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    NO YOU don't get it this thread is about MSSE NOT OTHER AV third party crap .
    I use Microsoft Security Essentials and love it THIS is what the OP was asking about not about BRAIN.EXE !
    NO I will not go there I will not use it so get over it . MAN ! :shadedshu
  18. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,078 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    have mse, never had any performance problems with it. And have yet to have any security problems since i got it... Microsoft FTW
    MxPhenom 216 and trickson say thanks.
  19. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
    hahahahahahahahha!
    Alright, ill tell u:

    BRAIN.EXE stands for your own brain! :rolleyes:
    If you know, how to surf on the web and dont download anny porn or torrents, I promise u, u will be alot safer! ;)
    No AV needed anymore!
    Jusst install all updates and use BRAIN.EXE the right way and ull be safe! :)
    I did not wanted to be mean! :toast:
  20. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,078 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    757
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    But i like my pr0n and torrents.. so MSE keeps me safe... and unnoficially its the best AV ive used when it comes to false positives for torrents..


    O and brain.exe is actually a real program
    And you can surf correctly and still get a virus.. Scripts can be hidden in a website without the webmasters knowing and get on ur computer.. its happened to quite a few reputable sites.
    hoax32 says thanks.
  21. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX
    Im just expressing it this way, because thats, how I was told! :laugh:
    I usually hate to hear people talk this way, but I think it was kinda funny!
    OK nxt time! ;)
    ShiBDiB says thanks.
  22. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah well not as funny as you thought :shadedshu
    The main thing is MSSE is a great built in tool I do not have to pay for and helps keep me safe when I surf the net . I no longer have the need for AVG or Norton's or all that BS Bloated internet safety software to slow me down . And I have no need to guess if this or that is safe or not . With my brain.exe I click on scan now !
  23. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    TX

    Well my oncle works for Avira AV Labs GMBh germany and yeah, I learned some stuff from him!
    For example the Dropper Troajn on the top: I found it by analysing the task manager.
    I mean common: what is windows.exe doing in the task manager!
    But I suck in hardware / OC, thats why I need help almost everyday from u guys!
    I really did not meanth to be mean! :toast:
    And trust me, Im still a HS-Student and im probably 100000 times more stupid than everybody in here!!! :eek:
  24. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,233 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,152
    I choose MSE/Avast on PC that I build.


    The last infection that I got? I purposely infected my PC with a real baddy to see what happens.

    Then i just went in and manually deleted it from command prompt only when I was done playing with it.

    I encourage people to continue using MSE/Avast/AVG. While they remain relatively safe as a program made by people with a better brain than yours will be keeping them and their information safe. You however will one day find that someone has all your information as your lack of antivirus will allow keyloggers, rootkits, exploits that are at operating system level will leave you vulnerable.

    Now stop hijacking this thread, another post and I believe everyone should report you for the troll you are.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,522 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    It does that because your hardware ID changed, and the key is tied to that ID. If those are OEM licenses you can only have it on one set of ID's, if it's retail (or upgrade, both are Full Packages Product or FPP) it's not. If you cannot activate it, and you have the FPP license, you choose activate by phone, let the messege run a couple of times and then talk to a person who will solve it for you, or direct your call to someone who can.

    Or you bought OEM licenses and then they are indeed illegal once you change your motherboard.

    Wise man.
    hoax32 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page