1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Tech Net Subscribers Club

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by DanishDevil, Jul 27, 2009.

  1. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    All promo codes I get are from www.retailmenot.com and they are usually only good for the middle tier sub, not the cheapest one (which is the one you want unless you're doing server-grade stuff).
    garyinhere says thanks.
  2. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,601 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    hmm maybe that's the problem? Jst looking to get the basic thanks
  3. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,203 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,090
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Yep, I have never seen a code for the basic. I don't think we ever will.

    Once users like us caught on to TechNet, MS changed it quite a bit as far as sub types. If you want the basic (most of us here) there are no coupon codes.

    Updated OP to reflect this to avoid future confusion. And sorry for the absence in the thread lately!
  4. maxpower New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Here is the latest news on discount codes for TECHNET

    I have been in contact with tech support over at technet to see what the deal is with any more discount codes.

    As most of you know, ALL CODES ARE NOW EXTINCT!!!

    Every single code has been deactivated. They even shut down all the super secret backchannel codes. Nothing. Nada. Zip.

    Today I received an email from them, and the gist of it goes like this:

    NO!!!

    They are going to concentrate their codes to specific voucher programs for technet events in order to truly target IT pro's, and just let everyone else pay full price. For now, the prices stand where they are, however they are likely to increase in the next quarter in order to help drive people to the technet events to get discount vouchers.

    The good news is that they intend to find ways to get more smaller events off the ground in more places. The bad news is that you would have to actually go to one of these things. Ewww....

    If anything changes on the code front I will up date it here.
    Frick, Mussels, Paulieg and 2 others say thanks.
  5. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    thanks Maxpower ,They say how much it will increase?Good thing i got mine for $224 Cad This morning.They also say if the price hike will be for renewal too?

    ps may i get added,just got the standard.The way see why should i spend $379 retail (full) for Win7 when i can spend $224 and get all the stuff Micro has.:toast:
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,522 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    I wonder if they have those events in sweden at all. And if they do, I have about 1.000km (about 620 miles) to the place they're bound to have it (Stockholm). Sigh. :(
  7. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    For those with active TechNet subs (mine's expired) Microsoft have now released Windows 7 SP1 on TechNet!

    Even better, the new ISOs with SP1 integrated are available too.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  8. Mindweaver

    Mindweaver Moderato®™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,168 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,658
    Location:
    Statesville, NC
    You can get Windows Server 2008 sp1 and windows 7 sp1 straight from MS here
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,286 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    443
    BTW, is IE9 final included? thanks
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,158 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,479
    its not even final yet, so no.

    the latest version is RC1 which my windows update just updated me to today. I do not believe SP1 would include beta or RC versions of IE, so its going to have IE8 as default still.
    erixx says thanks.
  11. Arctucas

    Arctucas

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,765 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    290
    Downloading the .isos from Technet now, 3.09 GB each, getting ~75KB/s, it is going to take awhile.

    Anyway, has anyone heard anything about the stand-alone SP1?
  12. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    It is also on Technet
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,510
    How long does a subscription last?
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    One year.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,610 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001


    Um. No.

    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011
    H82LUZ73 and garyinhere say thanks.
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,510
    So what if you install an OS then neglect to renew?
  17. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,522 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    I asked before and it's totally cool. You're limited to a number of licenses, I don't remember from the top of my head but you can read it on the page on the comparasion thingy.
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,936 (7.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,510
    Ok so what if you have to reinstall after? Is the number no longer good?
  19. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,522 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    No idea, but I just thought about something. Are they MSDN licenses? What does the second group of the Product ID's look like? Anyone have a technet install ready and can look at it maybe?
  20. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    Whatever keys you get while your subscription is active you keep, so it will work as long you don't exceed the number of install using the same key.
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (3.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,480
    The licence keys are yours to keep and use forever. On top of that, every key can legitimately be activated on 10 PCs over the internet. I had 10 keys per product, so that's 100 totally legit installs!

    All that subscription expiry does is remove things like personal support and access to the download of the ISOs. Also, you don't get any keys for new products that come out, of course.

    This is why you should claim every key for every product before the sub expires. Note that you can continue to log into your TechNet account once it has expired and download a web page with all the claimed keys.

    Basically, that initial purchase of a TechNet sub is such good value, that it's a no brainer. I'm running Windows Server 2008 R2 Datacentre for example and that costs thousands. I can run multiple copies too, all with the same key and all legitimately.
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2011
  22. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    I tried using a key over. It would state that the key is all ready in use and I would need to place another one.. I've had the same subscription for the past two years. About to renew for a third.
  23. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,642 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,124
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    10 use limit per key? MS might have changed the number of times you can use a key but I'm guessing you just hit this wall.
  24. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Don't know. I've only used the key once on my pc. Tried it on the HTPC and no go.
  25. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,610 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
    Let me make one thing clear here. This is a Microsoft Tech Net Clubhouse, this is not a place to share links, torrents, etc. on how to obtain Microsoft products. Keep things on topic.
    stinger608 and garyinhere say thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page