1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Virtual PC 2007

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Feb 20, 2007.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    For those who run multiple operating systems, Microsoft has released its latest version of Virtual PC, which allows users to quickly switch from one OS to another by simply clicking the mouse. Although Microsoft once charged for this software, it is now free to everyone, although it doesn’t work on home versions of Windows (ie. not XP Home or Vista Home Basic/Premium). It is capable of running a number of different operating systems, although some Linux distributions can be complicated to setup. It works with both 32-bit and 64-bit operating systems and can be downloaded here.

    Source: DailyTech
  2. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    i have heard of this but never used it, what makes this better than just using a partitioning tool to create a new partiton and installing another os ? any benefits/difference?
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    umkay.
  4. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    sweet! i do enjoy 2k4...thanks for the update

    you can run two or more os at the same time! no need to reboot and all...plus the drivers are generic, so no need to install all those devices.
  5. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I'll probably give it a try myself once I've freed up some space. I never got the chance to use it on XP because I had home, but now I've got Vista Ultimate I can actually use it :)
  6. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    @ Jimmy,

    Isn't another important point that the CPU needs to support Virtualization? (And the budget core processors DO NOT support virtualization)

    EDIT

    Dynamic recompilation needed on CPUs that dont support Virtualisation: very much slower, and some wrinkles
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_virtual_machines
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2007
  7. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Virtualization support on the CPU isn't required, in fact it doesn't run that well. (so I've read)

    I tried the Virtual PC 2007 Beta though I must say I prefer VMWare, even though Virtual PC has a nice clean interface. The beta lacked LAN boot for example.
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Interesting Comparison Chart!

    See my subject-line/title of this post above, & thanks for that "CB"...

    :)

    * I love stuff like that - good data always helps!

    APK
  9. beyond_amusia

    beyond_amusia New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,140 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Wow, I thought MS killed Virtual PC, hence it being free. Well, I'm glad they updated it and that it got posted on here. Otherwise I'd prolly never found out abt it. lol.
  10. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    I found 1 thing that interested me from the above Wikipedia URL supplied by folks here, comparing the features in various Virtualization Programs & this stuck out @ me like a sore thumb:

    * It seems that Virtual PC 2007 no longer runs for DOS, where Virtual PC 2004, does.

    (Something to keep in mind here, if you have to deal w/ DOS still, & it's NOT DEAD yet... it still lives on in various industrial applications)

    APK
  11. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I think ther is unoffficial support for DOS acording to DailyTech.
  12. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    I use Dos box to play all my ye olde games (which btw, totally rock, wizzy fizzy graphics aint everything :) )
  13. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Excellent: Thanks Jim, for that 'tidbit'...

    I just used the Wikipedia article table noted above, & during a 'quick scan' of it, I noted that difference between Virtual PC 2004, vs. 2007's model.

    * Good thing is: BOTH versions are FREE!

    :)

    (Free is GOOD, most times, imo @ least)

    APK

    P.S.=> I'm going to have to find out from this DailyTech link exactly where this DOS support can be found... because you never KNOW when DOS is going to "pop-up", even nowadays. It's STILL not 'completely dead' & the funny part about THAT is, I have the first issue of a mag called "PC Computing" & it's from like 1988 or so, & has an article that says "Is DOS Dead?" w/ a picture of an android like being sinking into lava... so much for that! apk
  14. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    If you are on XP 32-bit (possibly also on Vista 32-bit?), then it is possible to use either VPC 2004 or 2007 if you made a copy of one before installing the other (most likely a copy of 2004 before installing 2007). However, you can only run one of them at a time, which means you need to choose which you want to use before starting up any virtual machines.
  15. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Excellent, another good point, & one I wasn't aware of... cool!

    :)

    * E-Z 'work around' for lack of native oem MS support for DOS in the 2007 version (if you can't find help for that otherwise from others/3rd parties), by simply running 2004 instead!

    APK
  16. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I haven't tried it myself, but it may be possible to even use VPC 2004 on any Windows that has any version of VPC 2007 installed on it as long as you actually have the files from an installation of VPC 2004, considering that the VPC 2007 program itself is still 32-bit even when running the "64-bit" version (only the drivers are different between the 32-bit and 64-bit edition).
  17. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
    Is this idea Bonkers? Run Virtual 2004 from within Virtual 2007? Is this possible? IN THEORY, it should be right? Just horribly slow.
  18. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    I wonder what would happen running a virtual pc in a virtual pc???

    edit...

    lol, bonkers, we both are thinking the same thing.
  19. ShadowFlare New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Virtual PC/Server cannot be run within Virtual PC/Server -- it will not allow it; I have already tried. lol However, it is possible to install the management web site for Virtual Server within a virtual machine if you want to and it will even let you install (but not run) the actual Virtual Server service.

    In the comments in the above posts, I was only referring to running Virtual PC 2004 when 2007 is installed on the system. A copy of the "Microsoft Virtual PC" folder from an installation of VPC2004 is needed to be able to do this.
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2007

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page