1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Windows 7 RC Available for Download

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 5, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    The wait is over, Microsoft has published the official download page for Windows 7 Release Candidate (RC), that's not some pirated torrent link. Offered now directly from Microsoft are five different language versions (English, German, Japanese, French, and Spanish) of both the 32-bit and 64-bit versions of Windows 7 RC. Minimum system specs to run Windows 7 include:
    • 1 GHz or faster 32-bit (x86) or 64-bit (x64) processor
    • 1 GB RAM (32-bit) / 2 GB RAM (64-bit)
    • 16 GB available disk space (32-bit) / 20 GB (64-bit)
    • DirectX 9 graphics processor with WDDM 1.0 or higher driver
    Don't waste more time, and go directly to the Windows 7 RC download page.

    Source: Microsoft
     
    1c3d0g, Kei, WarEagleAU and 7 others say thanks.
  2. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    When's Traditional chinese gonna get supported?
     
  3. nafets New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2008
    Messages:
    611 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Awesome, heading over to download and burn now!

    Edit: It's a bit slow going, even with it being early morning here (East Coast USA). Servers must be getting slammed. :/

    Edit again: Ugh, I can't even get through. I get the following;

    [​IMG]

    I'll try again later...
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2009
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,553 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,827
    i'll be installing this on my main PC a little later (spare HDD)... just gotta burn in the new xeon first :)
     
  5. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    You got a new Xeon!?!
    God I want one! Xeons are awesome! especially the new Gainestown versions:)
     
  6. ChaoticAtmosphere

    ChaoticAtmosphere

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,215 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,606
    Location:
    Look up. Look way up.
    Oh gosh...I got the DL then tried again....it is sooooooobusy!!!! Glad I was on the porch!! :rockout:
     
  7. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,043 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    omfg mussels tell me how the Xeon does against your Q6600 @3.5ghz. I might get one instead of a q9550 to save some cash.

    And what does the RC mean? Is this a full version of Windows 7? Completely FREE OS? NVM SORRY I JUST READ THE PAGE. I'm going to have to pass on this :( I've reinstalled vista ultimate over 3 times troubleshooting this month.
     
  8. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    Release Candidate=RC:)
     
    random says thanks.
  9. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Hehehe I downloaded this just now. A blazing fast 1.6 MBps. If its giving you server errors, retry it. Don't be afraid to hit the back button. It gave me issue at first but it was screaming fast once it started.
     
  10. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Now, I have a 1.6 Duel Core, 2gb of ram, and a Intel 950 Graphics on my laptop. I know my CPU is capable of 64-bit, and I am wondering if it would be worth putting it on my laptop. Now my desktop rig, no question will it be x64. I was just wondering if in end, go with 64 or 32.

    I feel like Vista 32 is not as stable as 64, and wondering if on my laptop, I will really see a performance downturn should I install the 64 on it. Any thoughts?
     
  11. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,046 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    425
    i got this last week not worth it for me no changes were made
     
  12. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    @Atnevon, what on earth are you quibbling about?

    Get the x64 version if you have 4gb and your hardware supports it, simple no?

    And don't bother talking about stability. None of the main stream opperating systems are unstable! If you left them with a fresh install doing nothing, that's exactly what they will do, stable! It's what YOU put on them that make them unstable...
     
    Scrizz and Kei say thanks.
  13. Black Hades

    Black Hades

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    300 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Ambugaton
    You mentioned it's not the same as the leaked version. Is it the same as build 7100 available on torrent? I installed yesterday in the hope it's RC (and it did say RC when I installed) and am not in the mood to do it allover again. Thanks
     
  14. Live OR Die

    Live OR Die

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    4,046 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    425
    both build the leaked one and the pubilc are the same look both are build 7100

    PUBLIC RC MD5
    [​IMG]

    BOTH LEAKED RC x64,x86
    [​IMG]
     
    Black Hades says thanks.
  15. Atnevon

    Atnevon

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2007
    Messages:
    443 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Well I would not be that way about it.

    There more to it though. I've read many times that if the CPU is 64 capable, at times, many programs and tasks can be run faster, but more efficently.

    Also, Security. From what I have seen, at my exposure to my readings and findings, that a 64 system is much more secure than a 32.

    Now, yes going beyond 4gb is nice. Its what my desktop runs, and that nice 24x36 PSD file at 200dpi used a nice 1.4gb alone. I understand that 64 systems can address what a PAE on a 32 system cannot.

    For example: what makes my system unstable by your definition: Steam, Maya 2008 (and 8.5 a times) CS3 Master, MudBox, ect...

    I just hear that 64 systems, though in some aspects may not be faster, may be more effiecient.
     
  16. Black Hades

    Black Hades

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    300 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Ambugaton
    You know as a thought...
    I wouldnt be surprised if Microsoft leaked build7100 on pourpose or meaningly allowing this to occur, with the intent in cutting server bandwith (though I am aware that it's a minor expense for them).

    Also purpousely leaking various builds is a good marketing strategy for them given the quallity of these releases; The more that people talk about it the more it's branded into the consumer's mind.
     
  17. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Steam has never effected my systems' stability since it's launch.
    Of course, settings of the page file is also important. Too small and your system will begin swapping backwards and forwards more often.

    Hope you try the opening that photoshop file on your laptop :p might be a while waiting on it. :)

    64bit doesn't make any progress in efficency terms over 32bit, that's down to the individuals coding the software. It simply means they can address more ram without having to store what is already been accessed. i.e think of a messy small room, now change that room to a bigger one, more space to organise so it seems less messy (but still messy).
     
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Why the hell don't Mickeysoft use bittorrent to distribute it?! It would eliminate this problem and download speeds would go like a rocket.
     
    mdm-adph says thanks.
  19. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Grabbing it now :D

    [​IMG]
     
  20. crtecha

    crtecha New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,407 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    ipsay meechigan
    I installed this yesterday on my work PC and ill probably wipe and reload my main rig tonight. Hopefully I can keep this install for more than a week..
     
  21. Weer New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,417 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    New York / Israel
    I've got Windows 7 beta 7077.

    Does this finally fix the X-Fi compatibility, or am I crazy for thinking that's possible by any other means than Creative actually releasing Windows 7 drivers?
     
  22. cyriene

    cyriene New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Miami
    It took Creative forever to make decent Vista drivers. I wouldn't count on them to jump all over Win7 either, but it would be nice.

    I downloaded the RC1 last night without issue. I don't have a machine to put this on yet, but when school is out maybe I'll throw it on my laptop for fun.
     
  23. Duncan1

    Duncan1 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    92 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    greece
    thanks for the info, downloading it right now...
     
  24. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Downloading too. Thanks malware!
     
  25. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Watch the calendar. The RC will expire on June 1, 2010. Starting on March 1, 2010, your PC will begin shutting down every two hours. Windows will notify you two weeks before the bi-hourly shutdowns start. :roll::nutkick:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page