1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 3 (SP3) Released to Web and Windows Update

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, May 6, 2008.

  1. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    can anny one tell me how i can change the language of my computer ? so i can instal this update
     
  2. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    Morgoth, you can right mousebutton on the taskbar, then left mousebutton on ' Toolbars ' & select Language Bar.

    Enter the language bar settings which will appear on the bottom right next to the time, or up top, depending on settings. Add / Make changes appropriately.

    I have installed the XP SP3 on 3 seperate systems, and i have not experienced any issues as yet.
    I have noticed an increase in framerate performance using both the 3870x2 & 9800Gx2.

    For those out there that are not sure whether to update or not, it simply means your not aware of the many security features now implemented with SP3. I highly recommend everyone has a read thru the white paper and becomes more familiar with the update.

    I will continue to benchmark the 3 pc's ive installed SP3 on and i will submit results soon.

    Please note, it has not effected my overclocking ability or stability.
     
  3. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    cant find it
     
  4. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    that is great news to hear! After I had tried the SP3 RC, my whole XP installation went to shit in a heartbeat.

    I've already downloaded SP3, but been a little leary of it after my ordeals with the RC; I'm going to backup the SYS in it's entirety tonight, and install SP3 tomorrow, I guess . . .
     
  5. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    I had minor issues with all the Release Candidates i tried. There was always some minor issue and a way to work around it. Im glad to inform you that all the issues i had previously encounted and informed MS about were resolved.

    I think MS did really well with the Release Candidates, and customer feedback helped ensure a quality but delayed SP3 release.



    Morgoth : Goto ' START ' & then ' Control Panel '. Enter ' Regional And Language Options '.

    1. Adjust Regional Standard and Formats accordingly.
    2. Adjust your location accordingly.

    Goto the ' Languages ' Tab located between ' Regional Options ' & ' Advanced '.
    Select ' Details ' in the ' Text Services And Input Languages ' Section of the Regional Options TAB.

    1. Select appropriate ' Default Input Language '
    2. Add / Remove appropriate language service using the ' Add or Remove ' feature in the ' Installed Services ' Section of the Text Services And Input Options Settings TAB.

    Apply, and OK.
     
  6. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    True - TBH, I found the RC to be very buggy, but I think that had more to do with having a relatively, somewhat new-to-the-market board, and partially out of date chipset drivers (to this day, ASUS provides a more current chipset driver package than Intel does on their website).

    But I intend to give the official SP3 a go . . . just want to make sure my backup is shotgun proof first :laugh:
     
  7. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Makes my job easier...

    No it wont with with xp x64 its an entirely different kernel.
     
  8. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Sp3 froze on installing, so I went to safe mode did a system restore. then it froze again and I had to restore all over again. thanks microsoft.
     
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,647 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,858
    best off installing it when you do a fresh format of your machine, thats how SPs usually are.
     
  10. Haytch

    Haytch New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    510 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Australia
    Totally agree! Must remember that most of us already have SP2 with basically every single update, so logically installing the SP3 would be worse off seeing as it is missing components and updates available beyond SP3, regardless of its extra features.

    SP3 should be used upon the next format. As stated by Microsoft, it is a collection of a greater portion of updates made available from SP2 till now + added security features and ' read the white paper '.

    Please note that removing every single update from the add/remove section, and getting XP back to basic SP2 standard and then installing SP3 is foolish, but i had to try it anyways. Dont do it.
     
  11. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    819 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    So does anyone think we will see retail XP SP3 discs for sale? I mean with Vista being pushed so hard and all.
     
  12. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    "Windows Service Pack 3, an exercise in sodomy"
     

    Attached Files:

    • 3in1.JPG
      3in1.JPG
      File size:
      20.6 KB
      Views:
      113
  13. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    994 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    No problems here...:)
     
  14. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,965 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    No problems here...:)

    ...or should I say no changes/differences/increments/features here :(
     
  15. Temps_Riising

    Temps_Riising New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    121 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Isle of Wight
    I have been running SP3 for a week now, visually little difference but I have to say, things just seem a touch quicker and smoother, that maybe just me but my windows loading time has dropped by a couple of seconds and everything just seems a little better "balanced".
     
  16. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Guys, just read the release notes link at the top of this page. SP3 is not a visual upgrade or anything like that. Its not supposed to make your PC faster. Its a major "security" upgrade. Things like NAP, and black hole router detection. Read the notes...........
     
  17. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Basically the ISO is an ISO with the network installaion on it. Perhaps some fancy autorun added and whatnot.
     
  18. VroomBang New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Spain
    sp3 has been working fine for the last couple of weeks :)
     
  19. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    It broke the family system. Tried to load Windows, restart in a continuous loop. I had to do a full reinstall.
     
  20. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    no x64 bit support for the major LOSS! :mad:

    but i did try it for about 3 days on my 32bit install good stuff didnt notice a difff but she was crazy stable.
     
  21. Dark_Webster New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    393 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Location:
    Portugal
    And in terms of gaming??? ANY performance increase or loss??
     
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,417 (5.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,716
    Location:
    Florida
    nope neither well on the major games on older games i saw an increase less than 5fps though
     
  23. Cybrnook2002

    Cybrnook2002

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    937 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    146
    Running Smooth. Love the security updates
     

    Attached Files:

  24. Unable New Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    error

    It's giving me error.. I tried in 2 pc's...

    error: - File update.inf it's not correct
    [​IMG]
     
  25. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,266 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    353
    Which is the key. I'm not interested in A)Reformatting my already master manipulated and perfected XP installation and/or B)Installing a service pack WITHOUT a format - for the sake of gaining nothing.

    It's not worth the risk or any possible headaches, even if they turn out to be nill.

    As for the security..well learn how Windows works, then learn something about security, then learn what YOU can do about it; that and stay away from shady sites. Such things should be fairly low priority for strictly gamers; and real network administrators should already know what needs to be done; they've been doing it before SP3 was even announced.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page