1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Microsoft won't be closing vista upgrade loophole.

Discussion in 'News' started by NamesDontMatter, Feb 6, 2007.

  1. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    788 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Microsoft has decided that they will not bother with closing the vista upgrade loophole, where the user does not actually need a copy of XP installed. According to TheINQ "People without a licensed copy of XP that use this workaround are violating the terms of use agreed to when they purchased the upgrade version of Windows Vista," a spokesvole told vnunet.com. Another quote the inquirer article reads "As such, we believe only a very small percentage of people will take the time to implement this workaround, and we encourage all customers to follow our official guidelines for upgrading to Windows Vista."

    The vista upgrade version is about two-thirds of the retail price.

    Source: TheINQ
     
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Well, seeing as this is from TheINQ..I dont put too much stock in it. I cant see Microsoft closing a loophole
     
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Stupid microsoft. The normal computer user can do this easily...
     
  4. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,422 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,240
    honestly is it worth saving like 40 bucks to do all that crap? not for me! time is money.
     
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    pirates will just use a hacked version anyway,why buy it when you can get a "real" one for $8.
     
  6. killatia New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    210 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    hudson, fl.
    going to iran isn;t an option for most people.
     
  7. RickyG512 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    477 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Croydon, England
    lol
     
  8. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Lol exactly. I mean if you're gonna break the T&C, then why not just get an OEM copy or one of these dubious $8 copies from Iran.
     
  9. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Hey they could prob. load it onto a server or something as an ICO image.
     
  10. Keiki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    185 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    You don't even need to goto Iran, pretty soon the whole world will be selling these hacked versions.

    Chinatowns are practically in every major city in the world
     
  11. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    788 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    OEM Copy is locked to a mobo when you install it. UMM lemme think
    this is why
     
  12. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    there is a thread on here,were some guy used oem on 3 differant machines and still got it activated,so no oem is not really locked to one machine.
     
  13. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    The reason this loophole exists is to save time... AND money.
     
  14. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    maybe microsoft didnt fix it because theres a slight bug i doubt it but nice of them for leaving it lol :D
     
  15. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    788 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    by the way here is the "loop hole" here
     
  16. spectre440 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    948 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Israel
    dont get ahead of yourselves, people.
    and dont blindly believe everything you read on theINQ.
     
  17. RickyG512 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    477 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Croydon, England
    u have link to dat thread
     
  18. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
  19. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    You can say this about rumors about future specs, etc, but this... is far from a rumor :p

    Often times the inq really is awefully reliable. lol!
     
  20. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Bet you wish you waited now tig lol ;)
     
  21. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Give it a few weeks if that and it will be all over the torrents, im sure someone will try and get away with selling it on fleabay

    Its the world market place, no chickens though :laugh:
     
  22. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    nah,i'm ok with my genuine copy.the disc looks rather funky anyway:D
     
  23. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Funkier the better ;) , I will get vista at some point, just not yet! Legal or illegally, which ofcourse I do not condone!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page