1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

microtik

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Pehla, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    guys can u help me set up my microtik router?
    i downloaded winbox and checked their website but that thing is wery complicated??
    does anyone have it?can someone give me step by step tutorial??the actual model is
    "routerboard 411ar"
    in the mean time i wil give it a litle more research!!
    i know it have pci wi fi card on board,and all i want is to make it acsespoint.thnx for help in advance
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2012
  2. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    176 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
  3. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    i have made ap! i can get signal on my notebook..but i cant get to put security on it,i try to make wpa2-psk and i get this error when i press apply
    "couldnot change security profile<default>- need at least one unicat cipher (6)"
     
  4. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    176 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    set the unicast chiper, try using AES-CCM

    edit: instead of modifying the default profile, why not create a custom one?

    type this in the terminal:

    /interface wireless security-profiles add name=wpa2_profile mode=dynamic-keys authentication-types=wpa2-psk unicast-ciphers=aes-ccm group-ciphers=aes-ccm wpa2-pre-shared-key=your-key-here

    and then select this profile (wpa2_profile) instead of the default one.
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2012
    Pehla says thanks.
  5. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    that thing is killing me!! today my head hurt me so i give it up!! i will try it tomorow again!! i made wpa-psk but when i saved all seting i couldnt get wi fi signal om my notebook!!
    i wil get to u guys tomorow on this!! thnx for help!!
     
  6. bencrutz

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    176 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    34
    what mini pci card that are installed? could you share the setting of the wireless interface that you are using in mikrotik?
    it might be the channel width is set to 40MHz while laptops usually only support 20MHz channel width.
     
  7. Pehla

    Pehla

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    349 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    brčko dc/bosnia and herzegovina
    hello guys back with new problem now!! :)
    i made simple AP,and it work with wpa-psk security..,but i have wier issue..on my laptop i have win 7/lin mint in dual bot...,so on windows internet is working just fine..,but if im on linux i get to conect to network but i cant surf internet,cant update nothing like i dont have conection at all!! any ideas??
    i folowed thi tut to make it work..
    is there anything ellse i should do?
    i use 5gz internal antena for transmithing?? but its set up as 2.4ghz b,g,n
    -----------------------------------------
    http://youtu.be/wkHMIe217cQ
     
  8. belladabin New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i think so, it might be the channel width is set to 40MHz while laptops usually only support 20MHz channel width.[​IMG]
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page