1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

military grade PCs

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by xmountainxlionx, May 30, 2008.

  1. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    :(
  3. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    # Operating Temperature:
    Operating 0-45 C,

    # Storage Temperature:
    -20 to 60 C


    I'm afraid as tough as that computer is it wouldn't survive a Canadian winter. Heck it wouldn't even survive in my igloo over the winter ;)
  4. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    what is the operating temps in your igloo in feb?
  5. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Haha well given the -65C ambient temps, my old P4 Prescott was at a cool 75C ;)
  6. xmountainxlionx

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    583 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    wow f that
  7. DaedalusHelios

    DaedalusHelios

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,916 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    810
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC, USA
    Those computers are really weak. :laugh:
  8. warup89 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,119 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    FL
    yeah i noticed that all the PCs that the military uses aren't very powerful, but i guess its because they don't rly need cutting edge technology to guide a missile, or do all the lil things in battle.
  9. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    I was in the USAF for 8 years. Not sure what you mean by that.
  10. Bluefox1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    Their software isn't very demanding. Most of it is used for Excel, Word, PDFs, and plotting coordinates on a gps map system, and just typing back and forth. Most of it is Linux, the rest Windows 2K NT..
  11. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    used by some groups of the military, along with countless other "rough service" fields:

    http://getac.com/index.aspx


    great specs as well - but these laptops and computers come at a hefty price. Cheapest I've seen the A790 going for was a cool $7000; they average at $9000.

    but check out their testing methods, and what they rate their systems capable of withstanding :twitch:
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,582 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    They cost so much due to the rugedization.

    http://www.getac.com/getac/English/about_getac/whyrugged.aspx

    Yall gotta remember that equipment has to be able to withstand great amts of stress aswell.
  13. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,455 (4.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,565
    Location:
    US
    A team member of our does it. All though he don't get to test them by droping them and so forth but he does that heat testing on them.
  14. echo75 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    456 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Denmark
    i think the PCs in the link are actually not nessesary, they might as have gotten a rugged laptop that is lighter and smaller instead of logging around this "sewing machine" like box into enemy territory. a weak sales tactic if you ask me.
  15. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    no kidding the fire control system of the F-16 uses the 386 which is why Intel was making them untill 2005. My best friend in the Airforce builds computer programs on a P3 900 system, though his system is tied to a sun system that was bought in 2004 but still the Military doesnt need alot of raw horse power. Heck the training simulators use Pentium 2/3 class chips.

    Also oddly enough for the average computer user checking email ect, a P3 class chip with 512mb of ram and windows XP is fine for them, heck if they run 2000 they can use just 256mb of mem and a P2 450 to check email and they will be just fine.
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,582 (4.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,269
    if you only knew :shadedshu
  17. Bluefox1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    lol. like I said. outdated technology AND software. :(
  18. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    When I left the USAF in 2006 we had Pentium 4's on all workstations and already using Windows XP Pro SP2. Most servers were being updated to Windows Server 2003. :wtf:
  19. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    his isnt, he is using VB6 to program right now and apperntly a p3 does just fine for it
  20. jonmcc33

    jonmcc33 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    580 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    Location:
    Fort Myers, FL
    I don't think any place in the military is running any PIII of any type to be honest. They were in a constant influx of units to replace older ones that were out of warranty. Last time I saw a PIII workstation in the USAF was back in 2003? At that point the P4 was pretty much the standard.
  21. Bluefox1115 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    747 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    even so, the P4 is still outdated. Depending on the unit, etc, computers are generally OLD. :\
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,643 (7.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,969
    Location:
    some AF base
    well considering that P3 900 would run better thana P4 2ghz lol ill take the P3
  23. jtleon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    209 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    Southern Arizona, USA
    I've been using my Dolch for over 10 years!

    See attached image.

    My Dolch has been chuggin along since 1998 - including falling out my loose car door at 70MPH on way to airport!!! Yes it did boot up at the airport...just had some new rattlin inside!

    This machine is indeed military grade in every respect. The only thing that knocked it out was a lightning strike on July 4, 2005.

    LOL
    jtleon

    Attached Files:

  24. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,820 (6.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,032
    Location:
    Ohio
    I got leet raid... 130xs I thought was a model number :p
  25. yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,277 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    537
    wow they wouldn't survie in AZ at all, 45c is our low in summer lol.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page