1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mini IIX all purpose rig (With a proper video card!)

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by alucasa, May 8, 2009.

  1. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    Mini ITX all purpose rig (With a proper video card!)

    I named this rig Q8200-Mice.

    The purpose of this rig is to run WCG primarily. I am adding an old 8800GTS I had in case I decide to fold. OCing is not an option since the case will come with a mere 300w PSU and I doubt Zotac mobo will support any good OCing.

    Even without ocing, the power usage is tight. It will probably reach 240w on full load on both CPU and video card.

    I am waiting for Silverstone Sugo SG05B to arrive today.

    Meanwhile, all other parts have arrived.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Q8200. It came with the low profile heatsink which Intel uses for dual core 45nm parts. I guess it's good enough and I am actually glad since it won't case any height issue.

    Zotac GF9300-D-E MINI-ITX

    Slime line DVD drive along with proper SATA adapter.

    As for RAM, I am using my old pair, which is 2 sticks of 1GB. I wanted to go 4gb, but my budget fell a little short due to an unexpected spending. I will probably upgrade 4gb later.

    I also wanted Q8400, but it wasn't on the motherboard's compatibility list. I didn't want to risk returning.

    I am also using my old 8800GTS.

    The motherboard comes with a wifi adapter.

    I will update this thread when the case arrives.

    [​IMG]

    This is the adapter. You need this in order to make any laptop size DVD drive to use on regular port.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 10, 2009
    [Ion] and lemonadesoda say thanks.
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    nice pics.

    Cant wait to see how it turns out. Btw, you said low profit instead of low profile.

    Thread title is also IIX... typo for ITX?
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2009
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    actually that board OCs very well.

    i was thinking of doing a similar build for my main rig but i need more sata.
     
  4. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    i was thinking of a itx build but why when i can just keep my current rig and upgrade?
     
  5. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    Test boot successful. Case arrived.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Nice! Subscribed!
     
  7. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,605 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    372
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i really don't see that 8800GTS running on yoru 300w PSU, i'm assuming your giong to upgrade the PSU if you use the GTS? i'm surprised the psu will power all that even with the quad, and even oc'ing it. i'll be a watchin your progress as i am brooksyX's. If his PSU runs the GTS(i dout) then brooksyX you could def put an HD 4650 or so in yours.
     
  8. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    The PSU is designed for up to 8800GTS or 4850.

    Here are pictures of the case and size.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    you have a lot of small cases there man!
     
  10. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    I love your media case's. What make and models are they?
     
  11. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    i wanna see some benches
     
  12. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    A few more pictures before assembly.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    ah the PSU's an FSP :) should all be good then. i ran an FX62 off a 200W fortron for almost a year in a media PC.
     
  14. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    Gotta go out to have lunch with someone.
    I will be back in an hour or two and complete assembly.

    Meanwhile, enjoy these shots.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. lucasweir

    lucasweir

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,247 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    you think that psu will run a 4830,e8500,4gb ddr2 800, and 2 fans, 1 hdd?

    a psu calc told me 280W full load do i think it would im thinking of getting that case and that board and throwin my cpu and hdd in there. and do you have to have a small form factor cd rom?
     
  16. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    I think the psu will be fine. I would plan on running that as a long term setup. But until he can get a card that uses less power (but still performs better) he should be fine.

    That silverston case is sick! Must admitt I am kinda jealous but it looks like the case I got for my mini-itx build should be fine.
     
  17. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    Ok, a small problem. The motheboard is not accepting my 2gb OCZ DDR2-5400 RAM. It's a working set. I tried another DDR2-5400 set. It wouldn't work, either.
    My last set, which is DDR2-5300 512mb, works.

    Now, the problem is that the rig will have only 1gb RAM.

    I will have to order 2 x 2gb set.

    I will refer you to : http://www.silverstonetek.com/products/p_contents.php?pno=SG05&area=
     
  18. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,947 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Dang that sucks to hear man. At least it gives you an excuse to get a new set of ram. :p
     
  19. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Nice rig man i like it :cool:
    sexy pics too
     
  20. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    All assembled. It has only 1gb RAM, but I will try to install Windows 7 RC I downloaded off MS site.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  21. Geofrancis

    Geofrancis

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,042 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    153
    Location:
    SCOTLAND!
    try upping the ram voltage with the stick that works then reboot, then shutdown and try the new ram i have had probems like that with my ocz reaper pc9200. i have to start up with one stick of ram then up the voltage .

    damn thats a tight fit with that 8800gt
     
  22. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    Well, the rig hasn't exploded. lol.

    It completed installation of Windows 7 RC. This is my first time using Windows 7. Darn, Windows 7 looks nicer than Vista and running smooth on even 1gb. Vista would choke on mere 1gb.
     
  23. kyle2020 Guest

    That looks a lovely little build. Very nice :toast:

    It sits very well on your desk, I wouldnt mind doing something similar but temperature wise I dont think I could.

    Still, very impressive.
     
  24. alucasa

    alucasa

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    706 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Waterdown, Canada
    Here are likely last pictures of this build.

    First of all, the desktop screenshot.

    [​IMG]

    And where it is sitting now.

    [​IMG]

    The temp on the screenshot is stable at that level. It's been crunching for about 15 minutes now.

    GPU-Z shows that the PCI-E is at 16x. I was afraid it might have been 8x or even 4x, the worst case being 1x.

    Because the 8800GTS is sitting right next to case vent, video card temp is amazingly low, idling at 45c. It used to idle at 65c in my main rig.

    It's drawing 160w according to my kill-a-watt at all 4 cores 100% load.
     
  25. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,491 (3.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,106
    Temps are nice for a stock cooler. What voltage are you running for the Vcore? You should be able to under volt it if you plan on staying at stock clocks. I personally havn't heard much of the Q8 series clocking well vs voltages.

    Total cost? WCG points?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page