1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Mint 13 Maya Help

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by punisher186, Oct 30, 2012.

  1. punisher186

    punisher186

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    97 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Indiana
    So I decided to switch from Windows to GNU/Linux after seeing Valve's newest article regarding their Linux platform. I backed up all my important files from Windows and successfully installed Mint without any (at the time) problems. My PC was connected to the internet with a Linksys WUSB54G V4 wireless adapter and worked fine on Windows 7 with a hacked driver, but is having issues inside Mint. This is how I tried to get my internet working:

    Added
    Code:
    blacklist rt2570
    blacklist rt2500
    blacklist prism54usb
    blacklist rt2x00lib
    blacklist rt2x00usb
    to /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

    Move r2500usb.inf and rt2500.sys to Home

    In Terminal:
    Code:
    sudo ndiswrapper -i rt2500usb.inf
    ndiswrapper -l
    sudo depmod -a
    sudo modprobe ndiswrapper[CODE]
    [/CODE]

    The last command is what gives me a problem, it says the module (ndiswrapper) is missing.

    Code:
    ndiswrapper -v
    Returns:
    Code:
    ERROR: modinfo: could not find module ndiswrapper
    module version is too old!
    utils version: '1.9', utils version needed by module: '0'
    module details:
    ERROR: modinfo: could not find module ndiswrapper
    
    You may need to upgrade driver and/or utils to latest versions available at
    [url]http://ndiswrapper.sourceforge.net[/url]
    So I'm pretty damn sure it's missing, but I did these to ensure:
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -r ndiswrapper
    Returns:
    Code:
    FATAL: Module ndiswrapper not found.[CODE]
    [/CODE]
    Code:
    sudo apt-get --purge remove ndiswrapper-utils
    Returns:
    Code:
    sudo apt-get --purge remove ndiswrapper-utils
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    Virtual packages like 'ndiswrapper-utils' can't be removed
    0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 103 not upgraded.
    Code:
    sudo rm -r /etc/ndiswrapper/
    Returns:
    Code:
    Nothing.
    Code:
    sudo rm -r /etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper
    Returns:
    Code:
    rm: cannot remove `/etc/modprobe.d/ndiswrapper': No such file or directory
    
    Code:
    sudo rm /lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/drivers/net/ndiswrapper/ndiswrapper.ko
    Returns:
    Code:
    rm: cannot remove `/lib/modules/3.2.0-23-generic/kernel/drivers/net/ndiswrapper/ndiswrapper.ko': No such file or directory
    
    I know the easiest way to install ndiswrapper is through whatever you installed from, but I formatted it. I'm also not able to plug my PC in directly.

    TL;DR: I need to install ndiswrapper without an internet connection and without the original flash drive. I've read somewhere about installing a .deb but heard it can lead to problems.
  2. hellrazor

    hellrazor

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,568 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    I'd recommend you get a hard line to the internet (most motherboards have an ethernet port) and work at it from there.
  3. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    I agree with hellrazor, connect to the router with a network cable and try to fix the wireless issue later. BTW, the .deb "installer" file will give you less risk on issues than when you try the Windows driver and emulate it (or whatever) via ndiswrapper.
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. punisher186

    punisher186

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    97 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Indiana
    Thanks for the replies. Think I should try copying the .deb to the PC and installing? Moving my PC is the last resort and I don't have a cable long enough.
  5. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    Yes. :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. punisher186

    punisher186

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    97 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Indiana
    Hopefully I can get this to work, I really don't want to purchase a new wireless adapter or install Windows again. Mint is the only distro that I enjoy. If I do have to hardwire myself to the router, is there anything special I need to do inside Mint to get internet working, or is it automatic? Sorry for all of the noob questions by the way, I know hardware, networking and Windows. :laugh:
  7. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    If the onboard LAN of your system is supported by the kernel (which is likely for any Realtek or VIA chip, esp. with Mint) it should work automagically.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. punisher186

    punisher186

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    97 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    55
    Location:
    Indiana
    Also, it should be noted that I'm using 64-bit Mint and I'm pretty sure the driver is for 32-bit Windows. It's not listed on Cisco's website.
  9. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,129 (2.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    The onboard LAN of your motherboard should work with the kernel, no additional drivers needed. The router should just "see a PC" and communicate with it. The signal getting thru that damn cable is standardised.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page