1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Missing one pin and no Errors

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Amdguy, Jan 9, 2006.

  1. Amdguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    Can you guys belive that i have a socket 754 amd athlon 3200 that is missing one pin and still works, boots into windows runs prime 95 and works rock solid LOL, and no don't flame i did not do the damage to the cpu thats another store for another day lol.
     
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,909 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,668
    if you only lost a power supply pin this is well possible .. there are power pins all over the cpu, if one is missing it wont hurt
     
  3. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    they usually work with a pin broken.
    what you can do is break a pin and stuck it into the socket`s hole where the original is missing..voila,a pin is there brand new..
     
  4. bikr692002

    bikr692002 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, New York
    I wouldn't do that.... bad idea
     
  5. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,540 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    why not?i `ve done couple of times and it was ok.still is..
     
  6. Amdguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    Yea that was a while back, i actually read the white papers and if im not mistaking that was 1 of 9 power supply pins, i still think its pretty cool tough.
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2006
  7. W2hCYK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2005
    Messages:
    912 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    pics? lol... i like macro's of cpu's lol... now i feel like taking one of my processor, :)
     
  8. Amdguy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    144 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    42
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    The pin missing is AH29 and the function is VLDT0_B

    [​IMG]


    please excuse the cheap quality of my cybershot

    if anyone wants the white paper i've got that too
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page